Candid Chatter

Just Say It

How Can I Complain About. . . March 1, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:52 pm

1. …my weight when I stuff my face with cheesecake ice cream at 9:30 at night?

2. …my kids annoying me while I’m on the phone when I stay on the phone for 45 minutes?

3. …bad drivers when I am handing my kids sippie cups, dropped toys, french fries, and goldfish while talking on my cell phone and driving 75 mph on I-95?

4. …jealous women when I cringe inside because of the skinny mom who just gave birth to baby # 5 and went home from the hospital in a size 4?

5. …TV rotting our brains when I let my kids watch videos or “me approved” programs on a chilly day because I don’t want to go outside and I also don’t want to clean up the mess that paint, play-doh, crayons, [insert craft here], etc. makes.

6. …my laundry pile and messy house when I blog or check other people’s blogs or read/answer e-mails or chat online off and on throughout the day?

7. …the closing on our house taking so long when we’re getting such a tremendous deal at the expense of another person’s unfortunate financial situation which has brought them into foreclosure?

8. …the weather when I live in one of the most beautiful climates in the country?

9. …being exhausted when there are people out there with disabilities who would give anything just to have my kind of hectic life for 1 hour? 

10. …life when I know I will spend eternity absolutely fulfilled in paradise?

 

4 Responses to “How Can I Complain About. . .”

  1. Lana Says:

    i know, right???
    i loved tonight’s perspective.

    it can be hard though to see ourselves the way we are.

    oh, and about the size 4 mom after #5… she’s just got good genes. seriously!
    remember in Leviticus… 40 days to “purify”… that includes the uterus going from super-watermelon size to a pea.

    20 months later… i’m still waiting!!! heheheh
    not complaining, just being silly

  2. candidchatter Says:

    I looked at myself naked today. Really looked. And you know, it’s not really all that bad. The marks of pregnancy are there, but if I don’t dwell on them I can be proud and hold up my head. The whole package is pretty darn good when I’m not tearing myself apart over the individual pieces. Just like a puzzle looks weird if you concentrate on one piece at a time – but the puzzle, when seen in its entirety, is a beautiful thing.

    Fearfully and wonderfully made.
    Knit together in my mother’s womb.
    Woven and spun.
    Made in His image.

    I am crazy beautiful.
    And
    so
    are
    you!

    Heidi

  3. Ali Says:

    I can’t remember the site right off hand – however it puts it in perspective and REALLY can make a difference in your thinking about your body. There is a blog that CELEBRATES the mothers body. Stretch marks, c-sec incisions, etc. Big or small after a while you almost don’t see the size as much as the beauty of what a woman’s body can do. I will try and get to that site for you and get it to you!

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Ali – As soon as you remember, please forward that to me. I’d love to see it. Thanks!

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

