Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Wee Little Wiggly One September 24, 2008

I am 23+ weeks gestation now. That means I just started my 6th month of pregnancy. What a glorious thing… to be more than halfway through. The baby is very active. In fact, we were watching a program last night on the Discovery Channel about women who have had babies who didn’t know they were pregnant. My husband and I were like..”how in the world do you not know you are pregnant esp when you get to the 6th month+??”. It boggled our minds. But the women were all educated and normal. One was even a firefighter. None were teenagers or disabled in any way. They honestly did not know they were pregnant until they had their babies. One woman was pregnant with twins. Sheesh!!

My unborn baby, just like his/her brother and sister, is quite the womb gymnast. I am starting to notice wake and sleep patterns. I haven’t noticed hiccups yet, but I’m sure that will come soon enough. I am getting anxious for us to meet beyond my skin. I wonder if this one will actually have blue eyes like me. I wonder if he or she will actually look like me. I wonder what he or she will be like. I wonder.

Today I have another level 2 ultrasound. Doctor L will be checking the status of the choroid plexus cyst. Hopefully it’s gone. He’ll also perform an echocardiogram (heart ultrasound) on the baby. I’m sure that will be quite tricky since we can’t control whether the baby is moving or not. With this kid… well, I’ll just say that it could take awhile. He told me to plan about 2 hours. My first babysitter bailed on me — and I didn’t find out until 6:30 last night. But I have awesome friends so I found another one by 7:30. Thank you EW!!!

I’ll let you all know later what went on. We are not particularly worried about the baby’s heart. This is more of a precaution. I was exposed to the coxsackievirus (hand, foot, mouth disease) while at a child’s birthday party. Doctor L wants to be sure my little one’s heart is fine. At the last level 2 ultrasound everything looked just fine. Like I said, a precaution. I always lean in the direction of erring on the side of caution. So I’m game for another go at it. Plus, I get to see the little wee one again and that is awesome for me.

Have a lovely day. It’s raining here in south Florida. The yard needed it so I won’t complain.

 

3 Responses to “Wee Little Wiggly One”

  1. I’m with you on how woman don’t know when they are pregnant! My wife and I enjoyed watching our son move, change position, hiccup, etc.

    For a woman claim that she just thought she had gas, well…we might need to do an IQ test…just be safe!

    Hope all goes well today!

  2. wbppsh7 Says:

    GL H! Glad that everyone is onboard for being cautious and easing your peace of mind!

    I have to admit that I also wonder if we did ever decide to have another one (not plaining on it) if s/he would resemble me more or not. Oh well – I love Regan the way she is, even though she has some DH personality traits that totally blow me away! However last night I came across some pictures of me around maybe 6-7yo and I was practically strangling my daddy. Regan does that too! It was nice to see something of her from me!

  3. C,
    When you have a chance, email me:
    roxannekristina@hotmail.com
    R


Leave a Reply

