Candid Chatter

Just Say It

The German in Me May 5, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 11:28 am

I love German food. I love sausage. I love kielbasa. I love kraut. I love German potato salad (if it is made right). I love love love German food. For dinner last night, Rich (who also embraces his German roots) made sausages with kraut and mashed potatoes. Oh miles of piles of German food on my plate!! It was freaking gloriously delicious.

He also bought a pork loin roast yesterday that I put in the crock pot this morning with the remaining sauerkraut. We will have another German feast tonight. I can’t get enough of this flavor right now. So rich. So sassy. So fattening. So irresistible. Yummm.

Enjoying it while I can. Breakfast and lunch will be healthful to balance it out. It’s times like these that I am grateful I am not Jewish. I say this because I think Jews don’t eat pork. Right?

I miss Schmidt’s restaurant in Columbus, Ohio. What I wouldn’t do to enjoy a cream puff dessert after my dinner tonight. Oh heavenly sugary yummily treat!

 

7 Responses to “The German in Me”

  1. Dave Carrol Says:

    In college, i acted in a terrible movie about Klaus. He was a German guy who had a magic penny.

    I had one line that went something like, “ah mine hymel das is vunder”. It meant “oh my heavens its magic”.

    That’s my german story.
    aaaannndd that’s all
    Dave

  2. candidchatter Says:

    I have a distant relative who is so German she calls herself, “Vilma”. Her name is Wilma. Ooohhhh (and I’ll be back tomorrow night folks).

    Dave: You make me laugh!

    Heidi

  3. Carey Says:

    Can I come over to your house for dinner? haha

    I’m on this chili kick…my family is sooooo sick of chili when I start browning ground beef they’re like “Oh no, not chili!”

    Anyway I will make it again tonight (don’t tell) for myself.

    Yours by the way looks a lot better.

    Carey

  4. tausha Says:

    i am not a fan of German food. My bro-LOVES IT! Wait-I lied-i love german chocolate. Not the cake-the candy! My bro served a mission in Berlin for the LDS church and he loved it! My kids love it when he speaks German. They think that he is so funny! Because they think that he is so funny-then he keeps talking that way and annoying the crap out of me. I don’t like it when people speak a language aound me that i don’t understand-i always think that they are making fun of me. Iknow I am paranoid-it’s kind of like when you go and get a pedi and you just know those japenese girls are making fun of you:) Ok-maybe I am just a freak!!

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Carey: That picture is just some random sausage and kraut that I found on Google Images. I make the kickin-est butt chili in the whole state of Florida. I guarantee, uh guarentee, uh how the heck do you spell that word, anyway… I PROMISE!! And I make the kickin-est butt white bean chicken chili you’ve ever tasted. You really should come over in the winter time. I’ll make chili of both kinds at least twice (each flava).

    Tausha: LOLOL!! My mom thinks the SAME thing about people speaking foreign languages around her. Makes her feel extremely uncomfortable. Hysterical!! You could NEVER live in Florida. Melting pot down here — Latin American, Haitian, New York (oh wait, they speak English, I think), French Canadian (during season they come down here in droves), Asian, etc. I actually LOVE it. I am so excited that my kids are growing up in such a diverse area of the US.

    HR

  6. Lana Says:

    oh, guess what my dear.
    i’m part German.
    my grandma (Dad’s mom) was born in Germany and escaped to Brazil…
    my Dad grew up in a very German part of Brazil, where people where those clothes that people wear here for Octoberfest or kinky Halloween-type costumes.
    anyway. wouldn’t have thought that about me would you?

    and I HATE sauerkraut. yuck

  7. candidchatter Says:

    Lana: Nooo. Wow! That’s so funny that you hate kraut, b/c I almost invited you guys over for some last night. LOL! I was at the stinkin’ pool for almost 2 hours, but I got to sign up BOTH kids. I didn’t realize they do 3 sessions. So Brianna goes mid-June and Jeremy mid-July. And guess who their teacher is??? Debra Z. from my church. Do you know who I mean? Anyway, she’s a friend of mine and SUCH an awesome Christian lady! Very real too and upbeat and encouraging — you know, like us. 😉

    Well, the pork roast ended up being too dry. Ick! I threw away the leftovers. I think it was in the crock for way too long. Jeepers! Oh well. The rest of the dinner was good. Tonight we’re doing healthy fare. Gotta cut back on all that German loveliness.

    HR


Leave a Reply

