Candid Chatter

Just Say It

They are Filthy January 24, 2008

Filed under: All In the Family,Gotta Have Friends — candidchatter @ 3:35 pm

dirty-feet.jpg

 My kids had a play date today. It was so much fun for all 3 of us. They are filthy dirty. I love it.

At our current home, there isn’t much of a backyard. What we have is a big porch and then about 15 feet of grass. Beyond that is golf course property. We live next to a tee box. There are many strangers behind our house on a daily basis — all day long. I am a paranoid mom and so I won’t let my kids off the porch for fear they’d run onto the course and get smacked with a high speed golf ball or that some weirdo golfer with sick tendencies would sneak up to my house and kidnap one or both of my children. I am paranoid! Plus there are pools in people’s backyards all around us and so I am afraid they would find a weak spot in the screen on the lanai and drown in someone’s unprotected pool.

P-a-r-a-n-o-i-d!

So I was overjoyed today that we were invited to a play date at my wonderful friend’s home where the backyard is big and fenced in. They got so dirty and they are asleep in their beds with black feet. It’s awesome! It makes me all the more anxious to move into our new home. Then my kids will be dirty every day. It will be wonderful!

 

2 Responses to “They are Filthy”

  1. Lana Says:

    okay… i call it “Traditional Parenting”
    it is my new parenting platform…

    so I’m like SAHMomma, in the yard, in the dirt, up the tree. it’s so great, isn’t it?

    when Fabiano gets home, and the kids are filthy, he always says in a real husky, mountain man voice, “That’s the way I like ’em.”

    and since I’ve really been promoting the outdoors and nature playing, the kids sleep better.

    They are pooped by the end of the day!
    love it

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Yes, sleep. They both fell asleep on the way home. We all slept well last night. Ahhh. It was a great time!

    Until yesterday I never understood why people give their kids baths at night. I have always given mine baths in the morning. Well now I know. I am so excited about them enjoying the outdoors. That’s where I spent my childhood: building forts, playing in the trees, riding bikes, skating, forming all girl clubs, playing hide and seek, etc. And I always talk about how wonderful my childhood was. Because it was!

    I don’t want my kids growing up in front of the TV. Heck, I don’t even watch TV and I’m an adult. If I could throw away all of them I would. I would rather my kids play outside, listen to music, and read books. Well, that’s not too far off. Soon the TV will be used for rainy days and sick days.


Leave a Reply

