Candid Chatter

Just Say It

One More Reason November 16, 2008

One more reason
why I love living in Florida

061211-shuttle-photo

I get to watch Space Shuttles take off
from my back yard!!

Awesome!!!

Photo courtesy of Google Images
That is not Endeavour
and that is not my back yard
Just to be clear
[wink]

 

13 Responses to “One More Reason”

  1. Lorna Says:

    See I always wondered why a pregnant woman could be up so early in the morning posting blogs….being that you are in Florida and me on the west coast explains it. Beautiful pic btw….where ever it’s from. lol πŸ˜‰

  2. debateur Says:

    That’s beautiful.

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Lorna: I schedule my posts. I don’t usually write them and then hit post right away. For example, this post was actually written around 10:00 Friday night. πŸ™‚

    Heidi

  4. So…let’s see…this wasn’t Endeavor…and this wasn’t your back yard…are you sure it is even Florida? The space shuttle? Is the photo really from google?

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: It’s Discovery, that’s another part of Florida, and my name isn’t really Heidi, and Al Gore created Google.

    Alright — it’s all true except the last two.

    HR

  6. HA!!!!

    Too funny Heidi…if that’s who you really are…has it been all an elaborate hoax?

  7. Ruthie Says:

    My parents were on the river in Titusville watching the launch. I remember when I was growing up all the dishes in the kitchen would rattle when shots would not off.

    I hated living so close to the cape because all company wanted to go visit Cape Kennedy Space Center.

  8. candidchatter Says:

    Ruthie: I am on the Treasure Coast. We saw the orange ball of fire streaking across the night sky. It was so awesome. I hear the sonic booms when they reenter the atmosphere. The first time it happened it freaked me out so badly I ran outside to see whose house had just exploded. LOL!! My husband asked me what the heck I was doing and I said “I swear a bomb just went off”. He laughed (Florida native) and told me it was the shuttle reentering the atmosphere. I was amazed — totally amazed and in awe and just excited to be living where I live. So I called my dad Friday night and asked him if he was watching the space shuttle on the news (he’s in Ohio) and he said “yeah, are you”. I said “no I’m watching it FROM MY BACK YARD!!!” He got almost as excited as I did. It was fun!! Anyway, I want to go to the space center one day but would rather do it when the kids are much older. Are you still in FL?

    Heidi

  9. jimmy paravane Says:

    Heidi! My wife and I were in yer state for lunch the other day! I don’t know where I got the idea you were up north somewhere. I was up watching TV when they announced the shuttle launch and I ran out on the balcony of our Condo to see If I could see anything. Orange Beach, AL. must be a little too far north. (grin)

  10. candidchatter Says:

    Jimmy: I’m from Ohio. That might be why. I don’t know where Orange Beach is — will have to Mapquest it. We saw the orange fireball streaking thru the air, then we saw the whatever they’re called fall off the shuttle (the engines?), and then just a white light like a star going up/up/up. It was so awesome!! So how is it that you meet for lunch in FL? You must be rolling in dough.

    Heidi

  11. Will "not the actor" Smith Says:

    We usually see them re-enter over Texas (good photos), including the 2003 Columbia disaster (FYI, “WFAA” on the Columbia pic is the local ABC affiliate).

  12. jimmy paravane Says:

    Definitely not rolling in dough. My wife has terminal dementia, and the last thing she wanted to do for a vacation while she can still think clearly is a vacation at the beach. While the gulf wasn’t her first choice, we’ve been to Orange Beach, AL before (near Pensacola, FL.), and familiarity is an important thing in her condition. There’s a nice Mexican Restaurant on Perdido Key Drive on the Florida side of the condo strip between Gulf Shores, AL and Pensacola. So we got to visit a blue state while we were down there. (sorry, couldn’t help pulling yer leg about that one. grin)

  13. candidchatter Says:

    Jimmy: I’m so very sorry to read about your wife’s condition. I lost my maternal grandmother last year to a kidney condition — before she died she had dementia due to some antibiotic they gave her 6 months prior which saved her life. My husband’s grandfather died several years ago and before he went to meet the Lord he had dementia too. I understand in an outsider sort of way what that entails and I am deeply sorry you two are suffering through that. Hugs and stuff and I’ll keep you in my “thoughts” πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

