Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Bumper Stickers September 23, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 12:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

What is over the top? Is this a way to express yourself? Is it a form of identifying yourself with a certain belief or group? Is it to let the world know what state or town you have visited on vacation (although, FYI I have no idea what most of these black on white initials stand for — all I know is OBX means Outer Banks)? Is it a form of proclaiming your political choices?

We have a “Jesus fish” on the back of Rich’s car. When we owned the Volvo we had a “Choose Life” bumper sticker on the back of it. One identifies our beliefs. The other identifies something we passionately stand for.

A neighbor of mine has many, many bumper stickers all over the back of his red Neon. Most of them are offensive to me. Being that I’m a resident of a Southern state, I would venture to believe that his bumper stickers are offensive to the majority of people who live here — esp the African American and Latin American folks. His stickers make me believe he may be a white supremecist. Gives me the chills in a bad way — the heebie jeebies.

What is it with the little boys peeing on things? Or how about all the redneck girl ones I’ve been seeing lately? Since when did being a redneck become a good thing? Is that because of Jeff Foxworthy? Have you ever noticed, regardless of how funny his jokes are, being a redneck according to him puts you in a group of unstable or unclean or bad mannered or ignorant people? And then there are the fake bullet holes. Nice.

My new favorite is “my child beat up your honor student”. Ummm, that is probably the ignoramous who comments on my family size in the produce section of the grocery store. I’m convinced of it.

Some gray hairs down here have this one “my dog is smarter than your honor student”. Seems to me that your dog is smarter than you at least. However, I highly doubt your dog can unravel an algebraic equation or find North Dakota on a map. Now that I type that out… can you?? Unlikely.

There are milder forms that don’t really annoy anyone, I suppose.
“Go Buckeyes” [or insert your fav team]
“Have a Good Day!” [that’s someone who won’t flip you off in traffic]
“If you can’t see my mirrors, I can’t see you” [great safety tip — I’ll keep my distance, thanks!]
“Baby on board” [I guess that means you want me to be extra careful]

There are mean bumper stickers. Religious ones. Funny ones. Dumb ones.

I think I might just stay away from bumper stickers from now on. I don’t want anyone judging me based on what something says on the back of my vehicle.

What is your opinion
of bumper stickers?
Do you have any?
What do they say?
Which ones annoy you
the most?

 

10 Responses to “Bumper Stickers”

  1. tonyyork Says:

    I am not a huge fan of bumper stickers but I did have one on my last car. It simply stated – ” I love my wife”. Two lesbians pulled up beside me at a light one day and the one driving yelled over to me that she loved her wife too and then proceeded to kiss her.

    No heterosexual couples ever found it necessary to do that. My guess is that while my bumper sticker was meant as an affirmation of my affection for my wife, they saw it as a form of anti-gay propaganda.

    Bumper stickers definitely evoke different messages and feelings from person to person.

  2. I’m afraid to put bumper stickers on my car…and even those little fish decals…

    You should see how I drive sometimes…not very Christ like! I’d hate for Him to get the blame for it!

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Tony: Here’s a funny story — many years ago I saw a rainbow sticker that I liked. I put it on my car. Ha!! I had NO IDEA that was a homosexual identifier until my ex-husband’s son told me. I almost choked and then me and that handy stuff called Goo Gone had a field day getting that sticker off of my car.

    Heidi

  4. wbppsh7 Says:

    I think that for the most part I read them for entertainment. However, the cars that have like 20 on them bother me – I feel like they don’t know what they want even if it is for all the same cause. I just finally put one on the back of one car for LeRoi Moore of DMB who past away unexpectedly. We love DMB and for an accident like that to happen just makes you remember that life truly is fragile and can be done at any time.

  5. jalack Says:

    Fish people is what my wife calls them, those folks that have a Jesus fish on their car, those are the ones that have flipped me off the most. One that I see alot around where I live is window decals memorializing people, I call them rolling head stones. I’m not sure if this is just a southern thing or do they have them in Yankee Occupied Central and South Florida? Anyway, I have three stickers, all of them have to do with my hobby of shooting at things with large guns, so needless to say I don’t get cut off in traffic much.

  6. candidchatter Says:

    Jason: Nuh Uh. The Jesus fish people flash the middle finger? There are a lot of memorializing window decals here too. Most of them are of young folks. When my cousin was killed in the Iraq war another of my cousins (who lives on the west coast of FL) made those decals for his family. I know ya’ll don’t consider FL a true blood southern state… I know, I know. I get it. I’ve often called it New York Jr. However, it’s more of a melting pot of many different cultures. I love it!!

    Ali: That was so tragic. I love DMB too!! LeRoi was one of the most talented musicians I have ever seen!! I don’t know how they’ll ever replace him.

    Heidi

  7. Debateur Says:

    thanks for letting me know what’s going on with your comments. I appreciate your perseverance that must take a lot of patience. Hopefully things will resolve soon. I miss you when you’re not around.

    I’ll be back to read your article soon.

  8. Ginger Bliss Says:

    I guess if anyone feels the need to advertise their beliefs on the back of a car so be it….for myself I think it makes the car look cluttered and trashy if there is more than one. I am all about de-cluttering my life these days. I have to say that there are some amusing ones out there….don’t drive faster than your angel can fly ….God is my co-pilot….I owe, I owe its off to work I go…and my personal favorite…GEAUX TIGERS.

  9. lauren mom of 4 Says:

    Around here almost every minivan and SUV have stickers in their back windows for the sports their kids play in. At one time I thought that might be a neat thing to do to celebrate the extra activites your child participates in, but they have the kid’s names on them and that just makes me think …easy target for child predator? My children are young, so if someone knows their name it almost always makes them an instant friend. Scary.

  10. John D Says:

    Yea, those three letter stickers are actually Airport designation callsigns. Evidently an insiders joke intended to be understood only by the rich jetsetting class.

    Power to the people.

    John


Leave a Reply

