Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Aftermath June 4, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:42 am

I bought Sea-bands yesterday at the grocery store. They are these little wristbands that look like sweat bands. There is a knobby thing that presses on a pressure point on each wrist. They are helping. I am still nauseous, but they are helping keep me off the couch. After about 4 days of doing mostly nothing around here other than the occassional load of laundry and picking up toys, my house is a disaster. My carpet should be crawling with insects. I think if I scooped all the crumbs together I might have half a bag of “potato chips”. I know. Disgusting. If it wasn’t for our fantastic pest control company who takes such good care of us, it would be crumbs and bugs. Big ugly bugs. Florida bugs… ewwwww [shudder, chills]. This morning before we leave for Brianna’s gymnastics I will be vacuuming with my Sea-bands on.

My awesome husband has been working so much. Yesterday he was on edge. I have no idea how to comfort him when his regular job and start-up company are colliding. “Season” for him starts when NFL season starts. Three months away. Not the most opportune time for me to go out of town for 3 days and part of the reason he is staying home with the kids (he’ll have help from his wonderful family). He is up until the wee hours of the morning every single day now. I try to let him sleep until 10:00 every morning so he can get 6 or 7 hours of sleep. When Jeremy woke me up at 2:00 this morning (this is getting SO old I can’t even describe how sick of it I am) I was happy to see Rich was sound asleep on the couch. I was going to wake him to come to bed, but I figured I better just leave him be. He was very much solid right then. I didn’t want to take the chance of disturbing him so much he’d have trouble falling back to sleep. I turned off the TV and the light to his office and stumbled back to bed. He is a hard worker and I don’t know what we’d do if he didn’t work from home right now. We would never see him. So all of this hard work could pay off in a major way for us, and we knew we’d have to give Rich up for about a year before it all starts to come together. But being in that sink or swim time is taking a toll on him. He eats, breathes, sleeps, walks, talks, chews work. I keep focused on the future and what this could mean for us. He must to. He doesn’t talk about it much. I don’t pry either. We just do our things each day and try to remain loving towards each other.

Anyway. I have been learning so much from other people’s perspectives from blogs or message boards. I guess my approach to it all initially was more of entertainment. The drama sites really drew me in and I would check those every day — sometimes more than once a day. Now I see a change happening. I am more drawn to ones that challenge me in one way or another. Other times I want to just laugh along with someone else regarding their humorous take on things or memories of their past or sarcasm or whatever. Sometimes I just need to not think. Ever have moments like that… where you want to NOT think? Yeah, me too.

Thank God for happy endings. Even though it’s mid-week, for me it’s the end of one stressful and disconcerting week. The spotting is gone. Totally gone. A doctor from the practice I go to called yesterday around 5:30 to tell me everything he saw from my ultrasound looks great. He moved my due date back a week. Now I’m due Jan 19th. All this means is that my c-section will be around the 12th rather than around the 5th, unless this baby does what his/her big brother did and comes even earlier than that. I have a repeat scan in 2 weeks to be sure the peanut is growing like it should. The nice thing about being semi-high risk is that I get a TON of ultrasounds. Later, after I get diagnosed with gestational diabetes, I’ll get so much attention it will make me feel like Angelina Jolie minus the photogs.

Have a lovely hump day. I hope someone’s blog or board or website challenges you today!

In fact, tell me about it.
Whose blog inspires you the most?
And, no, you won’t hurt my feelings if it’s not mine.
Provide a link so we can check it out too.

 

2 Responses to “Aftermath”

  1. Mom Quixote Says:

    Just saw your more recent post: happy to hear all is well!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Nice to meet you Mom Quixote!! Thanks for commenting.

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

