Candid Chatter

Just Say It

So Tell Me the Truth June 18, 2008

I have some questions for you. They are serious and I am curious. I have been in conversation through e-mail with a couple of people close to my heart. It’s been very enlightening for me to be exposed to their beliefs. So it got me thinking…

  1. Do you believe in God?
  2. Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not?
  3. Are you a good person?
  4. Do you think hell exists?
  5. Do you think Satan exists?
  6. Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it?
  7. Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose?
  8. Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you?
  9. Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you?
  10. What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why?

Thank you to everyone who answers. I am not posting this for judgment. I am sincerely curious. I’d like to see this discussion get WIDE open — Christians, non-Christians alike.

So who goes first?
Be courageous. What you write might touch someone.

 

11 Responses to “So Tell Me the Truth”

  1. Dave Carrol Says:

    1. Yes
    2. I do… I can feel it.
    3. Half of the time… not good enough but Jesus takes care of that
    4. I do
    5. Absolutely
    6. I do believe that it is God written and that he speaks just as clear today. I read it regularly but not daily.
    7. I do. They fight spiritual fights for us and are messenger. I wouldn’t worship them though… we’re higher than them!
    8. I do. He’s the one who freed me and is the story of my life
    9. I do. He hangs with me and works with me.
    10. It’s a statement to a body of believers and to got that you’ve chosen to live with him.

  2. Mel Says:

    I’ll go!

    Do you believe in God? Yes I absolutely do!

    Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not? Yes, I am going to Heaven- because I gave my heart and life to Jesus and He promised me eternity with Him.

    Are you a good person? On my own- no way. I am selfish, rebellious, and willful. Bu through Christ, I do my best to portray His love and goodness.

    Do you think hell exists? Yes I do
    Do you think Satan exists? Yes
    Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it? I believe it is the living breathing word of God, and although I don’t read it as often as I should, I do read it. Every time I open it, God shows me something new and amazing about Him. It’s awesome!

    Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose? I do believe in angels- I believe they are among us doing God’s work- from revealing things to us God wants us to know to watching over His children.

    Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you? Jesus is my savior. He’s my Papa. He’s my joy!

    Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you? Yes I do. His Spirit is that small voice of reassurance and love, of guidance and warning within me.

    What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why? I believe baptism is an outward sign of an inward committment- a way to show the world that Christ has taken the punishment for my sin and I am His child. I believe baptism is something each individual chooses for himself. I was just baptized last year. I waited until I really felt ready- confident in my faith and ready to show Him that I was unashamed and proud to make that statement. 🙂

  3. dove124 Says:

    1) (You’ll have to rephrase this question, for there are so many gods.You’ll have to be very definite.) It’s depend of who’s God you’re talking about: But if you’ll ask me , if I believe in God the Father , and God the Son , Yes I believe on both of them.
    2) a. No ,
    b. because I have not been judge yet.
    3) Up to this point in time, my answer is yes.
    4) Yes
    5) Yes
    6) a. Please rephrase the question. Not all words in the Bible are words of God. Some are the words of wicked persons , some are words of Satan, etc.
    b. Yes
    7) a. Yes
    b. To protect the children of God, and those people who fear God only. The wicked are not included, they had Satan’s angel at their side.
    8) a. It depend of who’s Jesus are you talking about. Because their existed so many Jesus in our time. The Jesus of Roman Catholic , The Jesus of Protestant, The Jesus of Born Again Movement of so many denomination, The Jesus of Baptist Denomination , etc., etc. All of these Jesus are false Jesus. They are conceive by so called Pastor who are morons pertaining to the bible. There are many criteria which the bible had given us to know who are true preacher, who are sent by God .
    If you want to knew them , I’ll blog it to you, by request only.
    b. Savior of the Body. The Church of God that is in the Bible.
    9) a. Yes
    b. He made me to remember all the teaching of our Lord Jesus Christ. And guide me in the the path to salvation.
    10) a. Baptism is the immersion of a person who will follow Christ Jesus.
    b. Baptism is one of so many commandments of Jesus Christ. So , as a Christian , it is one of the requirement for salvation.
    c. you can’t enter heaven without this one.

    You know what ? I perceive that you’re thinking of being a preacher. My suggestion is,.. FORGET IT.

  4. vitaminbook Says:

    Sure, I’ll take a stab at it:

    1. Do you believe in God?

    No, I’m an atheist.

    2. Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not?

    No on two counts: I don’t believe that heaven exists, and if it does and the ‘entry requirements’ are what Christians believe they are, I’m still not going!

    3. Are you a good person?

    That would depend on your definition of ‘good’, but I think most people would agree that I am. I do non-good things from time to time, of course, but I go out of my way to not hurt other people intentionally.

    4. Do you think hell exists?

    No, I don’t.

    5. Do you think Satan exists?

    Same as above; I really don’t think so.

    6. Do you believe the Bible is the word of God? If so, do you read it?

    No. I think it’s a very important book (/collection of books) in the context of human history and culture, but I don’t believe that it’s divinely inspired in any way.

    7. Do you believe in angels?

    No.

    8. Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you?

    I believe that Jesus existed, but not that he was the son of God or that he performed any of the miracles described in the Bible. (Including, of course, coming back to life.)

    9. Do you believe in the Holy Spirit?

    No.

    What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why?

    I think it’s something that’s deeply ingrained into many cultures (my own included), but I don’t believe that it fulfills any necessary purpose, especially for non-Christians. If I had children, I wouldn’t get them baptised.

  5. Aw Says:

    1. Do you believe in God?
    Yes

    2. Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not?
    I hope so, but since it’s not up to us to make that determination or judgment, all I can do is hope and pray and ask for forgiveness for my sins.
    3. Are you a good person?
    Yes
    4. Do you think hell exists?
    Yes
    5. Do you think Satan exists?
    Yes
    6. Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it?
    Yes. I do read it – not as much as some.
    7. Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose?
    I suppose I’ve never really thought of it before.
    8. Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you?
    Yes. He is God’s Son — the Savior. Fully Human and Fully Divine.
    9. Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you?
    Yes — Part of the Triune God, The Holy Spirit is what Jesus sent down to us in Pentecost to be his presence in the world until he comes again. I believe that God The Father, God the Son and the Holy Spirit are three in one.
    10. What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why?
    Baptism is essential to salvation. It destroys original sin and unites the person with the universal Church. Baptism to me is Sacramental and we baptize our children as infants and pledge to raise them in faith.

  6. candidchatter Says:

    dove124: I am not planning to become a preacher. Are you a preacher? Thanks for your comment.

    Heidi

  7. 1. No, God does not exist.
    2. No, I will not be going to heaven. This is because there is no afterlife.
    3. Yes, I am a good person.
    4. No, there is no Hell.
    5. No, there is no Satan.
    6. The bible is most definitely a work of man.
    7. No, angels do not exist.
    8. The myths surrounding Jesus are probably based on a real, historical person. I doubt very much that our current set of myths are even remotely accurate of that person.
    9. No, there is no Holy Spirit. (Yay Blasphemy Challenge!)
    10. Baptism is a quaint, sentimental, cultural ritual from our ancestral past. It is most definitely not neccesary.

  8. Jason Says:

    1. yes
    2. yes, because I asked Christ to forgive me of my sins, I know that Christ came to this world to redeem us of our sin, he is the risen Savior.
    3. the scripture says, “no one is good, not one”, i try to be
    4. YES
    5. YES
    6. yes and everyday
    7. yes, they serve many purposes, from messangers to avengers
    8.yes, he is my Savior, my comforter, my rock, my physician, he is that still quite voice, he is my shelter in the storm, he is the one I love the most.
    9.yes, see above
    10. I believe in Baptism, it is a show of faith. I don’t believe it will get you into heaven.

  9. Steven Says:

    1. Do you believe in God?
    I tried to. But no, I don’t believe in any god.

    2. Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not?
    I don’t believe in any afterlife, so I don’t expect to “go” anywhere after I die.

    3. Are you a good person?
    I try to be empathetic and charitable, forgiving and kind. But I don’t expect to be patted on the back for it, let alone eternally rewarded.

    4. Do you think hell exists?
    No.

    5. Do you think Satan exists?
    Of course not.

    6. Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it?
    No. The Bible is a vitally important piece of literature, and deserves to be respected for its influence on our culture. Though not the “word of god,” persons would be impoverished if they failed to read it.

    7. Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose?
    No, I don’t believe in angels, or in ghosts or demons.

    8. Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you?
    Historical evidence seems to conclude that Jesus did indeed exist. He taught some beautiful things in the New Testament, as well as some ugly things.

    9. Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you?
    No.

    10. What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why?
    My view of baptism is entirely archaeological and historical, evolving from ancient Jewish rites into the Christian form. Apart from that, it gets a lot of people wet.

  10. piratessa Says:

    Do you believe in God?
    I believe in multiple gods (including God) as mere facets of the Divine

    Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not?
    I don’t believe in heaven, per se…

    Are you a good person?
    I try to live my life with integrity…so I would say I try to be.

    Do you think hell exists?
    no

    Do you think Satan exists?
    no

    Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it?
    no, but I have read it–several times…I believe in accepting wisdom where it lies, and ignoring the rest where it is found as well

    Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose?
    no

    Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you?
    I believe in the possibility of a historical figure called Jesus and I believe that many believe him to be the son of God…but I neither believe IN, nor worship such a concept.

    Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you?
    No

    What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why?
    I don’t think that baptism is necessary as I am not Christian, but I think as a concept, it should be something that one chooses for themselves, fully understanding what it means and accetpting that choice and its ramifications into their live, rather than something that is forced upon them at infancy, or coerced upon them by the expectations of family.

  11. Michael Says:

    Do you believe in God? Yes

    Do you think you are going to heaven? Why or why not? Tough one right now in my life. I think so.

    Are you a good person? Define good… but in general yes…

    Do you think hell exists? yes

    Do you think Satan exists? yes

    Do you believe the Bible is the Word of God? If so, do you read it? Yes on both points.

    Do you believe in angels? If so, what is their purpose? Yes… their purpose is to aid God. Ultimately that may benefit me.

    Do you believe in Jesus? If so, who is He to you? Yes, he is my lord and savior…

    Do you believe in the Holy Spirit? If so, who is He to you? The holy three… father, son and holy ghost.

    What is your view of baptism? Is it necessary? If so, why? Yes. I am not sure where I stand regarding submersion vs. sprinkle.


Leave a Reply

