Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Today March 18, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 8:43 pm
  • Jeremy woke up at 2 a.m. coughing and with another high fever (102+). I put him in bed with me. He kicked me, coughed in my face, wiped his snotty nose on my pillow, whined and cried, and was restless all night long. I got some sleep, but it was frequently interrupted.
  • 7:30 a.m. both kids jumping on my bed chanting “yogurt, Kashi bar, yogurt, Kashi bar”. At least they want healthy food for breakfast. Fed them, cleaned them off, made coffee for me.
  • 9:30 took a shower after unpacking a couple more boxes and hanging more pictures
  • 11:15 my father-in-law showed up with his sister and my nieces
  • 12:00 the fever hit me, followed by the headache and body aches
  • 1:00 my father-in-law announces it’s time to leave, his sister is staying for a little while longer. I am dying inside. The kids are getting cranky. It’s nap time and I desperately want to lie down too. Head is throbbing. Chills start up. I am so hot to the touch yet I am freeeeeeezing cold (hands, feet, nose, toes – all frozen). But I don’t want to be rude or a bad hostess so I sit down and force myself to follow the conversation.
  • 1:30 nap time for my little ones. Jeremy is asleep almost as his head hits the mattress. Brianna didn’t argue one second about lying down either. I am hoping this little gesture gives Aunt P the hint that it’s time for her to go now.
  • 2:00 I am still forcing myself to follow the conversation and my head is pounding and my body is starting to shiver and I am flush now b/c my fever is in full force.
  • 2:15 I thought the moment would never come. Aunt P leaves.
  • 2:16 I am dead to the world
  • 4:00 I hear Jeremy waking up
  • 4:05 Rich brings him in our room. I roll over and tell him I am so sick. They leave and I fall back to sleep.
  • 4:30 I wake up and drag my illin’ self to the bathroom.
  • 5:30 the Motrin kicks in
  • 7:00 I am devouring my food
  • 8:30 kids are bathed and put to bed
  • 9:30 here I sit. Headache is slowly coming back. I think it’s time to suffer while I sleep. Good night!

I hope none of you gets the flu. And if you do, I hope you can sleep it off. Here’s to tomorrow being a better day.

 

2 Responses to “Today”

  1. Lana Says:

    oh, girl… i know how you feel.
    yesterday was my day for it.
    it was BAD!!!

    I feel your pain…
    not fun. at all.

    call me in the morning

  2. candidchatter Says:

    So far this morning I am better. Little headache, but no fever. Brianna slept thru the night. She is a day ahead of us on the healing. Jeremy did well too. He woke up a few times, but I didn’t have to leave the comfort of my bed to go to him. He fell back to sleep relatively quickly and w/out crying. Finally a full night’s sleep w/out him in our bed. Yes!

    I can’t find my digital camera. This sickens me in the pit of my stomach. My camera is like an extension of my body. Might have to buy a new one. Boo hoo!

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

