Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Listen Here Tussy Cat December 7, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:10 am

My kids crack me up daily. Even if we’ve had “naughty” day. Like yesterday. They were horrible. I didn’t want to be around them for long. Something they ate probably. I don’t know. But I was over my limit.

I think I’ve mentioned before that my sweet misinformed husband introduced them to Tom & Jerry while I was in Ohio back in June. They looooove that show. Me? Not so much. Yes, I loved it when I was a kid. But when I was a kid it came on exactly once a week and sometimes it was a rerun. With today’s technology (satellite and DVR) we can watch Tom & Jerry any time of day 100 times a day if we want to. So we have three Tom & Jerry episodes saved in the TV.

Last week I had a “discomfort day” and I allowed the kids to watch a lot of TV just so I could sit down and try not to move much. It’s my hips right now. At the end of pregnancy, women’s bodies release a hormone that causes all of our joints to loosen up. It is God’s awesome way of tweeking us so we’re ready to push an 8 pound baby out of our bodies. Our pelvic bones need to be able to spread without breaking. Little does my body know that it doesn’t need to do this. I wish I could push a button that stopped the process.

Anyway, I let them watch all 3 episodes of Tom & Jerry plus a lot of Wow Wow Wubbzy and a few Yo Gabba Gabba. They were in TV heaven. I was in Mommy heaven just lying around relaxing.

My 2 year old son, who is a genius, has a knack for memorizing things. He sings along with me in the car because he has memorized a few of the songs on the radio. I’ve also noticed that he memorizes lines from his favorite cartoons. Not just the words, but the actions too. He is incredible.

This morning, as we laid in bed cuddling and snuggling, he reached across the bed, grabbed a fistful of my nightgown at the collar, put his face inches from mine, wrinkled his brow and said in his meanest voice…

“Listen here Tussy Cat. You stay away from my Cousin. If I see you [couldn’t understand about 3 words], I’ll beat it!”

Then he punched me in the arm.

If I hadn’t been laughing so hard I probably would have had to address the whole punching thing at the end.

Tussy Cat

So what did I do? I told him to do it again. I wanted to laugh some more and hear his “angry, mean” voice. I should see if I can get this on video.

I don’t think I want him to watch Tom & Jerry so much anymore. I really don’t — at least not until he’s older and can handle the violence. But I have to admit that whole act made me laugh my butt off.

Kids are awesome.

tom-and-jerry

 

5 Responses to “Listen Here Tussy Cat”

  1. Looks like you need to rush to the grocery store for milk, bread, and bananas…it’s beginning to snow on your blog…

    I bet Tom did it…

  2. Ivan Says:

    I have a suspicion that I will be receiving a Tom & Jerry DVD for Christmas.

    ps: I love your snow!

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Isn’t that snow cool? That’s the only snow I’ll get this year… and I’m grateful for that!

    🙂

    Heidi
    who loves Florida winters!

  4. debateur Says:

    That’s about the only place I like snow is on either TV or a Christmas tree.

    Oh no about Tom and Gerry.

  5. Ivan Says:

    I could certainly handle a Florida winter or two, but snow in the back garden for making snowmen (usually snowdinosaurs here) is nice too. At the mo we have the worst of both worlds: the mountains behind us are covered in snow but our garden is green. Our son is furiously frustrated, every morning looks up to the sky wth longing.


Leave a Reply

