Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Change that Really Changes Us September 9, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 1:28 pm

My sister wrote an excellent post today on her blog. I hated reading it because I remember the shock that reverberated through our family when she went through those hard times. I remember how upset it made me and how my heart ached for her. It was awful. Go read her story and give her some love.

So that brings me to today’s post.

What life changing event happened to you? One, two, three? Pick a couple and share with us. You can write a long comment. It’s fine.

Me first:
I have had several. The first was my divorce at 25 from my ex-monster husband. Then my marriage to my current husband. Then becoming a born again Christian. Then each of my children. Then my miscarriage in December. Also, the move to Florida. All of these events continue to be a blessing beyond my comprehension and expectations. Some were excruciating to endure. Some were joyful beginning to present time.

How about you?

 

7 Responses to “Change that Really Changes Us”

  1. I’ve been debating this very thing…sharing something on my web site…about my biggest regret…or life lesson…

    the problem is, the person it involves…”secretly” reads my blog…or thinks she does…

    Remember my question about security and blocking people…there you go!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: Yikes!! I’ve often wondered if my ex-husband reads mine, but there is no evidence that he does. He stalked me after we divorced. He about made my heart skip a beat when he called me one day out of the blue at work (I didn’t even know that he knew where I worked) while I was 6 months pregnant with Brianna. He said he’d been thinking about me and wondered if I needed anything. I told him if I did he’d be the very last person on the planet I would go to. That was the last time I heard from him. But I was very, very careful before I would leave my house with my daughter. I would always, always, always check outside first to see if there were any strange vehicles driving slowly by my house. Paranoid? Yes. But I know he spied on us. I know he did. That’s how he was. Sick man. I hope your secret stalker disappears for good! My sister also has a stalker. He reads her blog and then sends her nasty e-mails. She dated him for like 2 weeks and he’s been stalking her for over a year. Freakin’ losers!!

    Heidi

  3. tonyyork Says:

    We all have those divine moments that redefine us and I have had my share as well.

    -> Growing up a PK
    -> The day I met the girl that would one day be my wife
    -> The day I married her
    -> Watching my first daughter come into this world at 1 lb 8 oz
    -> Miscarriage #1
    -> Miscarriage #2
    -> Watching my second daughter come into this world
    -> Miscarriage #3
    -> Miscarriage #4
    -> Supporting my wife as we took care of her mother during the last months of her life before cancer took her away
    -> Witnessing both my wife’s and youngest daughter’s baptisms
    -> International Mission trip to Indonesia
    -> Domestic Mission trip to West Memphis

    These are some of the things that show up highlights on the reel from yesteryear…

  4. bub Says:

    OMG I don’t know if I have time to do this. Let’s see. Being adopted. Moving to the country from the city. Smoking pot. Getting into harder drugs. Joining the Navy. Getting kicked out 8 weeks later for drug use. Going to jail. Finding NA. Getting my girlfriend pregnant. Getting married. Getting divorced. Playing in my first band. Getting married. Having Kassie and Bekah. Getting divorced. Meeting Michelle (Grace’s mom). Geting clean again. Michelle having Grace. Starting my new band. Getting heavily back into drugs. Meeting Alabama. Her getting pregnant in the first couple of months of us being together. Struggling to get clean again. Getting clean. Giving up custody of my son to her Dad. Getting away from Alabama. Meeting Letty. Going to church. Turning my life over to Christ. I think that has been the best change in my life. Obviously.

  5. bub Says:

    Geez, I forgot about my parents dying. Totally life changing. I’m sure there’s more. Crazy, huh?

  6. Debateur Says:

    Two events really. My marriage to my husband. It was a wonderful day I’ll never forget and secondly the birth of my daughter. She is the light of my life.

  7. Ali Says:

    hmm, good topic. deciding to not go back to college after 2 years; getting fired from jobs (in general, just always kind of makes you turn a corner of some sort); saying goodbye to one true love; grandfather passing – and him not physically meeting my future husband; falling in love – getting married – having Regan; dealing with my husband’s alcoholism. Again like bub, I would have to say that there are probably others but these are probably ones that I think of the most. Must have impacted me the most then too.


Leave a Reply

