Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Two-faced Responses May 18, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:44 am

Hi. My name is Heidi and I just did a foolish thing.

On one blog, I commented that God is love, therefore, we should go and love. This was regarding a situation where a pastor had fallen from grace. My response was one of forgiveness.

On another blog, just minutes later, I reiterated my hatred for sexual offenders. Apparently, I want to love those who don’t disgust me. I’ll extend grace to those suffering and sinning as we “all” do. But for those creepy bastards who harm children – well – off with their heads! No grace, no forgiveness for them. None!

What is wrong with that picture?

God doesn’t measure one sin heavier than another. Why can I forgive those normal sinners, but not the abnormal disgraces to the human race?

How about you? Who are you unable to forgive?

Does that make me a hypocrite?

 

3 Responses to “Two-faced Responses”

  1. Just my ex-husband. I can’t forgive him. I read and re-read “Forgiving the UnForgivable” … I have my husband today because of what my ex-husband did, but I don’t forgive him for hurting me after seventeen years of marriage with an affair or for bailing on our birth and adoptive children.

    I don’t hate him, I just don’t forgive him.

  2. carey Says:

    I really do think there are sins that warrant no forgiveness…such as sinning against a child! I completely agree with you on this subject. I tell you, we are not supposed to judge people– but, I’d hate to be in their shoes when it’s judgment day, for them!

  3. Anne Says:

    It doesn’t make you a hypocrite. It just keeps you practicing the old adage “love the sinner, hate the sin” which is cool.


Leave a Reply

