Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Family Together July 3, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 8:52 am

If there is one thing I learned as a kid it’s that getting together with family is important. We all have our very busy important lives. But we need to take breaks and gather together with our families.

When I moved to Florida the first time in 1998, I was extremely disappointed at how my Florida family didn’t put much effort into gathering for special days… Christmas, Easter, Thanksgiving, and so on. My grandparents and two uncles lived here back then. Not one time did I get a phone call to come to the family’s celebration of this or that. My Ohio family (huge I might add) gets together to celebrate everything… the usual holidays, the 4th of July, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Halloween, family reunion (like we need one – ha!), because it’s Saturday, because the sun is shining, because a baby was born, because someone bought a new house or a new car or a new motorcycle or a new boat… you get the picture. And we’re talking over 100 people. No lie!

I came back to Florida a little over 3 years ago. Since coming back, I have made it my mission to bring our Florida family together for every occasion possible. Tonight we are all going to watch fireworks at Tradition. Tomorrow morning we are all meeting for breakfast at the Cracker Barrel. I want my kids to grow up with memories of fun times with their cousins. I want them to tell stories of Poppy and Peacha (peacha is grandma). Fun and heartwarming. Just like when I was a kid.

About a month or so ago one of my uncles and his family came down to Orlando. We drove up to hang out with them for a day. My aunt from Tampa and her family met us all there too. It was a blast!!

Family gatherings are important. Even if there is someone you don’t really like or who gets on your nerves, you are making memories for your kids and they will cherish them for a lifetime. I sure do.

Thanks mom and dad for always making family the most important thing in our lives. I love you for so many reasons. This is one of them. You two are awesome!!

Happy 4th of July eve. 😉
What are your plans?

 

One Response to “Family Together”

  1. Family time can be good or bad, it’s what you make of it that makes the difference. I never really liked family reunions as a kid. We would get together once a year on my dad’s side, and once a year on my mom’s side. When we were with my dad’s family, they all swore I looked like him. When we were with my mom’s family, they swore I looked like her.

    Silly family! Didn’t they know that a child doesn’t really want to look like either parent!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

