Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Stupid September 4, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:07 pm

This is all my fault.

I gave up my foul vocabulary a few years ago. I felt it wouldn’t be a very good way to represent Christ if I’m dropping the “F” bomb every other sentence. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be either. I’ll admit that now and then I say bad things — usu out of anger and usu only around Rich. But mostly I do not curse at all. My kids have probably never heard mommy or daddy throw down a dirty word. Nope.

But I have my substitute words. I guess I say one of them far too often.

Stupid.

Guess who has started calling things stupid? BOTH of my children. Brianna said that having to help me clean her room was stupid. Jeremy got mad at his tricycle and called it his stupid bike. Ugh!!

How do I handle this? I asked them to please try not to use that word because it sounds stupid. LOL! Just kidding. But I did ask them to try to not say the word stupid. I told them I don’t like how it sounds. Guess I need to strike another stupid word from my vocabulary now.

Funny how something can seem so innocent until you hear it come out of your child’s mouth. It’s even worse when there is nobody to blame but yourself.

What is something
your child said that
made you reconsider
your vocabulary?

 

3 Responses to “Stupid”

  1. Debateur Says:

    Honestly so far we’ve been pretty lucky but honestly luck is at it is.

  2. stacy Says:

    i remember our youngest giving a report (several years ago) that one of her friends said the S word… we asked her if she knew what the S word was. She said yes… we asked her to tell us… she reluctantly whispered it in my ear… it is Stupid …. we got a great laugh out of that one.

  3. candidchatter Says:

    D: I hope your luck doesn’t run out.

    Stacy: Now that is funny right there! BTW – Jeremy is sad about your trampoline’s death. Now I’m wondering about ours when Ike shows up. They will be so brokenhearted if it bites the dust in that storm.

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

