Candid Chatter

Just Say It

A Mushy Post September 26, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 8:47 am

This may very well be so mushy you’ll puke in your trashcan (or kitchen sink depending on where you are when you read this).

Thirty-two years ago I was one day shy of turning 3 years and 4 months old. I was probably driving my little brother nuts and waiting for my darling little sister to be born. Wait? No, she wasn’t brewing yet. Almost. Anyhoo. I’m sure I was all into baby dolls and bubbles. I was potty trained and spending my last year at home with Mom before I hit preschool the next fall.

Little did I know that the future father of my children was preparing to make his entrance into this world. He came into this world in such a way that I super don’t blame his mom one bit for not having anymore children. He was almost 11 pounds, breech, and she had no pain medicine. Yes folks, you read that right — she pushed a humongous breech baby out with no epidural, demoral, or what have you. Rich was about to make a statement. LOL!! Who knew after that he’d be a gentle giant.

Thirty-two years later he is everything to me. I’ve had the pleasure of being his lucky wife for almost 9 years. He’s a fantastic husband, lover, and friend. He’s a wonderful father to his lucky children. He’s a caring son, brother, uncle, son-in-law, brother-in-law, co-worker, ministry partner, neighbor, friend.

He keeps me grounded. He gently guides me off of my soapbox and wraps his arms around me. He loves me for who I am, just as I am. He has never tried to change me. He prays for me. He dotes on me. He serves me. He treats me like a queen and he always has.

If you men knew my sweet Rich Reed, you would be challenged to be a better husband to your wives. If you women knew him, you’d want your husband to meet him.

I remember, as I lay in my hospital bed gazing at my newborn son, thinking to myself what a lucky little boy he is to have such a role model all of his life. I know Jeremy will be the best son, husband, friend, brother, etc he can be. He has the greatest Dad on the face of the planet.

Happy Birthday my love.

Thank you for choosing me.

I love you deeper than I can articulate.

 

5 Responses to “A Mushy Post”

  1. I’m showing this to my wife…

    I have the need now for her to write about me!

    Oh, wait…would that be a good idea or not?

  2. lauren mom of 4 Says:

    Awww.. That was beautiful Heidi.

    Happy Birthday Rich!

    (((((11bs breech oh my!!)))))

  3. Can’t puke. Too busy laughing from your opening line.

    Dang girl, you’re funny!

    Roxx

  4. Ali Says:

    Happy Birthday Rich!!

    HR – no trashcan/sink needed! Definitely don’t need any chocolate for the rest of the day either though – LOL 🙂

  5. bub Says:

    It’s awesome to read about someone admiring their spouse so much as you do. Congrats to the both of you. Oh, and my deepest sympathies for his momma. She must wince every year on his birthday!


Leave a Reply

