Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Motrin Ad November 19, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:58 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Does this make you mad?
It’s only 47 seconds long so watch it.

It has outraged quite a few Mommies.
I first saw it on Debateur Debates.

Motrin has a short letter on their website apologizing
and assuring women that the ad has been removed.

So what do you think?

 

8 Responses to “Motrin Ad”

  1. Heidi…you just don’t get it! The beginning of the commerical says it all: “What about me?”

    It’s all about me…not the baby…not what is best for the baby…not what causes bonding…it’s all about me!

  2. As a mom who had a really hard time conceiving and then worked with two major world power governments to bring my daughter home, it would have been hard for me to get into this. I kind of see how and where they were trying to be funny, but the bonding topic and caring for kids is really not a topic to be messed with. Especially when the world is broken with hurting and homeless kids. The beat and cadance had possibility, but topic should be kept sacred.

    Thanks for the sweet comments. I’ve been buzzed since Denene got Emma. I can’t even believe how great God is. I can, but you know what I mean. 🙂

    xoxox!!!
    R

  3. Rick Says:

    I wasn’t offended, but I’m a guy. I was waiting for something horrible, but I didn’t see it.

    I didn’t think they were making “light” of anything. I thought it would have been appealing to women, as it was trying to show that they really did understand.

  4. Rick…we are men…we can’t understand…don’t you know that by now? 🙂

  5. Cynthia Says:

    It doesn’t bother me. I don’t think the intent was to belittle anyone.

    People are just too sensitive. Let’s face it there are aches and pains associated with pregnancy and motherhood. If you need to take something to ease that pain…..why not?

  6. Will_nottheactor Says:

    I agree with Rick and Cynthia – they were recognizing the fact that there are many new fads about carrying around babies, they acknowledged we put up with a lot for the kiddos, carrying kids can be painful, and oh by the way, we have a nice anti-inflamatory pain-reducing pill that can help you with that.

    Come on people, there are mugh bigger issues to get concerned about… Come on! They can’t cancel My Own Worst Enemy!!!

  7. candidchatter Says:

    With all of my kids I have suffered back pain while pregnant. In fact, I’ve been almost unable to walk for 3 days now because of my lower back. A couple of months ago I suffered from sciatica. Let’s hope that doesn’t return at any point in the late part of this pregnancy. Once the babes are born, I get the worst pain in between my shoulder blades for weeks from carrying the baby around all the time. As I come off of pain meds from surgery, I switch to about 800 mg of Motrin. I could not survive without that stuff. Babies are a pain in the back — literally — for a lot of women like me.

    I can see why someone would not like the selfish references (what about me) and so on. When you have an infant it ceases being about you that instant. You are no longer allowed to be self-centered. It is a HUGE wake up call. Huge! But, at the same time, an unhappy mom in pain is also a recipe for an emotional disaster at a very unstable time in a woman’s life (new mom, postpartum, hormonal, freaked out, worried, sleep deprived, etc.).

    Essentially, I think Motrin could have treated the subject more sensitively rather than like a frank discussion about birth control or menstrual cramps. If they had highlighted women bonding with their precious babies wearing slings or whatnot then I think there would not have been an issue whatsoever — if they had made it beautiful rather than making seem like a nuisance or a passing fad to “wear your baby”.

    The naturalist moms are the ones I would think would tend to be all upset over this. The ones who are all gung-ho into “attachment parenting”. They are Nazis when it comes to stuff like this. They are the ones who do sit-ins in stores who don’t allow women the freedom to breastfeed in public. They are militant.

    My 2 cents. Now off to find something to ease my lower back. Grrrr!!

    heidi

  8. Will_nottheactor Says:

    **Note to self**
    Self, when Steve has responded to a post, read his comments three times to let that good advice sink in before blazing down the “what’s the big deal” trail.
    **end note to self**


Leave a Reply

