Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Crap News October 23, 2008

Tuesday I had to do my second glucose test. I drank the funky drink and an hour later they drew blood. I felt weird after drinking it, but I felt that way last time (a few weeks ago). I got the dreaded call. The nurse said in her nicey nice, sing-song voice that “we’d really like to see your number below 140, but it was 152”. That means I have to go off to the lab for the 3 hour glucose test. Like I have time for that.

I declined the HIV blood test this time. I figure since I passed it with the other 2 kids and they all have the same dad there is no need to repeat that one. I know I’m negative.

I also declined the cystic fibrosis test. Again, same dad for all three kids and the last two times I took it I was negative for the gene or whatever they are looking for.

My OB appointments will be every 2 weeks for now. If I test positive for gestational diabetes (and it’s not looking good for me), then I will also have non-stress tests every week right around the holidays. Doesn’t that sound like a boat load of fantastic fun? I know you’re all green with envy now because trying to find a babysitter for 2 doctor’s appointments a week every other week while juggling a preschooler’s schedule is so easy and having to abstain from any sweets during Christmas and New Years is easy peezy. Yep. You. Wish. You. Were. Me. I can tell.

I will survive and I know all of this is in the best interest of my baby. I understand why they operate in this fashion and I will submit to their testing and such. As a matter of fact, if it wasn’t for non-stress tests once a week I would not have known I was in labor with Jeremy and things would have been a lot more complicated and stressful the day he was born. I’m sure several hours later I would have figured it out, but by then I would have been home alone with a 19 month old and 40 minutes from the hospital with a husband almost an hour and a half from home. I imagine an ambulance would have needed to be involved as well as a mad rush from the in-laws to come be with my little girl. I imagine Rich would not have made it to the hospital in time to see Jeremy’s birth. I imagine it would have been a horrible few hours.

So crappy news on the diabetes thing. But I’ll be fine. Just don’t slurp too loudly as you indulge in your sweet treats this holiday season. I might just reach through the wires and slap your face off. LOL!

 

11 Responses to “Crap News”

  1. Heidi: I will keep drinking my Diet Dr. Pepper since it won’t cause you any harm. However, you are asking a lot for me to give up my ice cream at night and the chocolate covered pretzels. Least you don’t have to worry about that blueberry pie. 🙂 Prayers for a good rest of the pregnancy were just said.

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Bill: Thanks for the prayers. That is sweet of you. 🙂

    Heidi

  3. I don’t want to hear complaining from either of you!

    I had a heart attack last Monday…and for the rest of my life chocolate is off-limits, so are most sweets and red meat…

    Heidi, once you plop that baby out, you’ll be back to normal in no time…I think mine is a lifetime curse! So, get over yourself!

    Do you feel bad yet? Did I make you realize how good you have it compared to others?

    Or, was that you cussing under your breath at me?

    Don’t answer that…

    Tests are good and hopefully will keep you on track for the third most perfect child in the world!

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: I know. I will be back to my normal everything by the time this one is a year old and then no more preggers for me. You probably have to watch that salt too, huh? That would be worse for me than avoiding sweets. I pray for you, dear.

    Heidi

  5. wbppsh7 Says:

    Sorry to hear about the phone call, but were you surprised? I mean again, same father, 2 other children….. Granted I know that things can be different for each pregnancy, but were you surprised??

    I’m with you though – Still sucks. However I do have to give props to M. Steve for putting it in perspective too 😉

    Love ya!

  6. candidchatter Says:

    Ali: No I wasn’t surprised. I had a shred of hope though since the last test was 111. Blah!!

  7. Salt…what’s that? Oh, a distant memory…I don’t mind the salt or sweets, to be very honest with you…what bothers me the most is knowing that I was exercising faithfully, eating good, no history of high blood pressure, cholestrol of 125, and still had a heart attack…go figure…

    Now, if I smoked a dozen packs a day, weighed 450 lbs, had bp of 190/125, I could understand…

  8. Cynthia Says:

    I had gestational diabetes too. It’s not fun, but I didn’t have to endure Christmas with it. That would have been tough. Hang in there!!!

  9. Ali Says:

    So really this next test will be the yes/no set-in-stone-answer?! Well, there is still a little room for hope. GL, I hope that it goes well.

  10. candidchatter Says:

    Ali: Right. The 3 hour glucose test is the final answer. And I cannot cheat it either — I have to be fasting and they won’t let me leave (to sneak in some protein or fiber or to exercise — all of which would bring down the blood sugar levels and possibly render a false reading). [sigh] I told Rich last night that I will tell my docs the truth — on Thanksgiving and Christmas I will eat whatever the heck I want and be good the rest of the time. I doubt 2 days will make or break anything.

    Heidi

  11. Kendall Says:

    I’ll grizzle right along with you! I’m 28 weeks pregnant with my 4th bub and found out last week that I have GD. I didn’t have it with my first three. I’m trying to get my head around it all and research what I can eat. I’m off to the hospital on Wednesday (29th) for a looong afternoon (with 3yo, 4yo and 6yo in tow) of meeting with different people. I will also need to endure Christmas and camping with GD. So it’s *fun* days ahead for me too!


Leave a Reply

