Candid Chatter

Just Say It

We Remember May 26, 2008

Thank You

My cousin, Nick, gave the ultimate sacrifice on

Mother’s Day, May 8, 2005

He was a mere 20 years old

Engaged to be married

One of 5 sons

He is terribly missed

Since then, his oldest brother has gotten married

Another brother has joined the Coast Guard

His youngest brother has graduated high school

His parents have moved

His mom has retired

And many babies have been born in his extended family

He. Is. Terribly. Missed.

And he is a hero

We honor him and those like him

Memorial Day

Nick Messmer

Who is your American Hero?

Leave a comment.

Click “comments” below.

 

6 Responses to “We Remember”

  1. stushie Says:

    Memorial Day Sonnet

    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember what my freedom cost,
    By those who gave their all to keep me free,
    Whose lives were sacrificed, but never lost.
    I will remind myself of what they did,
    And keep them dearly cherished in my heart;
    Their honor never from me shall be hid
    And I will know they always did their part
    To save our nation and its people here,
    To pledge their lives in defense of our ways,
    To show that freedom always outlives fear,
    And sacrifice is hallowed all our days.
    If Liberty means anything to me,
    I will remember those who kept me free.

    © John Stuart 2008
    Pastor at Erin Presbyterian Church,
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    Audio at:
    [audio src="http://media.libsyn.com/media/stushie/Memorial_Day.mp3" /]

  2. carey Says:

    We will never forget the brave men and women who paid the ultimate price for the freedom we enjoy today!

    So sorry for you and your families loss…

    XOXO

    Carey

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Stushie: Thank you. That is beautiful. A real sweet comment.

    Carey: Thanks, girl.

    HR

  4. Rendered speechless. Sorry for your family’s loss and thank you for everything.

  5. candidchatter Says:

    XO, Carrie.

    HR

  6. jalack Says:

    Thank you for your families sacrifice for my freedom. I wish that all of us would remember to thank God for our men and women in the Armed Forces and pray for them everyday….

    Jason


Leave a Reply

