Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Wishy Washy “Friends” February 20, 2008

Filed under: Gotta Have Friends,Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:32 pm

I don’t have time for high maintenance people. I especially don’t have time for high maintenance so-called friends. No thanks. I have my own problems, believe me.

A “friend” of mine, who I have known for about 8 years, is a creep. She is. I’ll just be blunt about it. She’s so flaky that whenever I am around her I want to shake her and scream, “BE REAL YOU FLAKY FAKE WEIRDO”. Or something like that. I don’t know. But she is strange. Very, very strange.

Recently I did her a major favor. I went out on a limb. I actually did her two favors, now that I’m thinking of it. Both were highly inconvenient for me and my family and cost us money. But, whatever, I try to be kind and generous whenever I can. So during these favors she called me about 3 times a week. Such a chatty Cathy on all occasions. So I started thinking that maybe she’s not as weird as I thought and this whole thing is a figment of my horribly judgmental imagination and then I felt slightly guilty. I’ve complained about her to my husband and my best friend several times over the years. I have wanted to “break up” with her many, many times (yes, you can break up with friends just like boyfriends, ladies). But they have both persuaded me to stay friends with her even though she’s unbelievably flaky fake strange (they at least agree with me on my observations of her personality).

Hmmm.

You know, since I did the last favor for her (a week ago tomorrow) I haven’t heard from her. Am I surprised? Heck, no! This is how it works. When her child is having a birthday I get an invitation. After the party, I get snubbed. When she’s about to have a baby I get an invitation to the shower. Once that’s all over with, I get snubbed. If she’s having a bad mommy moment I might get a call so I can make her feel better. After that, I get snubbed. There is a pattern here and it has been developing for a looooong time.

So here is what is going to happen. I am going to break up with her once and for all. That’s it. I know when I’m being lied to and used. After 8 years of putting up with this hokey crap, I am through.

No more parties, no more gifts, no more Mrs. Doormat over here. Gone. Done. Finished. See ya!

PS: Why are there some moms out there who will not give money or food to feed their kids when they are being babysat? I sincerely want to know the answer to this because it is my major opinion that MOMS there is absolutely NO excuse for it. If your child is going to be watched by someone during a meal then it is YOUR responsibility to make sure you have provided food for YOUR child. You either give the babysitter money or food. If it is refused, then you can get away with not providing. There is NO other option, I don’t care how you were raised. I am shocked at how this is disregarded. I can’t believe people have the audacity to drop their kids off at my house with nothing for them to eat expecting that I will feed them. Well, I am not going to let them go hungry, but if you are not paying me to watch him or her then you better feed your kid.

Smile. I’m serious. Smile. It’s alright, I got it off my chest and now we can play nice again.

Adios.

 

2 Responses to “Wishy Washy “Friends””

  1. Denise Says:

    AMEN!!! Dump her and feed my kids!!! LOL

    I agree with you and also believe it is true with adults. If I invite you for dinner or to stay as you pass through town… I
    can handle ANYTHING!!! BUT…that is a BIG BUT….when you stay that second or third day you need to contribute. Either financially by contributing to the Publix run, doing dishes…refilling your own glass etc. When you stay for over a month, you neeed to volunteer some $$$ towrads the FPL bill. I am not cheap by any means, I have just been obvioulsy taken advantage of. To EXPECT someones hospitality is to take away the GIFT of hospitality! Please, people, know when it’s time to bring food, help out or go home. The Bible says there is a time for everything… 🙂 Sometimes just being OFFERED any of the above is enough to let people know you don’t want to take advantage and that you appreciate them. More than likely we will say…’thats OK, but thanks for offering’

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Uh, yeah, I’m moving in with you now. You’ll refill my glass? Heck yeah! What’s your address again?

    LOL!! 😀

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

