Candid Chatter

Just Say It

I Get Offended June 16, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:33 am
Tags: , , , ,

I just got an e-mail that had beautiful and breathtaking pictures of our diverse environments around the world. Pictures of nature, animals, and people interracting with both. Really, a beautiful presentation. But I almost didn’t look at the pictures because I was offended by the very first page. There was a word collage which gave credit for the following beauty to “Mother Nature” and “her” creation.

WHAT???????????

First of all, who is Mother Nature? Seriously. Who is she? Never met her. Some figment of somebody’s imagination. Someone who refuses to believe in the Creator of nature, I’m sure.

Secondly, and I really would like to know this, how can a person see pictures like that and deny God?

I’ll tell you how I did it years ago when I was married to my first husband who was an atheist. I was egotistical and stubborn and selfish. Now, I’m not saying that’s how every non-believer feels. But that’s how I felt. I was in control of my life and my surroundings and I was unwilling to give anyone credit for my accomplishments or good things in life. It was all about me.

So I get offended. You might think I’m overly sensitive and being ridiculous to get offended over that. Let me explain.

Suppose your father did something incredible. Suppose he discovered penicillin. You’d be darn proud of dad, eh? Suppose he discovered penicillin yet there was an annoying amount of people who gave credit to his dog. Yep. Not your dad, but your dad’s pet. Rover is the discoverer of penicillin. Rover wins a Nobel Prize. Yay for Rover!!!! Sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it?

That’s how it feels to be a child of the Living God and watch so many people giving credit to His creation for His creation. It is offensive.

I love my God with all of my heart. I strive to revolve my life around Him. When I see or hear something that takes away from His majesty and glory I get offended. I really, really do.

 

2 Responses to “I Get Offended”

  1. Mel Says:

    And justifyingly so! I do as well. That was an awesome analogy about Rover and penicillin- interesting perspective! Totally agree with you though. I get the same way when people tell me how lucky I am that I have something (like when someone told me when Dad died I must have had “lady luck” on my side to have had such a wonderful dad)- specifically my family. “oh, you’re so lucky to have such a great husband/kids/dad/whatever”. As if they were pure happenstance in my life. Nah, they are incredible blessings from my God. He loves me and wanted incredible things for me- they didn’t just come along by chance!

    Ok, going off on a tangent there…..but well said, my friend!

  2. carey Says:

    Me too Heidi, me too!


Leave a Reply

