Candid Chatter

Just Say It

My Kind of Weather October 22, 2008

So I love summer. Darn good thing considering where I have chosen to live. Actually, that’s precisely why I love Florida so much — perpetual summer. But around this time of year I start missing Autumn. I miss that crisp air and the smell of it. I miss the leaves turning colors and wearing long sleeved flannel shirts. I miss bonfires and roasted marshmallows. I miss frost on the grass and the cold floor in my kitchen. I miss it for about a month and then I am back to fine in my tropical paradise. I have no affection for winter or spring. When I lived in that northern dreary town I would curse the winter and desire for spring to quickly dissolve into summer.

We are starting to cool off down here. From late October to about mid April I enjoy my Florida home the most. I especially enjoy it when I see the weather reports from around the country in January. While you northerners are bundling up and avoiding the outdoors we are spending time at the parks and having garage sales and picnics and festivals and evening strolls around our neighborhoods. It’s absolutely gorgeous in the winter down here.

You can tell me all day long how beautiful the snow is. My answer is “yeah, from your window”. It’s not beautiful piled up black and gray on the sides of the roads. It’s not beautiful when you’re trying like heck not to spin out or hit someone when you’re sliding uncontrollably through your neighborhood streets with your kids crying in the back seat while you grip the steering wheel in fear of injury to you or them or your vehicle. Snow is dangerous. Snow can knock out power lines. Snow is a nuisance.

You can tell me how pretty spring is with its budding trees and tulips and daffodils. Yeah. It is. But one day you’re hot, one day you’re cold, it rains and rains and rains and rains and [you get the picture]. No thanks.

Summer. I’m all about summer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This weekend I am going to start baking. I love to make homemade pumpkin pies and apple pies. Yumalicious. I’ve already asked my Mom for a few “comfort food” recipes to make for dinner. I can hardly wait. I am finally, after 3 years, not hosting the holidays at our house so I get to just relax and enjoy them this year. What a relief! Shopping will begin soon for Christmas. I like to start and finish early. I can’t stand the crowds. I’d rather spend an extra couple of dollars on something rather than have to fight my way through angry and broke shoppers after Thanksgiving. Not to mention trying to find a parking spot at the mall. Jeepers!!

I am looking forward to the holidays this year. I can’t wait to drive through our snowless neighborhoods singing Christmas carrols and looking at the pretty lights and decorations. I am excited to put up our tree and decorate at our new house. I feel like a kid all over again.

Are you getting bitten
by the holiday bug yet?
What’s your favorite
season of the year?

 

11 Responses to “My Kind of Weather”

  1. wbppsh7 Says:

    Favorite season: summer (even with all the northern humidity). Holiday bug: Well we had it for a bit and now we have kind of lost it. But in a good way. At the end of this month we will hopefully have figured out what we are trying to get everyone and go for it! Actually I really need to wrap some gifts for Regan that are on the floor in my closet – she is NOSEY – just like her Daddy!!

  2. Heidi: I love the summer! I like riding my bike when it is hot and I am sweating. It is also easier on the joints of this old man! πŸ™‚ I dread the onset of Fall because it means summer is ending and winter is coming. I look forward to Spring because it means summer is coming. Can you tell I like summer?? So…I’m with you.

    As for the baking: I’ll take blueberry. I don’t like pumpkin at all and I like apple if it doesn’t have that nasty cinnamon stuff. But blueberry. As Rachel says, “Yum-O.” (my bride watches her and I get caught in the crossfire). So bake a blueberry for me and if they don’t eat it send it north. πŸ™‚

  3. I also forgot to say: I love Christmas time. It is even more fun now that I have a 2 year old grandson.

  4. Christmas is only 63 days away…

    But, who’s counting…

  5. tonyyork Says:

    I am a summer boy stuck in the dreariness of Ohio. About this time of year, I start thinking about ways to survive another long 6 months of bluckieness.

    Yeah, I think I would rather live someplace that, if I chose, I could go and visit the snow instead of having to plan mid-winter get-a-ways to visit the sun.

    On the other hand, I was in Florida once during the Christmas season and it just felt weird to see decorations up and people walking around in shorts. “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas” just didn’t make sense there.

    But, I think I would be willing to try to get used to it. πŸ™‚

  6. candidchatter Says:

    Bill: You would LOOOVE my apple pie. My dad has told me those two pies (pumpkin/apple) that I make are the best he’s ever tasted. My sister’s father-in-law told me the same thing. I get accolades every time I make them and they have become family staples down here during the holidays. If I don’t bake them I hear people whine. LOL! I don’t have a blueberry pie recipe. Guess your beautiful wife will have to make that one for you. As for me, I’ll have a piece of apple pie a la mode for you over the weekend. Yum-O!! And all holidays are MUCH better when you have little ones around. They make it awesome all over again, don’t they. πŸ™‚

    Steve: Wow — and less than 3 weeks after that my baby will be here. Excuse me while I go vomit. LOL!!

    Tony: I hate Ohio in the winter. H-A-T-E it and I will never ever live there again for as long as I’m alive. It does wicked things to me to be without sunshine for months on end. I get all dysfunctional and bitter. I can imagine if hell was cold that’s what it would be like. Blah!! I thought Christmas looked weird down here too for the first couple of years. But it’s so much better to be warm than cold and I finally got used to it. I don’t miss a “white Christmas” and seriously when is Christmas white in Ohio anymore anyway? It’s gray!! I hope you get away this year to some sun and fun.

    Heidi

  7. Heidi…you’ve got to learn to speak you mind, form an opinion, and learn how to write about it.

    I’m afraid your timidness isn’t very becoming!

    πŸ™‚

  8. So Heidi…tell us how you really feel about Ohio!! πŸ™‚ I have lived in Ohio for much of my adult life. I now live in Indiana. Same thing pretty much. Only here it is so hilly I have to hang the bike during the months of January and February. Can’t breathe the bitter cold into my lungs. Then I long for Florida.

  9. candidchatter Says:

    LOL!!!

    HR

  10. mommato3blessings Says:

    Heidi, I hate to say it sweets, but I really and truly do LOVE the snow! I don’t particularly enjoy driving in it, and I hate that Eric has such a long commute in the winter….and yes, it is UGLY alongside the road where the plows have pushed it into black cinder-filled piles. But one of my favorite things is sitting in my cozy house by the fire, sipping hot cocoa, watching the snowflakes fly. I am so excited for it this year! And I am a Christmas fanatic as well. I could sit for hours staring at the lights on the tree….
    Now I just wish it were possible to be snowy and about 75*~ that would ROCK!!!!

  11. candidchatter Says:

    Mel: You are a weirdo. Just teasing. I know you are a winter lover. I could gaze at the lights on the tree for hours too. There is something about it. When I was a kid I would do that — just sit near the tree and play with my dolls with all the lights off except the ones on the tree. It’s relaxing. Guess not much has changed either. Except now the dolls are alive and they get all dreamy cozy next to the Christmas tree too. πŸ™‚

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

