Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Weight Gain with Oodles of Compliments? March 25, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:51 pm

I have gained some weight. I got pregnant, gained 10 pounds, had a miscarriage, lost 3 pounds, had to move, gained 5 pounds. So now I am 12 pounds over my target weight. Grrr. I haven’t exercised in weeks. I have been eating fairly well, but occasionally not so hot when I’m too busy to cook or prepare something. Fast food is way too convenient when pressed for time or just flat exhausted. But I vowed once we settled in this new home that I would resume my healthy eating habits and exercise. I am eating better, but no exercise yet b/c of being ill and still flat exhausted.

My clothes have shrunk. An entire closet full of them. That’s what I want to believe anyway. I can fit into exactly 3 pairs of pants I can wear in public and 4 pairs that I will only wear at home. My shirts suddenly are too short. Instead of hitting me just below the waist, since I’ve gained weight, I’d seriously prefer if they’d hit me just below the hips. That way when I raise my arms and my stomach pops over my jeans it won’t hang out of the bottom of my shirt too. Because we all know how extremely attractive post-baby belly is. Oh yeaaah!

Despite all of this doom and gloom, I have been getting loads of compliments. What is up with that? Just 5 months ago I wore a size 4. Yes, a size 4. Then I moved to a 6 during my short-lived pregnancy. Now I’m inching ever closer to an 8. Not bad if you consider the average size of a woman in our society is a 14, right? However, I am all of 5 feet 2 inches. So any amount of weight I gain is noticeable right away. I don’t necessarily want to be tall. But there are two distinct benefits to it that I can see: 1. when you gain 10 pounds it doesn’t show, 2. when you are pregnant you don’t look like you swallowed the Goodyear blimp.

Another thing is for over 2 months now I haven’t worn any eye make-up (except for 2 times in the past week). Huh? Weird to me. I am plain-faced and 12 pounds heavier than I was in October yet I get more compliments now than I did then. Why is this?

Well, I need motivation to get back on track. But I have none. Even my husband has been giving me more compliments lately. I am starting to wonder if he likes big butts. Seriously. He bought me a cheesecake last week and cheesecake ice cream this week. Yeah, he likes big butts I guess.

So the bottom line is I would stay this size (a 6, not an 8), but then I can’t wear my clothes and I am NOT going to buy more clothes (again!).

Guess I’ll be exercising and trying to lose 12 pounds now. Need to get back down to a 4.

I know. If you’re overweight you don’t pity me even the least little bit. I know. When I had Jeremy I weighed 174 pounds (remember I am 5 ft 2 inches). It took me about 10 months to lose 49 pounds. I did it and I stayed there for a long time. So I do know what it’s like to wear maternity clothes for 4 months post-partum. That stinks. And I also know what it’s like to be a size 14. I don’t want anyone to think I don’t have to fight tooth and nail to be small. I do. I have to work my butt off (literally). I envy women who tell me they don’t exercise (you both know who you are) yet they have beautiful figures (one has 3 kids and is 40, one has 2 kids and is 30). GRRRR to you! 😉

 

2 Responses to “Weight Gain with Oodles of Compliments?”

  1. Lana Says:

    hardy, hardy, hardy…

    i’ll say this… the only time I fit in a size 4 was when I was 4. so, who’s HOT now?

    the fact that I lift a 30 lb weight (my son) like 2 million times a day helps my arms look ripped…

    and the fact that I run after 2 rambunctious kids ALL DAY is like a 60 minute spinning class

    my other secret… pilates!
    want to borrow a video?

  2. candidchatter Says:

    You’re TALLER than me. A size 4 on me looks like your size on you!

    Anyway – I do Pilates. I love it. But, it’s not enough. I also have to lift weights, do interval training, lots of aerobics, and so on. I have, I believe, about blown my left knee joint because of the amount of lunges and squats I’ve done over the past 18 months. I’m serious. I think I need to see a doctor about it. And I ALSO chase after 2 small ones all day long. They don’t weigh as much as your two do, but, again, you’re taller than me and stronger than me so they weigh the same to me as yours do to you. You suck!

    And I love you with all my heart! And I am so glad you came over today. And I can’t wait till Thursday (well, for many reasons, but one because I will see you again, neighbor)!!

    XO!!


Leave a Reply

