Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Why Does the Awe Fade so Fast? August 2, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:20 am

I have been knee deep in the Old Testament since January. I entered a challenge my church has for the Women’s Ministry to read the Bible in a year. The Bible we use has been rearranged into chronological order. I just finished a few chapters of Nahum. I am really looking forward to the end of September when we finally enter the New Testament. But the OT has come alive in ways I never knew it would… and I am learning so much. One thing I have learned is that God’s people sure do forget a lot of His miracles soon after they are performed.

God parted the Red Sea. Soon after, the Israelites were complaining.

God gave them manna to eat. Soon after, they were complaining.

God gave them water from a rock. Soon after, they were complaining.

They even wanted to stone Moses.

Evil rotten bunch of lunatics!!! Or are we just exactly like them? Is it human nature to forget what God has provided because we want more and better? What is wrong with us? Why does the awe fade so fast?

This crosses over to many aspects of our lives. Not just our relationship with our Creator. Think of marriages. I thought of this while I was writing the post from yesterday. Why do we become so complacent? Selfishness seeps in and we start taking advantage of our spouses without really putting thought to it. Soon we’re wondering, like Janet Jackson said, “what has he done for me lately”.

We can attribute this to the beauty of the environment that surrounds us. My personal examples are palm trees and bodies of water. When I first moved to Florida in 1998, I was so excited about the landscape. It was so beautiful to me. About a year and a half later I was complaining about it. We moved back to Ohio. I thought I had missed Ohio so much. We moved back in May of 2000. By January of 2001, I was complaining. I hate winter in the north. I truly do. Snow is pretty to look at… and that’s it. Hate the stuff. So when we came back to Florida in April of 2005, I was stoked! The palm trees and bodies of water looked so beautiful to me again. Now they are common. Still beautiful, but I see so much of them that the awe is gone.

We bought a beautiful house in March of this year. I remember sitting on the great room floor in an empty house all by myself (I had been here cleaning) and praising God for this house. I was so excited and I couldn’t wait to move in and get settled. I envisioned all the things we plan to accomplish here. I dreamed about my kids growing up in one house and not moving all the time. I loved it. Well, I still super like my house, but now it’s common to me. I can’t keep it as clean as I’d like. I don’t have the time or the energy right now. Toys seem to run from one end of it to the other no matter how many trashbags full I throw away. There are even toys in my master bathroom. Arg! Rich doesn’t have the time to keep up with the yard as often as it needs it so that embarrasses me and I don’t do lawn maintenance.

What happened to the awe?

I have the same problem with things that I own: jewelry, cars, clothes, purses, shoes, furniture. I get so super excited when it’s new and then not long after it’s common. Remember the plasma TV I was actually excited about? Yeah, I hardly watch it at all. To me, it’s just a babysitter for the kids so I can clean, cook, take a shower, or rest on the couch when I’m not feeling well. A tool.

The blessings that I take for granted…

  • Living in a free country
  • Eating whenever I want to
  • The right to vote
  • The ability to conceive and carry to term our children
  • Our healthy lives and children
  • My husband’s job
  • My ability to be a stay-at-home mom
  • My salvation in Christ
  • My family and friends

There are more examples I’m sure. The awe fades, but I wish it didn’t. I wish I could be as excited every single day for the blessings and conveniences in my life. Every day.

What do you take for granted?

 

Leave a Reply

