Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Mercy January 2, 2008

Filed under: All In the Family,Faith — candidchatter @ 2:59 pm

How can you not forgive one who is so sorry?

How can you not show mercy to one, whom you love, when that person is deeply remorseful?

 

My husband has disappointed me a few times. Some of the disappointments were great in my eyes. But he was sorry. And I mean sooooo sorry. Sometimes we do things to each other, intentionally or not, that cause great pain. I have forgiven him and, for the most part, I have also forgotten. The details are fuzzy. The only reason I am recalling them at all is for this post and because one of my dearest friends is going through a trying time with her husband — so it’s on my mind because I’m concerned for her. By the way, I draw a lot of my inspiration for this blog from other people’s lives. A few things come from my own.

 

And I’ve disappointed him. I didn’t know it at the time, but right before we got married he almost called off the engagement. That hurt when he told me about it many years later. Hurt real badly. But I was hurting him and frustrating him at that time and he wasn’t so sure he’d want to deal with that for the rest of his life. Thank God in Heaven that he changed his mind and committed to me regardless of my rotten attitude.

 

Our children disappoint me too. They are very young so the disappointments are still very small and easily forgiven. They fight with each other. Our daughter is older and so, for now, she holds the upper hand. I get so upset with her for pushing or hitting her brother. But now he is doing it back, which on one hand makes me think “atta boy” for sticking up for himself, and on the other hand I don’t want him hitting or pushing anyone (especially a girl). They do stupid things like carve with a fork into my kitchen table. Remind me to show you those marks next time you’re over at our house. I was furious! But I handled it well. Or pour apple juice into their food and then dump half of it onto the floor. That’s always a fun one. But even as I correct or punish them my heart is sore for them, and I can’t wait until it’s time to hug them and reassure them that mommy still loves them.

 

Think of this in our walk with God. Think of how merciful He is to us. I got this in my e-mail today and it touched me enough that I’m now writing about mercy. God wants to be merciful to us. He delights in it. Just as we delight in being merciful to our loved ones. Sure, we want them to apologize (sometimes profusely), but it really, honestly feels good in our souls to forgive. It releases me and then I start to heal. Here are the verses I got today in my daily dish:

 

Micah 7:18 – Where is another God like you, who pardons the sins of the survivors among His people? You cannot stay angry with your people forever, because you delight in showing mercy.

Ephesians 2:4-5 – But God is so rich in mercy, and He loved us so very much, that even while we were dead because of our sins, He gave us life when He raised Christ from the dead. (It is only by God’s special favor that you have been saved.)

 

Don’t harden your hearts against forgiving those whom you love. Healing can only begin once you’ve been set free. Put your faith in God and let Him take care of the rest. Set aside your pride and show mercy to the ones you love.

 

If we would all do this, what a beautiful world it would be.

 

One Response to “Mercy”

  1. Lana Says:

    i think of that all the time… how the joy of parenting is so deep! and we forget the hard times… the shocks of disobedience, unwise choices, rudeness, etc…. get me riled up! the dissapointment is hard on my heart. but when they repent and ask for forgiveness(esp. T b/c he is older and wiser), I truly forgive.

    and I can be loving and cuddling with him soon after.

    that is how God is!!!! and more! And that amazes me! B/C I feel it with my own children and am shocked at how dissappointment can be turned around almost immediately. when I hear a self-directed apology, my heart melts… and I know that is how God looks down on us. When we realize our wrongs and we immediately turn to Him… he is so pleased and forgiving.

    God is the model FATHER!


Leave a Reply

