Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Roll Call November 15, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 4:52 am

It might be a bad idea doing this on a weekend, but that’s the way it goes I suppose. Maybe I’ll connect back to it later next week too. Anyway, I’ve been thinking about this for awhile. So…

Who are you?

There are a lot of blogs over there on the right. However, if you are a reader and your blog is not there please let me know. Esp if you’re a reader with a blog and you’ve linked to mine and I had no clue. I’ll give you some link love.

Here is a breakdown of those blogs you see shining over there in fabulous land.

  • Family: Bliss Family Blog, Confessions of a CF Husband, Growing up Garcia, Roxanne Kristina, The Batts Cave, The Hoyt’s House, This Mom’s World
  • Thought provoking: All Toes in the Water, Between My Ears, Big Ear Creations, CycleGuy’s Spin, Deadly Viper, Debateur Debates, Heard God Speak, Quiet Utterings
  • Fun and Funny: Ali’s Meanderings, Awkward Moments, iServe, MercyMe, Ragamuffin Soul, Run’n Like a Vagabond
  • Making a Difference: Calvary Chapel Women’s, Flowerdust, 6YearMed, Without Wax
  • Introspective: God Me and Poker, I Was Just Thinking…, Jaymi’s Weblog, That’s What I’m Talkin Bout Baby
  • Talent: Life Song Photography

Most of these blogs could fit into more than one category. In other words, the funny ones aren’t always funny — sometimes they are introspective or thought provoking. The ones “Making a Difference” are sometimes quite funny. And so on.

Let’s show our love for one another. If you read mine and you like it, add me to your blogroll. Let me know you’ve done that so I can also link to yours. Then we will heart each other. It’s that easy.

Link Love — it’s a beautiful thing!
linklove

So who are you?

 

27 Responses to “Roll Call”

  1. debateur Says:

    Thanks for mentioning my blog today. I’m flattered. Sorry i haven’t been around. I have a repetitive strain injury and have had to take a break from the computer. I’ll definately add your link to my site. Love your blog !

  2. candidchatter Says:

    D: Thanks for the “love”. Sorry about your injury. Glad you’re feeling better enough to come back online though. See you either here or on your site soon.

    Heidi

  3. Joe Blackmon Says:

    I am honored that you think anything I’ve written is “thought provoking”. I appreciate the link.

  4. Joe Blackmon Says:

    Oh, and as to your question “Who are you?”

    I am
    *an accountant living in Tennessee.
    *Married with two kids.
    *A huge Crimson Tide Fan (Roll Tide Roll).
    *A sinner saved by grace and called by God to teach His word (an honor for which I am DAILY humbled).

  5. Ivan Says:

    Dear Heidi

    You are on my blogroll. I find reading a blog by an um ordinary practicing Christian (? sorry don’t know the right words) stops my project getting too academic and intellectual.

    I’ve been neglecting my blog for a week or so, but I hope to refocus and keep at it properly from this week.

    I am a 42yr old male, married w son (8), software developer, looking into the message of the New Testament.

    Ivan

  6. Ivan Says:

    p.s. should I say I ♥ your blog? Well I do.

  7. Jason Says:

    Hi, my name is Jason, I’m a gemini, I love to cook, long walks on the beach and puppies. One of the reasons I love your blog is because you are just in your face and I think that is ab fab.
    Seriously, your blog is great and I really hate walking, everything else is true.

  8. candidchatter Says:

    Ivan: You have to give me your site address since your URL isn’t working when I click on it. I’ll add you to the roll once I get your info. My husband is a software developer too. What’s your language(s)?

    Jason: You have this sense of humor that makes me think we were actually meant to be related. Thanks for the compliments.

    Ok – I am
    ~ A 35 year old housewife with an attitude problem, but it gets me through
    ~ A mother of 2, soon to be 3
    ~ A wife who can cook and clean (but I can’t sew)
    ~ A daughter, a sister, a friend, a dreamer, a future missionary
    ~ A Christian who likes it real
    ~ A knock out
    ~ LOL – ok that last one is just how I tell my husband to describe me

    What else? There are so many sides to me. Hmmm? Anyway, that was fun.

    Heidi

  9. I suppose most of your sides are round right now? Right? I saw your picture last week, nice and pregno…

  10. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: Uh yeah – thanks for the reminder – what a pal! 😉

    Heidi

  11. wbppsh7 Says:

    Well glad I checked in. Thanks for the link love! I’m Ali of Ali’s Meanderings. As of Thursday this past week, I’m a mother of 1, wife and daughter. I’m a full time student (as of Tuesday this coming week – Heidi, go read when you have time). 1 cat (Pocket). And ex swimmer and I think that I really like Joe Blackmon for one reason alone so far – HOLY COW!!! Roll tide fan?!?!!?! Why didn’t you say so earlier?? I went for 2 years – Love me some Tide!!!!!

    Anyway, I have a more serious blog – however it is still private at this point! So thanks Heidi for being here with the “hard” stuff!

  12. Jason Says:

    How can I forget…..ROLL TIDE!!!!

  13. Joe Blackmon Says:

    Ali

    Hey, I didn’t actually go. I decided to go somewhere that didn’t have a marching band. I was a music major. Haa. I wish now I had. Coulda had a free ride to the 92 Sugar Bowl. Oh well. I am loving how well they’re playing now. Looking forward to the Iron Bowl. Wooohoo!!

  14. Ivan Says:

    Dear Heidi

    My url is http://acts1723.wordpress.com

    The language I most use and love is Python, though I’ve dabbled professionally in many, including the big beasts C and C++. I have an irrational desire to use C++ properly. I write everything from MS Office gluecode to serious algorithms and audio signal processing. … wait, it’s not TMI Tuesday yet!

    Ivan

  15. candidchatter Says:

    Ivan: Rich comes from a Visual FoxPro background (which he said is becoming quickly outdated). He just finished a short-term contract for a California based soccer fantasy sports site that was in Python. His new job is in DotNet. He has done the “C” languages too. I never realized how many different languages there are in programming. Anyway, he’s the computer genius around here. I just know what the languages are called — I can’t understand a lick of what he actually does, but it looks unbelievably complicated. He doesn’t try to explain any of it anymore (LOL). He just shows me what it looks like when he’s done with it — I like fancy buttons and pretty graphics — and he knows I can understand “pretty” and “neat”. LOL!! I’ll add your link right now.

    Heidi

  16. Lorna Says:

    Heidi,
    I’m Lorna and I’ve been reading your blog for about a month or so. I found you through my friend bub (God, me and poker) who links to you. I’m 44, married with one son 23, one daughter 13 and a 23 year old stepson. I blog a little, but mostly love reading other fabulous blogs such as yours. I enjoy your transparency and your truthfullness. 🙂

  17. Ivan Says:

    Dear Heidi

    Thanks for the link: my hits are already going through the roof.

    I should find out how Rich explains his work to you: my wife is not impressed at all and tells me it’s just a matter of being tidy and organised (she does appreciate me in other ways).

    Ivan

  18. candidchatter Says:

    Ivan: It’s the end result. When he shows me a page on his company’s site that he’s done I am impressed by all the bells and whistles. I highly respect his line of work because for 2 years he worked from home and I got to see him in action. It is not an easy job and he works his butt off regularly. Project deadlines and such. Code that would make him burn through a pack of cigarettes in about 4 hours because he kept running into problems. Lots of late night phone calls from the boss. Stressful at times. Easy peezy other times. He survived 3 mergers in one year — so there was always that looming thought of “will I have a job next month”. I think if I hadn’t seen how hard he works I might not be in awe of what he does. It works both ways too — he has high respect for what I do too (a stay-at-home mom) because he has seen what it entails now. Not easy and no pay and no sick time and no vacation and such. So that’s why. I may not know what he does, but I do know how hard he works. 🙂

    Heidi

  19. candidchatter Says:

    Lorna: I’ll add your link right now. Thanks for coming to my blog, girlie. Thanks for the compliments too — they make me feel good and uncomfortable all at once. 🙂

    Heidi

  20. Lorna Says:

    I make you feel uncomfortable? Geez, I never meant to come across that way. I need to look into that. Is is my horrible spelling and grammar or something I said? I’m sorry for whatever it was that made you uncomfortable. 😦

  21. Will_nottheactor Says:

    Thanks for the link-love, Heidi.

    I’d like to think of my blog as the poster child for Multiple Personalities Disorder – fiting into most of the categories you listed in some way or another (**risting urge to make a joke about MPD**).

    I love the straight-shooting, no-hold-bared, “it’s my thought, you don’t have to like it” attitude you bring, as well as your perspectives on a plethora of topics, based upon your personal experiences (try using THAT word in a sentence every day for a week!). We all have a story to tell, and when we live vicariuosly thorugh yours, we realize our lives might not be so bad after all! 😉

  22. Lauren Says:

    Thanks for the link love Heidi!

    My little blog is This Mom’s World. I hope to use it as a way to put down the day to day craziness of what’s going on in my life right now. I have 4 beautiful babies..6yo, 4yo, 2yo and 1yo (I hope to have 4 more)! I am trying to make a bit of a difference in my little town. My motto is “If you don’t like something…change it!”, followed by “If you don’t put your time into changing something you don’t like, you lose the right to complain.” So I do my best to volunteer and try to get our town the things it needs. Right now I am working on a Center for the Arts, a grocery store, restaurant for the town. As well as many other small changes to get more community involvment. Life is good! Busy, but good!

  23. candidchatter Says:

    Lorna: “Uncomfortable” with receiving compliments. It makes me shy. I’m not uncomfortable with you. You’re a lovely person as far as I can tell. Sorry that came across wrong. Hard to convey meaning sometimes on a computer screen. 😉

    HR

  24. candidchatter Says:

    I just want everyone to recognize a Super Mom when you meet one. Her name is Lauren and she just commented.

    Hi Lauren. Love you girlie!! Great job in the community. You have such cute kids!!

    Heidi

  25. bub Says:

    Sorry I got here so late, I’m working two jobs right now so I have limited time to read MY favorite blogs, you being included. I’ll vouch for Lorna, she is a lovely person and since we grew up together in the same small town I know she is a fine upstanding citizen (cough…giggle) just like me. Just wanted to say hi because I haven’t in awhile, still lurking and reading, bub

  26. candidchatter Says:

    Bub: My husband is working 2 jobs too. It’s trying. I understand. Glad you like my blog enough to fit me in. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and for reading. See ya soon!

    Heidi

  27. wbppsh7 Says:

    Joe: ’92 was sweet – I was there then! They are kickin’ butt this year!!! I also love music- just not a music major. Played cello in HS though! Swam there! Glad to meet you!

    Jason: ROOOOOOLLLLLL TIDE ROLL!!!!


Leave a Reply

