Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Random Acts of Selfishness October 25, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:41 am

Revisited: I wrote this back on May 28th. Have a great weekend. Thanks again for visiting Candid Chatter.

Ha ha! I am noticing that the older my children get the more moments I can find to be selfish. Obviously this will change soon and I’ll be back into 100% give mode. But until then, I thought I would give you a glimpse into my Random Acts of Selfishness.

  • Taking a longer than usual shower for extra peace and quiet.
  • Eating the sweet treats at night after they are in bed so I don’t have to share.
  • Giving them baths at night so I can get a hot shower in the morning.
  • Dozing on the couch for 30 minutes while they watch their favorite TV show and eat a snack.
  • Letting them play longer outside so I can sit on the porch swing and relax. If I am into a book this is when I read.
  • Thoroughly enjoying my 2 hour afternoon naps because Brianna has no interest in giving up nap time and I am not pushing it. They are both still on the same nap schedule and it is good. It is very good.
  • Telling them the mall is so much fun and letting them ride all the 50 cent rides so I can shop with relative enjoyment. Bribery does work!

I didn’t realize until I had Brianna what a selfish person I had been. Daily I battled over who got the most of me. She always won! Still does for the most part. But there are times when I get to breathe a little and revert back to all about Heidi and it is really, really nice. I have had to sacrifice a lot of myself for my family over the past several years. That will probably never end. And it’s ok with me. But I celebrate the little moments I steal back and make my own. One can get lost in motherhood. For the most part, it’s wonderful. But there are times when the phone is ringing, the kids are crying, the TV is under my skin, the house is a mess, there is nothing for dinner, Rich has been inundated so much with work that he hasn’t even said “hello” and it’s 3:00 in the afternoon, the laundry is to the ceiling, the sheets need cleaned, and the garbage needs taken out to the curb when I am ready to walk out the door and just keep going.

Random Acts of Selfishness calms me and sometimes makes me giggle. Neener Neener Neener, It’s All About Me for 5 Minutes. :)~

Have a great night! Thanks for stopping in. Leave a comment next time you’re around.

 

6 Responses to “Random Acts of Selfishness”

  1. Tausha Says:

    ok-i think that you deserve a little bit of selfishness. You have been going through every emotion on the planet so you deserve it. Hope that things go well. I am praying for y0u, thinking about you and worried about you. I wish that i could tell you a secret that would allow you to trust Him, the only thing that I can come up with is-you have a body with all the parts that allow you to get pregnant-but-if your are not ready, emotionally, spiritaullly, physically, you wont. But that does not mean that you never will. He know you, your pain, your stress how much you are hurting-he knows-bur you have got to trust Him that he knows. It will be better when you do. You will not have as much stress, as much worry as much fear. You will do better, be better.
    I hope that i have not overstepped my bounds, and made you angry or anything. I am just concerned about you and the words that you used to explain how you feel. I know that technically I am a total stranger, but sometimes, we are the best ones to help. So-take a deap breath and rely on my faith in knowing that you can trust-he does care and he does love and he understands. Again-don’t hate me, just worried and expressing it. Please, have a good day, take a deap breath ans say a prayer.

  2. Kat Says:

    I just bopped over from Careysue’s blog and this is really cute! Is it wrong that I do ALL of those things on a daily basis. That blessed nap is the best part of my day. Question: If I love my kids so much why do I SO look forward to them sleeping?? Just a thought. 🙂

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Tausha: Thanks girl. I’m not mad. Still worried, but the trust is growing off and on. I am still hopeful since I still have all of my pregnancy symptoms. I lost them all about 4 days before I found out I lost the last baby. So I am really relying on feeling crappy now.

    Kat: You’re so cute. Thanks for stopping in. I take a nap daily too. Love it!! Oh and LOL about your “thought”. I know!!!

    Heidi

  4. Mel Says:

    Is it wrong that I am giddy with excitement that J&A only have 2 more days of school- and then they will be home ALL summer to help with Ellie? They’re big enough now that they can completely care for her (for some odd reason, Ashl likes changing diapers?!?!?) so I can have an “off” day if I want- just sitting at the computer or reading for an entire afternoon! I am BAD! In my defense, they adore doing this and I pay them a little too- which they also love. It’s not like I am leaving them home alone or anything! (yes, I am defending myself out of guilt!!! HEE HEE HEE!)
    Anyway, I celebrate those moments too. Why the heck not?!?! 🙂
    Mel

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Nap time.

    Just thought I’d rub it in.

    See you in 2 hours!

    Heidi 😮

  6. debateur Says:

    If that makes you selfish then I guess I get to join the camp too ! I put my daughter to bed 30 minutes before she would like it so that I can get my bubble bath in peace !


Leave a Reply

