Candid Chatter

Just Say It

It’s Over For Awhile October 15, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:12 am

My kids. God love ’em. They suck!

I’m just kidding. They don’t suck. I am head over heels for all of them — even the wee one who keeps me awake at night kicking my insides and lying on my bladder. Yep. They are awesome. No really, they are.

However…

We have come to the end of the road in taking them to restaurants. Maybe even out in public in general. Last week I took them to a cheap dinner at IHOP before my Bible study. This is a short-lived tradition I had started to treat them and keep from running ragged trying to figure out what to cook right before a 2 hour study. Yeah. That’s not gonna happen anymore. Guess they’ll survive on PBJ sandwiches for dinner once a week cuz they have done ruined Mom’s idea of a treat.

Today I met a friend of mine at Dunkin Donuts. It was just supposed to be me and the boy. Well the girl has a slight cold and I woke up late this morning so add those things together and I decided no school today. I didn’t think it would be a bad idea to take them both to the donut shop. Kids + Donuts should = FUN!

Wrong!

Kids + Donuts actually = hyper kids all sugar coked up inside a small and partially dirty donut shop climbing over booths and hanging from tables. Yep.

My hands are shaking just thinking about it.

Then Jeremy threw a rock at the window of the hair salon 2 doors down from DD.

Then Brianna kept saying she had to poop when I know darn well she did not. She pulls this “I have to poop” stunt every single time we go out in public. She has a fascination for public restrooms that I FAR from share. I refused to take her to the potty. Forget it chick — hold it till we get home.

My friend is great with kids and didn’t seem on edge even a little bit. I was about to spit nails though.

Yeah. We’re done. At least for a few years probably.

Look at the bright side though. At least they didn’t do this.

If they did I’d probably just get in my car and drive till I ran out of gas.

 

8 Responses to “It’s Over For Awhile”

  1. wbppsh7 Says:

    You know – it is amazing to me how differently kids can act in public. Mine – I would GLADLY take out to dinner every night if I could. She is distracted by everything/person however she will actually sit there and willingly gobble down her food. At home, she is distracted by everything and will eat NOTHING! haha

  2. Glad we are beyond that stage. Eat your heart out! Now all we have to do is listen/watch others fight with theirs. 🙂 Unless, of course, we have our grandson (who can do no wrong don’t you know?). But I gotta ask Heidi: is that picture of your two on another planet? It cracked me up but then again it wasn’t my children who are going to wonder how in the world they are supposed to sit down. 🙂

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Ali: They feed off of each other. Brianna is easy peezy when she’s by herself. She’s very obedient and well-mannered. Add her little brother who is 100% boy to the max and all hell breaks loose. I think the only place fit for my two is Chuck E. Cheese. Then they can go crazy and nobody cares — not even me.

    Bill: Those aren’t my kids in the picture. If they were mine you’d all be preparing for a funeral. I wouldn’t kill them, but I might just drive off a cliff by myself. Yeah. I think I would. LOL!

    Heidi

  4. Roxx Says:

    This is why God made Papa Murphy’s. Take and bake pizza. This cracked me up!

    xoxo,
    Roxx

  5. debateur Says:

    My daughter is good for about 45 minutes. Anything longer than that forget it. many times we end up getting part of our meal to go but at least something is better than nothing.

    Where did you get that picture ???

  6. daphne Says:

    yeah, we stopped eating out a while ago with children. Everyonce in a while we forget and warn and threaten and try again and we go back to take out right quick. Not sure what it is about eating in public that makes my girls act like monkeys.

  7. candidchatter Says:

    D: Google Images search “bad kids”.

    Heidi

  8. […] This post will make you laugh and this one will make you think.  Love the picture at the end of the first one. This is one of my newest links.  I like her writing and honesty. […]


Leave a Reply

