Candid Chatter

Just Say It

She’s So Big Now July 26, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:13 am

Brianna is starting to get interested in accessories. It’s no fault of her own. I am the one to blame. I am a purse and jewelry fanatic. I guess it’s rubbing off. She asked me about 3 days ago if she could wear my earrings. The blue ones. I told her not until she gets her ears pierced. I opened a can of worms with that statement.

Today she is going with me to the mall to get her ears pierced. I told her she can pick out whatever piercing studs she wants. She is all of a sudden 13. She has made a decision. I told her it will hurt. I told her she might cry. She doesn’t care. She wants earrings.

The girl is just like me. Determined to get what she wants even if it hurts. Wow!

So instead of painting her room today, we’ll be doing more grown up things. She’s excited and I am a little nervous. I told her I’d hold her hand and that it’s ok to cry. She hugs me and tells me how happy she is that she gets to do this today.

Just me and her. A girlie moment. A big girl step.

They grow up too fast.

 

7 Responses to “She’s So Big Now”

  1. candidchatter Says:

    Well she did it and the girl did not cry. She didn’t even jump. She was so brave and so excited and kept wanting to look in mirrors. She’s my girl and her earrings look so adorable. She picked her birthstone (sapphire) without even knowing it. Awww. I bought her an extra pair of earrings with cubic zirconia. A girl has to have “diamonds” now doesn’t she? I told her someday, if she listens to mommy, she’ll marry a man who will buy her real diamonds. And I’m only half kidding.

    Heidi

  2. This poor girl doesn’t stand a chance…

    I’ll just do my best to keep my little man away from your little girl…

    At least until he’s much, much older!

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: LOL – just get him educated and then no matter what little girl he meets he’ll be ready for anything. Well, almost anything. šŸ˜‰

    Heidi

  4. Heidi…is any little boy ever really ready for a girl?

    No matter the age.

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Well, no, but I was trying to give you a little hope. Guess you know better, huh?

    You poor boys/men. [evil laughter]

    HR

  6. Celeste Says:

    It always amazes me just so much they learn from us and how much they want to be like us. As a child I used to collect things and now my daughter is exactly the same way.

  7. Well, HR, I used to be a little boy, who hated girls because I didn’t understand them…

    Then, I was a teenager, who grew to love girls, just because…

    Now, I am a man. I am no closer to understanding women, but I continue to love them…just because.


Leave a Reply

