Candid Chatter

Just Say It

I Am Sore January 4, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:32 am
Tags: ,

I am back full swing on my diet and exercise program. I love the South Beach Diet compared to any other diet I’ve ever been on. It’s not hard for me because I like vegetables and lean meat. I am a nutrition nut so I very much enjoy a healthy, well-balanced diet. The first phase is the most difficult, but it only lasts 2 weeks. The second phase isn’t as restrictive and the final phase is very lenient. It’s nicely well-rounded and thought out. It helps that I live in a tropical climate, and I love to cook, and I’m a stay-at-home mom.

I enjoy the exercise for the most part too – esp once I get past the initial aches and pains. I am a competitive person by nature. Even though there is no live person to compete with, I’ll compete with myself. I play games with myself to see if I can do the moves perfectly and I work hard at it. There is no better physical feeling on the planet, outside of sex of course, than having toned muscles and a properly functioning cardiovascular system. I love the way my body feels and moves when I am fit. I also love the way it looks and that I have so many more wardrobe choices. I like the way my husband looks at me too. And it definitely improves our intimacy because I feel much more confident.

But, having said all that, I am incredibly sore. I can’t walk right. I am waddling like a duck. I haven’t even done the harder workouts yet. I have started by easing my way in with Pilates and some ab routines. I did light weights yesterday, but nothing like I was doing before I found out I was pregnant back in November. So there hasn’t been much of a lull — 4 weeks of taking my routine down a notch and 3 weeks completely off to recoup from the miscarriage and D&C procedure. That’s nothing. I didn’t figure I’d be this crippled from doing Pilates. My body is in for a nightmare day after I do my interval training workout next week. Eeeeyowch!!!

Now I remember why it’s so easy to quit. It’s because it’s hard to say no to homemade banana nut bread and to walk like a pregnant woman in her 9th month. But as my brother jokingly reminded me when I was trying to quit caffeine, “Messmers are not quitters”. LOL!! Well, even though he was being funny regarding my previous caffeine addiction, it’s the truth. I am not a quitter. Messmers are not quitters!! My body just better watch out because next week is going to be a killer week. My tastebuds better adjust because all that sugar is saved for the holidays and, until Easter, the holidays are OVER.

By the way, if you see me in the next week or so hug me gently. 😉

 

5 Responses to “I Am Sore”

  1. Lana Says:

    valentines… don’t forget

  2. candidchatter Says:

    You must get gifts for Valentines Day. For me, it’s a non-holiday. LOL! I think we celebrated it before the kids were born, sort of. But now it’s just a card giving time and a night he will definitely get some (hee!). And I definitely don’t want chocolate!!

  3. wbppsh7 Says:

    Just a reminder, if today is soreness – the next two will be a little worse – take advil or whatever your preference is and make sure to continue to try and stretch. It will feel terrible but it will help to not be so sore when you get to your next workout!! GL

  4. candidchatter Says:

    You are so right!! Today it’s my abs that are killing me. I have to hold my stomach in order to cough or laugh. That’s pleasant. NOT!! I am taking Aleve. It’s helping – a little. I’ll try the stretching, but if you want to know the truth I cringed when I read that in your comment. But I do know you are right.

  5. Ali Says:

    Truly I do feel for you – just take it easy, nothing like pulling an already tight muscle, just very easy and breathing well. I really hope that you are feeling better.


Leave a Reply

