Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Hold Them Tight January 20, 2008

Filed under: Faith,Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:50 pm

Today reality hit me once again. Life — it is too fragile and so quickly it can be derailed.

I’m about to tell you how I view people who, just like me a few years ago, don’t believe in Christ being the Way, the Truth, and the Life. He is the ONLY way to heaven, folks. The ONLY way. Call me a nutjob wacko holy roller. You can say what you will. You can stop reading my blog. You can write me off as a lunatic. You can walk away from our friendship. Makes no difference. Truth is truth. And it’s not anything I created. It’s in the Word of God, the Holy Bible. Jesus said it Himself. The only way to the Father is through Him (Jesus). Period.

So back to the way I view the unsaved…

Imagine walking on the shore by the ocean with millions of people drowning in the water. One by one you desperately try to save them by lifting their heads out of the water. You talk to them, try to reassure them, you pull their hair off of their faces, but they scream at you to leave them alone. You try again, shouting and crying, trying to tell them there is only one way to be saved from drowning. You explain that they have to hold their heads above the water and swim to shore. But they refuse to believe you and they flail their arms and kick their legs trying on their own strength to stop drowning while you keep explaining to them that there is only one way to stop the impending suffocation. They tell you that you are narrow minded and they can stop drowning on their own. So you go on to the next person and the next and the next. It seems futile and you feel useless until one person finally listens. Finally someone wants to hear what you’ve been trying to tell all the rest and you show him how to paddle and kick and suddenly he has made it to shore. So now he is helping you try to save the others. Then one more makes it. Then one more. Another and another until there are 10 of you. But still — the millions — why won’t they listen?

It may not be an ocean. The people may not be drowning in water. But the lifeless millions are seeking after the wrong things. They are headed down the wrong paths. It’s hard to get through to them.

Christians, please keep praying for the lost. They need God’s touch in order to see. They are blind. They don’t understand. They have been duped. Have compassion for them. They are drowning.

The rest of you — there is only one way to stop drowning. There is only one life worth living. There is a purpose. Find the key and unlock your heart. Open yourselves to the life you were meant to have. I don’t mean health, wealth, and prosperity. I mean faith, joy in spite of pain, peace in unsettling or heartbreaking times, hope, and – most importantly – everlasting life.

Life is so fragile. It is but a vapor. Here today and gone tomorrow. Don’t miss out. The true party comes later.

 

6 Responses to “Hold Them Tight”

  1. Ali Says:

    Let me just put this out there. I’m not religious, I do believe there is a God however I do not have a personal relationship with him. Various reasons – granted it comes off as being biased but they are viable reasons to me. First off my grandmother is a hypocrite and pushed religion on me at a very early age. My mother at this day and age has chosen her personal relationship with God and for some reason seems to think that he is going to do things without her putting any effort into making those things happen. Plus I have heard many people doing things that I know are wrong and these people have personal relationships with God. I’m not saying that we all aren’t human however, I feel that I know right from wrong as much as the next person and I do the best that I can do day by day. I try to apologize if I’m in the wrong or if I know that I have upset someone. I try to live life the right way and sometimes I still make mistakes, we all do. I remember one time in church (and I really did like this pastor) and he told the congregation that as Christians you can’t just surround yourself with other Christians, you need a balance of Christians and non-Christians in your life. I don’t mind being with Christians as long as they accept me for who I am like I accept them. I have a friend that tried to tell me that she was going to be there with God making judgement on me (to MY understanding that isn’t the case at all – so it makes her seem ignorant) and when someone pushes their religion on me, I shut down. She wasn’t strictly religious when we first became friends and then she did before she got married. I know things about this girl and I know that she hasn’t always been a ‘saint’. I accept that she felt she needed to have a closer personal relationship but I haven’t asked her to talk to me about God. I accept her for turning to God so quickly and the only thing that I ask in return is that she accept me for the person that I am and have been since she met me. I understand the want/need to share God with others but I think that there is a time and place and there has to be a want on the non-Christians side to broach that subject. This is just my personal opinion and I still love you for what you bring to my life. I just hope that you accept me for who I am as well and I think that you do otherwise we wouldn’t be able to talk openly about life! love ya!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Ali,
    It is with trembling hands and fast-beating heart that I reply to you. I am nervous. This is of utmost sensitivity from all angles. The last thing I want to do is to turn you away – from me or from the possibility of entering into a personal relationship with God someday.

    First of all, I have not always been ‘religious’. I actually hate that term. I would like to consider myself a Christian, plain and simple. What that means to me is that I am a Christ follower. I am a sinner in need of a Savior. That’s it.

    I’ll go out on a couple limbs here and tell you some things about me that you don’t know and that others reading this don’t know (for the most part). I used to smoke pot on a daily basis. I mean like morning, noon, and night. I haven’t in several years, but if someone from those days were to meet me now they probably would roll their eyes because they know how I used to be. Their chins might drop to the floor if they found out I claim to be a Christian. They might think of me as a hypocrite. But I assure you I am a Christian and I am not a hypocrite. I didn’t quit smoking pot because I wanted to, so much. I was about to try to get pregnant and didn’t want that junk in my system. I still get cravings. When I lost my baby in December the thought crossed my mind. I quickly dismissed it because I don’t want to go back to living that way. I don’t want my kids raised in a home where their mom does drugs.

    I make all kinds of mistakes. Daily. Minute by minute. I do not claim to be perfect or sinless. No way, girl. But the difference between the old me and the new me is that now I ask God to help me, guide me, forgive me, teach me, show me, etc. I lean on Him and countless times He has brought me through it all. I struggle. I hurt. I experience deep loss and pain. I regret.

    I was hurt by religion as a youth too. My parents raised me Catholic. But I didn’t get anything out of that. My first husband was an alcoholic atheist. What a combination! But for some reason, he made more sense than anyone ever did during my Catholic upbringing. And I hold no grudge against Catholics. My entire family is Catholic. It just didn’t work for me.

    It wasn’t until I met Rich that it all changed. And it wasn’t that he beat me over the head with his beliefs. It was one thing, and one thing only, that got my attention. He prayed for me. He said a prayer for me to be safe on a trip I was about to take from Ohio to Florida to meet him in person. We had only communicated by computer and phone at the time. I was silent, deeply touched, and forever changed. I can’t say to you that I gave my life to Christ right then and there because I didn’t. But it sparked the fire that now burns in my chest. One simple prayer.

    I’ve seen the hypocrites, Ali. I’ve watched the holy rollers come from church, Bibles in hand, God bless you this, God bless you that, speaking their Christianese, and then go on to treat the waitress like an old dog or not hold the door for the elderly. I’ve heard them snicker and put down people and judge, judge, judge. I’ve been guilty, as a born-again believer, of trash talking someone or flipping out in a traffic jam when someone cuts me off. When I’m pregnant it’s even worse. I am not proud of these things. I am not the perfect wife. I am not the perfect mom. I have so many flaws in my character that it’s almost hysterical. I have to laugh because what else can I do?

    I am broken. In a million pieces. And I understand very little about life. But what keeps me glued together and what puts a skip in my step and a smile on my face is the hope, faith, and peace that I get from believing in Jesus Christ. Believing that He did indeed die for me. Me. Me!! It’s become personal. He died for me on that cross at Calvary. He took MY sin upon His soul. He was tortured and nailed to that cross so that I (me, me, me) could be forgiven. God humbled Himself and removed Himself from His throne in Heaven to be born as a naked, helpless baby so that He could someday die on a cross for ME. Me!! Then He was buried and rose on the 3rd day. I believe that He did all of that. And it has changed my life. What God has done for me, personally, is why, Ali, I have a personal relationship with Him. Because I realized one day that He truly loves me. That He calls me to Himself. That He cares about what I go through – daily – minute by minute. He is always with me and He will never forsake me. He is my God and He is awesome!

    So I want you to know that I pray for you. I have been praying for you and for Regan and for David.

    I also want you to know that my very best friend is not a born-again believer. I have friends who are on the fence like you. I have friends who are believers too. I am surrounded by some wonderful people. You are definitely one of them. You came to my rescue during a very trying time in my life. You called me out of the blue on a day that I thought would never end. Brianna had me upset. She was so new and I was so clueless and afraid and she wouldn’t stop vomiting and screaming. I was at the end of my rope. Then the phone rang, Ali, and it was you. You made me laugh. You gave me the relief I needed. That 10 or 15 minute conversation was all I needed to escape for a moment and gather my thoughts. I’ll not forget that. No way.

    I don’t believe in coincidences. I believe we are friends because we were meant to be friends. I love you and I hope and pray that someday your heart will be touched by God like mine was so many years ago. In the right way. In love and understanding.

    Love,
    Heidi

  3. wbppsh7 Says:

    Very well put and I appreciate you taking the time to put it here. I thought that we could have this conversation and we are and I’m perfectly fine with your point of view. And who knows one day maybe I will have the desire as well that have a personal relationship with him. Thank you for being open-minded and not judgemental! Thank you for realizing that a lot of us have potential! Thank you for praying for me. I like hearing that my family members are praying for me because I have quite a few that are Catholics and Christians. It tells me that people out there are in fact thinking of me and that someone greater than anyone else is also watching. I don’t know what he is doing per se but I guess so far I can say that he hasn’t given me too much to handle (isn’t that a saying, he never gives you more than you can handle?). Anyway, thanks for talking to me about it and I love you too!

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Thank you, Ali. I am glad you wrote what you did and that you were so honest and real.

    I found this on GotQuestions.org. I looked it up to respond to your final statement about God not giving us more than we can handle. The reason I looked it up is because losing my baby December 11th was the worst thing that has ever happened in my life. I was crushed. But after about 24 hours, and a choice I made to release my baby and my pain to Him (which I blogged about back then on Blogspot), He comforted me with a peace that I cannot accurately describe.

    God gives us an “out” when faced with tragedy and temptation. In my understanding, it’s up to us to take His “out” or not. In this world we will have pain. It’s in Heaven that the pain stops. Not here. Not even for believers in Jesus Christ. Many, many Christians have been tortured and persecuted since Jesus came on the scene over 2000 years ago. It still happens today — in India, in China, in Russia, all around the world. I don’t believe those people would tell you that they can handle it. Not by themselves anyway. I think what they would tell you is that God carries them through it.

    Just like He carried me.

    See below.
    Love,
    Heidi

    Question: “Does God promise to not give us more than we can handle?”

    Answer: 1 Corinthians 10:13 in the NIV tells us, “No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13 in the NKJV reads, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” This Scripture teaches us a powerful principle. God will not allow anything to come into our lives that we are not capable of withstanding.

    So, anything that comes our way, anything that tempts us, any tragedy that befalls us – we are capable of overcoming it and achieving spiritual victory. That does not mean it will always be easy. Quite the contrary…the fact that we may need a “way of escape” indicates that God sometimes allows difficult trials to come into our lives. You may not believe that you can overcome it, you may doubt your own strength to prevail…you may even fail in the temptation. That does not mean, though, that you were not capable of overcoming that particular temptation. Whether it is a temptation to sin or a temptation to doubt God – God promises that we will be able to overcome it.

    Philippians 4:13 declares, “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” 2 Peter 1:3-4 reminds us, “His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.”

  5. wbppsh7 Says:

    ‘God will not allow anything to come into our lives that we are not capable of withstanding.’

    That right there is the part that I was referring to ;). I understand looking to him to help ‘you’ through it (an out or escape as they refer to it), and obviously it wouldn’t be easy if it were a ‘temptation’ or sin.

    Life in general isn’t easy so I get that!

  6. candidchatter Says:

    Gotcha! XO!


Leave a Reply

