Candid Chatter

Just Say It

My Kind of Philosophy April 18, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:22 pm

I got this in my e-mail. It credits Charles Schultz (Charlie Brown’s creator) as the author, but I usu don’t believe the accuracy of these things. However, the message is loud and clear (whoever wrote it)!

What are the answers to these?

1. Name the five wealthiest people in the world.

2. Name the last five Heisman Trophy winners.

3. Name the last five winners of the Miss America pageant.

4. Name ten people who have won the Nobel or Pulitzer Prize (heck, name just five).

5. Name the last half dozen winners of an Academy Award for best actress or best actor.

6. Name the last decade’s worth of World Series winners.

So how did you do? The point is none of us remember the headliners of yesterday, and these are not second-rate achievers. They are the best in their fields.

But the applause dies, awards tarnish, achievements are forgotten, accolades and certificates are buried with their owners.

Now see how you do on this quiz:

1. List a few teachers who aided your journey through school.

2. Name three friends who have helped you during a difficult time.

3. Name five people who have taught you something worthwhile.

4. Think of a few people who have made you feel appreciated and special.

5. Think of five people you enjoy spending time with.

Easier?

The lesson: The people who make a difference in your life are not the ones with the most credentials, the most money, or the most awards. They simply are the ones who care the most.

“Be Yourself! Everyone else is taken!”

 

3 Responses to “My Kind of Philosophy”

  1. Lana Says:

    i love that…
    oh, and btw, I do have to say that I do know the name of the last Heisman winner… He happens to represent the best [worst] college football team that happened to blow-out [they cheated] a not-so-good [she meant awesome] team a couple of years ago… the buckeyes [all honor the scarlet and gray], if I do remember.

    Well, his name is Tim Tebow… and he is a Christian… a child of missionaries, born in the Phillipines, a doctor tried to convince his mom to abort him b/c of some “medical” reason. He was home-schooled his entire life.

    HE is awesome…. I hope people remember him…
    hehehe

    [Pffft! Can I mention that I love the EDIT option? My friend Lana thinks she is SOO hysterical putting down my team The Ohio State Buckeyes. Ha ha, Lana, you’re so funny I forgot to laugh. Bwaaa!!]

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Now that’s what I’m talkin about right thar!

    Tee hee!

    You love me!

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Ok so I’ll take a stab at it since I have so much time on my hands tonight (it’s so nice having my paper done):

    First set:
    1) Oprah? Bill Gates?… Uhh?
    2) Well now I know of one — Tim Tebow! Sweet!
    3) Lana of the GayTors. Seriously, she really is beautiful. If you e-mail me I’ll send you her picture. As a matter of fact, I’ll even give you her address and phone number. ROFL!!
    4) Can you believe that Hemingway won a Nobel Prize? Me either!
    5) Heck, I don’t even watch TV
    6) What’s the World Series?

    Second set:
    1) Miss T, Mrs. Potts, Miss Starett, Mrs. Foley, Mr. Ball
    2) Elisa, Janean, Lana
    3) My parents, my husband, my children, Melanie
    4) Stacy, Aunt Pam, Andrea, Ariane, that lady at Publix
    5) Everyone from ques 2-4 plus all of my family members and friends

    HR


Leave a Reply

