Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Crash & Burn May 17, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 8:18 pm

The hard drive bit the dust on my computer. Kaput! Thank GOD in Heaven we backed everything up a few days ago. All I lost are the pictures we took on our MD trip to the beach. Bummer, but it could have been A LOT worse. I’m talking pictures of Brianna’s birth, birthdays, milestones, for no reason, and a whole bunch of videos. Everything regarding my education, taxes, addresses, phone numbers, passwords, letters people sent me when my grandma died and when our baby died. We could have lost ALL of that. Shew!

On another note… We nearly had a catastrophe on our hands tonight. You know, I pray every single day for my kids’ safety. Every day — without fail. This evening while I was cooking dinner and Rich was trying to salvage my dead-as-a-doorknob computer, the kids were off playing in Brianna’s bedroom. Suddenly I heard a blood curdling scream. I ran like lightning to her room. She and Jeremy were both caught up in the cord from the mini-blinds. It was wrapped around her arm so tightly it left a burn. It was wrapped around his waist. It was also wrapped around her neck almost to the point that she couldn’t breathe. She has a cord burn on the back of her neck. That fast. It happened that fast. They were out of our sight for like 5 minutes. We are so lucky, blessed, whatever — that she was able to scream for help. Every minute after that I was painfully and overtly aware of what could have been and, thankfully, wasn’t. I am so thankful my little girl is still alive. I am so thankful my little boy is still alive. I am so thankful I can’t even put it into the right words.

I went around to every window in this house and cut the cords down to the point where I can’t even reach them. We will have no more of that. Ever!

Taken for granted. Sometimes even my children’s well-being is taken for granted.

My mother-in-law (MIL) often wants the kids to come over to play. No way, no how, NEVER! I think she gets offended by my absolute refusal to allow it. But she is easily distracted. I’ll never forget when Brianna was a mere 8 month old baby my MIL was holding her in the pool. I was arm’s length from them both. My MIL got so caught up in our conversation that she didn’t realize that she was dunking Brianna’s face under water. I grabbed Brianna from her and wouldn’t let her have her back. I know if the phone rang and it was “business” she might take her eyes off of my kids. She has a pool with no safety gate. She lives on the water with no fencing and a rickety dock. My kids will never be allowed to hang with their grandma at that house until they can both swim like pros no matter how much she begs, pleads, or bribes. Never!

I am still shocked by the cord. I just cannot believe they were able to do that reaching, grabbing, pulling, and wrapping in such a short time frame. I just can’t.

Thank you Lord that my babies are safely asleep in their beds tonight.

 

2 Responses to “Crash & Burn”

  1. carey Says:

    Heidi, Thank God you found your children in time…that is sooooo scary thinking about what could of happened! Especially around her neck…you have a guardian angel I’m sure of it!!!!

    When Hannah was around 7 months old the ex was watching her and she crawled in to my parents hot tub room and the hot tub was on–the jets, and she fell into the hot tub…I was outside feeding their dogs and for some reason I came in and went directly in to that room and there she was face down floating in the hot tub…..OMG, I swear I flew in to the hot tub and scooped her out! When the paramedics came he said she was soooo lucky because another couple of seconds we would have lost her!

    I bet you had nightmare’s that evening! I know I did, I kept waking up that night…I could not get that image out of my head!

    I’m so happy both of them are OK.

    Hugs to you and your children.

    Carey

  2. candidchatter Says:

    OMGosh! I am so glad you found her!!! I just can’t imagine the shock parents have gone through when their children weren’t as fortunate as ours. What kind of person would I be today if I had lost one or both of them? I am so glad I don’t know the answer to that question. I can’t even remember unwrapping them. I remember seeing it, recognizing that they needed help, and then all I remember is holding them while they cried and feeling the blood leave my body. It was other-wordly. No thinking — all reacting. Instinctual and purely without plan.

    HR


Leave a Reply

