Candid Chatter

Just Say It

What is Easter to You? March 22, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:17 am

This?

redenv_easter1.jpg

Or this?

easter2007.jpg

Or this?

0871_jesus_resurrection_christian_clipart.jpg

Or all three?

 

4 Responses to “What is Easter to You?”

  1. Lana Says:

    Easter, whoa! It means my life… literally!

    Me: tiago, who gives you your Easter basket?
    Tiago: you guys do
    Me: tiago, who sets out the Easter eggs?
    Tiago: you guys do
    Me: Tiago, who is the Easter bunny?
    Tiago: I have no idea! very weird

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Amen!

    We don’t do the bunny either. He was at WalMart the other day. They wanted to see him. I let them, but I told them he’s a bunny rabbit. I didn’t mention his attachment to Easter.

    Like Santa, they can get excited about a person dressed up as a bunny. In other words, I won’t squash their feelings when they are happy about a character. It’s like if we were at Disney and they saw Mickey or Minnie or something of that nature. We don’t do Santa. Gifts aren’t from Santa at Christmas. But I let them get their picture taken with him because they asked if they could. No harm in that (just like a photo with Tinker Bell or Cinderella). Just the same with the bunny at Easter time. They can laugh and pretend too. I am not inclined to hunt or color eggs or do baskets, however, if they get exposed to that accidentally and then ask if we can give it a try, then why not. Coloring eggs can be a fun craft. Hunting them for candy can be a game. Baskets can be a treat. It doesn’t have to symbolize Easter unless we allow it to.

    The importance to me is that they recognize that Christmas is about the birth of Christ and that Easter is about his death and RESURRECTION. The rest is just fluffy fun. We don’t worship the Spring Equinox or goddess of fertility, nor do we emphasize Santa Claus. I think as long as our hearts are in the right place we are fine. As long as we teach our children the truth instead of making them believe it’s all about the gifts or the candy, then they will be fine.

    Easter, for us, is about Christ’s death and resurrection. It’s about our salvation. It’s what we hang our hope on. Eternally.

    Heidi

  3. Cathy Says:

    Amen to both. We do color eggs and we do baskets. My girls enjoy it.
    But. . .My husband and I had the extreme honor a few years ago to lead our then 7-year-old to asking Jesus into her heart. It happened just a few days before Easter. How did this come about, you ask? We had a story book about Easter. We both cried. There’s nothing better than knowing that the precious life I brought into this world will enjoy the same reward someday that I am looking forward to.
    We are going to church tomorrow looking forward to honoring Christ and thank Him for the sacrifice He made for us. And we are going to celebrate His victory over the grave by which we also LIVE. God bless you and your sweet little family, Heidi.
    And Happy Easter!
    Cathy

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Cathy,
    That gave me chills! Wow! I know I will crumble when my children accept Christ. I’ll be a mess. A happy flubbering crying mess!!! It’ll be glorious!!!!!!!

    God bless you too — and yours too! Happy Easter!
    XO,
    HR


Leave a Reply

