Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Cars & Men October 15, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:05 pm

I am a car freak. Ok. Well not a freak. But, for a woman, I am really into cars. A lot of you know that it is my desire to own a Dodge Viper someday.

Rich is looking for a new (used) car. I made a few suggestions. He is smarter than I am. I want luxury, style, prestige, speed, upgrades, and lots and lots of leather. He, on the other hand, wants great gas mileage, high safety ratings, reliable brand, and low mileage all for a great low price. It’s obvious he drives the sports car in the family and I drive the minivan. Humph!

So he’s shopping. Early in the spring we will pay off the minivan. I can’t tell you what a great feeling that will be. I am looking forward to it. I have had a car payment since I was 18. I’ve never owned a vehicle outright. Sweet. Then he will trade in his car and buy himself a new (used) one.

What will he decide? Well, I know it won’t be a BMW or a Lexus or a Volvo or a Cadillac or an Audi. Those were my suggestions. Tee hee!

I am proud of my man. It’s so hard to say “no” to the finer things in life. But he’s right — he works over an hour away from home — he really needs a practical car, not a show-off one.

If you could have
any vehicle you wanted
what would it be?

 

5 Responses to “Cars & Men”

  1. mommato3blessings Says:

    Dang those responsible husbands! It is time for Eric to get a new company car- he’s at his 120K miles on the current car. He has talked a big talk about getting an Audi. You know I share your love of beautiful cars, and I was so excited! After all, this is a company car, therefore not our $$$! Now he thinks he wants the new Mazda 6. Don’t get me wrong, it is a nice car. Really nice. But his current company car? Mazda 6. Men. How boring?!?!?!

  2. Ivan Says:

    I would go for a Lamborghini. Perfectly practical for my needs: I work from home so the speed limits on local roads would not be a problem; I wouldn’t need to worry about insurance because I can’t drive!

    But Audi do sensible cars don’t they? (and they own Lamborghini.)

  3. David Henley Says:

    A man needs a smart looking car! I was looking at some small and cool looking Peugeots on vente-privee.com a few weeks ago which were new and like 15% off, pretty amazing really. Feel free to use me djdan8923@hotmail.com as your referrer if you want to have a peak.

  4. Unfortunately, I have been a “vehicle aficionado” for our 35+ years of marriage. I have made some terrible decisions and paying off a vehicle was an anomaly (I have paid off one). I went from one to another and they were new not used. No more thanks to Dave Ramsey. That being said I never wanted an exotic car. I am extremely happy right now with 30 mpg Mitsubishi Outlander. Car of my dream? Paid off!!

  5. wbppsh7 Says:

    Dream-car-never-to-be-owned: Acura NSX.

    Car that I want so bad I can taste it and it is reliable, good looking and okay on gas mileage, AWD – oh, and safety ratings out the wa-zoo??!! Subaru Legacy. Sedan. 4-door. 5-speed. (That way I can still DRIVE the car, not just drive [b/c you know that is no fun]).


Leave a Reply

