Candid Chatter

Just Say It

I’m Starving July 15, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:29 pm

So there was a time in my life when I didn’t have much food and I was thankful to be a waitress then b/c I could eat for free at work. My breakfast, if I had any, was usually toast or Cheerios. Lunch was Ramen soup and a peanut butter sandwich. It was all I could afford. Dinner was at the restaurant if I was working that night. If I wasn’t, it was Ramen soup and another peanut butter sandwich. Water to drink. Sometimes milk if it was on sale. I wasn’t hungry, but I wasn’t eating anything close to like I eat now. I didn’t enjoy most of what I was eating, but it was food and that was enough.

Fast forward to today at WalMart. I heard a lady laughing at her two daughters who were complaining that they were starving. The girls were teens and a bit chubby. She cracked up at them and told them it would take them a long time to starve. I smiled at her. It was cute and funny all at once.

Or was it?

I was just talking to my sister on the phone. I try not to complain about this pregnancy because of what happened last time and because this will be my last pregnancy and because there are women out there who would give a kidney along with their left arm to be able to conceive as easily as I have. But she’s my sister so I am free-er with her. Anyway, I start to get hungry around 4:30 every single day and no matter how much food I eat I am still hungry when I go to bed at night around 10:30. By the 3 a.m. pee, my stomach feels like it’s eating itself and growls angrily. I’ve been tempted to eat a bowl of cereal at 3 a.m. It’s disgusting. I mean it really is disgusting. So we joked that when we’re pregnant we don’t just get hungry… no, we get starving. And it feels just like that. One minute you’re satisfied and fine, the next minute you’re in search of the easiest meal you can shove in your mouth in the next 5 minutes before the nausea kicks in and the tum starts to rumble. It’s really disgusting.

So I’m in my kitchen baking chicken taquitos for my healthy bedtime snack. When they came steaming out of the oven, I said out loud, “I feel so sorry for poor women who are pregnant”. I said that and then it really sunk in. I walked into Rich’s office b/c yes he is still working and I repeated it to him. He looked sad and shook his head. “I know”. See, pregnancy is not fun. It’s really not. A blessing, absolutely. But it is not easy bringing a life into the world. The baby “robs” its mother of everything. All the best stuff goes to the baby first, the mom gets the leftovers. That’s the God’s honest truth. So a poor woman carrying a baby must be the greatest physical challenge besides being permanently handicapped in some way.

Hungry… and pregnant?

I just can’t imagine it. I can’t. And I’m so glad I can’t.

But what about the women who are. Right now. This minute. Hungry, malnourished, sick, poor, and pregnant.

Pray for them.
Because they are starving.
And I’m not.
And neither are you.

 

5 Responses to “I’m Starving”

  1. During college, I regularly felt like I was starving to death. I was dirt poor, as my dad would call it. I lived off campus in the worse little place you can imagine, once you have doubled what you think the worse place in the world would be!

    I used to eat spaghetti noodles with a cheese slice on top. That’s what I had for dinner almost every night. Noodles and cheese slices were cheap! Thank goodness, I did eat lunch at school, most days. No wonder I used to be pencil thin!

    When my wife was pregnant, she went through the same things you did…completely full one minute, starving the next. And, the microwave couldn’t heat anything fast enough for her! Then, after eating, the heartburn would set in! Fortunately, we found a remedy for heartburn–raisins…before you laugh, try it! Throw about a dozen raisins in the side of your mouth, let them sit there for a couple of minutes, chew, and eat! It really works!

    Pray for the women who are malnouished, sick, poor, and hungry? All the time. More so after seeing how tough it was for my wife “just” to be pregnant!

  2. carey Says:

    You always give me something to ponder on…thank you. Gives me more to think about other than myself.

    It just goes to show you that there’s always someone worse off, and we should pray for them.

    And help where we can.

    Carey

  3. jenn3 Says:

    Yeah, I hated being pregnant. (Loved the end result, just didn’t enjoy pregnancey.) People look at me weird when I tell them that. I did the same thing as far as food goes. I always went from being so full I thought I might be sick to being absolutely starving. Not fun. I can’t imagine being malnourished and pregnant.

  4. DM Says:

    Wow — great post. I found it because I am pregnant for the first time and wondering how to deal with this constant roller coaster of nauseated/”starving”/nauseated/indigestion. You really gave me something to ponder. I can’t imagine feeling this way I feel and NOT having the option of running to the corner drug store for a bag of chips, or calling Chinese for delivery, or even just running over to my mom’s for a bowl of soup. I don’t know what I’d be doing. Those poor ladies. And even if I don’t feel 100 % like going out to get something, there is always food around, pretty easy to get to.

    – DM, 10 weeks pregnant

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Congratulations DM. I am 17 weeks now. Out of the pukey feeling stage, but there are other physical hurdles I am dealing with. It’s quite a journey until the birth, but soon we’ll be saying how worth it all of it was.

    Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

