Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Help! May 12, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 1:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

A person who I sort-of know e-mailed me with an urgent note to call her. I know her from my last class at IRCC. We sat next to each other. That is the extent of our relationship — a class, a semester, at school. 

Anyway, I called her, but her phone had been disconnected. So I e-mailed her, “tried to call you but your phone isn’t working”. Long story short — she e-mailed me back with, “my husband tried to commit suicide…900mg of methamphetamine…in hospital…might be diagnosed with bipolar disorder”. Homey Heck No!! That is NOT the response I thought I would get.

So why “help!” in the title? Because I am flat out clueless on this one. I asked her if she was ok and if she needs anything. I don’t know what else. It took me about 5 minutes of hands positioned on the keyboard and mind racing with blank expression on my face to come up with that much.

When people shock me with their realities, I don’t know what to say or do or say or do. I get all knotted up inside and for those moments in my life I am rather speechless. My mind goes, “say something…but what…I don’t know but it better be good…say something…blank, blank, blank, fuzzzzzz”. While my brain is short-circuiting my face is all shocked expression and blinking eyes and that’s about it. I go frozen all over in about -2 seconds.

What would you do in this situation? Remember, I hardly know her.

Click on “comments” and give me the advice of the century. Please!

Thanks!

 

3 Responses to “Help!”

  1. Carey Says:

    Listen, my brother did commit suicide…I can tell you from experience that she just needs to be heard…tell her, you feel for her–not that you know what she’s going through (unless you do) just encourage her to get him help, and her as well.

    I just don’t know how involved you want to get…you have your life with your children. You know what I mean? This is some serious stuff, just listen to her and that’s really all you can do. 😦

  2. I was going to say something very similar to Carey, I am choosing to believe that she needed to get it out of her system so it traveled from her fingertips through her keyboard and over to you. You were that “any port in the storm” at that given moment. From reading your blog, I understand the Christian point of view would be God needed you to be there at that particular moment in her life. If He needs you to do more, you will find out about it. Rest easy.

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Thank you both. She hasn’t e-mailed anything back yet. But I’ll just hang in and see what happens. You might be right, Carrie, that I was just an outlet for the moment.

    In the meantime, I am surely praying.

    HR


Leave a Reply

