Candid Chatter

Just Say It

My Brain is Flooded February 17, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:41 pm

My thesis is due tomorrow. I have to do a literary review of Ernest Hemingway’s “For Whom the Bell Tolls” for my research paper (2000 word minimum). I am assuming my instructor wants me to have read the majority of the book by now. He must if he expects my thesis already. Well, I have not. I have read about 100 pages of it. Maybe not even that much. I am too lazy to go check.

I have a doctor’s appointment on Thursday and even though there is a lot to keep my mind off of it I am still drawn to thoughts of it occasionally. I am not worried, but I have “issues” that I’d rather not discuss in this forum and so I need to find an answer to this problem of mine.

My son has decided not to sleep unless one of us rocks him to sleep. That is beyond annoying, but given that he’s a bit under the weather we have been giving in to his unreasonable demands. I just want him to close his eyes and drift off to la la land. Why do kids fight sleep? I welcome sleep with open arms. I wish I could get more of it. Geesh!

At church today, our pastor gave an awesome sermon about leadership. There was so much to take in and consider. I felt great and excited about what he was saying because I think I might be doing what I am supposed to be doing. I am not perfect (not even close), but I was so excited to get that internal nod of approval. It was like God patting my back and saying “atta girl”. Sweeeet! You know, there have been times during a sermon when I have sat there internally wanting to dig a hole in the floor and hide in it because I’ve been so convicted. But not today. Today I was internally smiling, so proud of where God has taken me. So happy that He has even bothered to bother with me. So happy of the changes He has produced in my life. It felt good to have that goosebumpy feeling of the Holy Spirit saying to my heart, “atta girl, Heidi, atta girl”. To be fair, there were a few things I wasn’t so hunky happy about (slightly convicting), but for the most part I was very pleased. God has taken a wretch of a person and made something shiny and new. I love shiny and new!

Speaking of shiny and new. My husband bought me a Mercedes Benz today.

Sike!

See you tomorrow!

 

2 Responses to “My Brain is Flooded”

  1. Melissa Says:

    OMG, you almost had me with the Mercedes thing! lol And… “atta girl, Heidi!” 🙂 Oh, and you don’t have to put “Heidi from bbc” on your comments. I know who you are. 🙂
    Good luck on your thesis! I was thinking of going back to school, but I think I’ll wait a bit. My life is already unorganized enough. If I started taking classes, what little I DO do around here would fly out the window!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    I think I got the main idea for my thesis (no pun intended). Now I have to put it into words. I want to pack a punch and it’s only to be one sentence long. I am close. Off to go read in my Bedford Handbook for some help on all that.

    Mercedes Benz. I don’t know if I would buy one even if I could. I am attracted to sports cars more than anything else. Something convertible.

    You know your pastor is hip when — he drives a convertible Mustang. Yaha!!! He’s right up my alley.

    But I’m more of a Dodge Viper kinda girl. Just don’t have the funds. Maybe someday???

    Melissa: I won’t call myself “Heidi from BBC” anymore. I am glad you know it’s me “Heidi from Candid Chatter”. LOL! Just kidding!

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

