Candid Chatter

Just Say It

When Tragedy Strikes September 11, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:35 am

I will never forget September 11, 2001 and how our country was rocked to the core.

I will never forget the scenes of the aftermath.

I will never forget how the media was requested to stop showing the planes crashing into the World Trade Center towers because it was causing adults and children alike to live in fear and to relive those horrific moments.

I will never forget fearing if my city was next.

It took me a long time to ignore a plane flying over my head or house.

I am still afraid to fly.

I am an American. I am proud of this. I live in the greatest country on the face of this planet.

No matter your political leanings. No matter your religious beliefs (or lack thereof). No matter where you were born. No matter your skin color. No matter your gender. No matter your abilities or disabilities. No matter your income level or social class. No matter.

That day WE were ALL Americans — worldwide, people pledged allegiance to our country. I remember.

We were all concerned about one another. We were all in this together. We all cried. We all broke. We all realized one important thing. We love our fellow Americans. And we were truly united.

God Bless the United States of America.

We will never forget!

Never!

 

3 Responses to “When Tragedy Strikes”

  1. Great words Heidi…

    Big hug to you and yours today…

    And I pray you are correct–may we never forget!

  2. tonyyork Says:

    I remember how every house had an American flag waving out front… it was an awesome thing to witness.

    I remember how churches saw an increase in people coming together just to be connected.

    I remember how the majority supported the ‘counter-attack’ against that evil.

    Sadly, the flags have been put away, the churches have seen those who once needed connection drift away, and now the majority has forgotten the resolve that they had to see this evil controlled.

    We are a great nation – but sometimes I wonder if we haven’t become complacent, expectant, spoiled, and confused.

    September 11 is the new December 7 – a day that will live in infamy. May we never forget where we came from so that we will always have an idea of where we are going.

    God Bless America…. its not just a song – its a prayer.

  3. Good words Heidi. Like Steve I hope we never forget. I reckon that is some of what “fries” me when people want to get all lovey dovey with those who propose terrorism. You can’t reason with those people! They have an agenda and will stop at nothing to fulfill it. I am not into stereotyping (least I hope) but we still need to be aware of what is happening.


Leave a Reply

