Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Binge December 15, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 1:13 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Ready. Set. Go!!!

That is how I feel I could start out with this. Fork in my right hand. Knife in my left hand. Cake sitting before me all glorious smelling and sweet chocolate wonderfulness.

I can’t take eating sticks, bark, dirt, and grass any longer. I am going to my doctor tomorrow to BEG for insulin. I am hungry. It’s the holidays. I want some freakin’ eggnog and cake and cookies and pie and potatoes and a pumpkin spice latte or a white chocolate peppermint mocha latte. I am LOSING it folks!!

Losing.
It.

I won’t make it. Not without lying about my glucose numbers. Truthfully, I’ve already fudged on a few. Glucose meter says 135, I write down 119.

I’m sick of it.
Sooo sick of it.

Gimme cake. Gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme some freakin’ cake!!

chocolatecake

If the cake appears to be topped
with pieces of curled up bark
then it’s ok to eat it.
No, really, it is.
Now. Gimme cake!!

 

11 Responses to “Binge”

  1. Joe Blackmon Says:

    Well I hope the doctor is more generous than most I know of because my wife’s OB would have been like “Ummm, I don’t think so.” Maybe you could just do the Jedi mind trick from Star Wars? That would have about as much of a chance of working. Haa

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Joe: You are a bubble bursting meanie. πŸ˜‰

    Heidi

  3. i want to be the one to tell you “Go for it!” but then I don’t want the guilt of giving you permission for getting off the wagon. I want you to be and have a healthy baby boy (with the name I gave). Plus I am not the one with the gestational diabetes so that is unfair for me to say that. So I will simply say…”I will eat some chocolate and while I am doing so will think of you.” Will that work? Praying for you. πŸ™‚

  4. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    Knife? Who that’s a perfectly good waste of a fork-grabbing hand!

    And that “bark” is just the foodie way to decorate with shaved chocolate (take a cheese slicer over a block of chocolate and voila! Bark!). So yes, perfectly good to eat…

    only AFTER the OB says ok – little ‘un is counting on you being good. (and don’t name it after Bill. πŸ˜› )

    I am sorry you’re having the holiday-itis, and am praying that you’ll have peace about the food every time you feel a kick or a wiggle. πŸ™‚

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Will: Get really close to the screen so I can whisper to you. Ya there? K. This is a secret. Bill didn’t pick the baby’s name, but I want to let him down gently. Sshhh. πŸ˜‰

    Bill: Hey there Ho there! How are ya? Thanks for the “go for it”, but I really can’t. Ugh. So I ate 2 animal crackers, 1 starburst, and 1 skittle. It killed the sugar craving… for now.

    Homemade chili tonight (with ground turkey, not beef). Who’s comin’ to dinna?? It’s gonna be soooo yummmm!

    Heidi

  6. Patricia Blackmon Says:

    Heidi, honey, I understand TOTALLY! I told Joe with our first child, “O.k. after we get out of the hospital, let’s go eat at IHOP!” seriously, yes I was serious! a two day old in IHOP! I was not kidding. With, the first, I had to do the glucose monitoring. Awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s just double torture telling a nine month pregnant woman no sugar!! Just wrong!

  7. candidchatter Says:

    Patricia: Will you just come over and allow me to whine to you? I need a sympathetic ear. LOL! With Brianna I was begging Rich to bring me cheesecake to the hospital. Little did I know they would keep checking my glucose levels after she was born. But when I got home, girlllllll. I had me some cheeeeeesecake. Then with Jeremy, same thing. I had some cheesecake then too and chocolate cake and carrot cake and… I went nuts! Then about 3 months later I went on the South Beach Diet and lost all my weight and then some. But I sure did enjoy those 3 months of eating like a glutton. It was fun!! Memories… πŸ™‚

    Heidi

  8. Hey there heidi: I hear you are talking about me behind my back to Will. That’s not very ladylike or Christ-like. I am sooooooo hurt! Reckon I will have to go drown my sorrow in some ice cream. Hmmmm mint chocolate chip sounds really good. And while eating it I will think of…..YOU!!!!! πŸ˜‰ That wasn’t very nice of Will to say those nasty things about me either. Okay…more chocolate. Oh, since I don’t eat beef…I accept your invitation to chili made with turkey.

  9. Heidi…let’s compare health situations…your drought of chocolate and all things good ends in early January, right?

    Mine…unfortunately…is now called a “lifestyle…” That’s a nice way of saying, “Life sentence!”

  10. Will_nottheactor Says:

    Bill, let me apologize with some Organic Chocolate Syrup to top off your Ice Cream (Ah!laska brand). But shame on you for eavesdropping. πŸ˜‰

    Steve, you got to appreciate the key word there – life. It beats the alternative, and you know it. πŸ˜‰

  11. candidchatter Says:

    Steve: I am so glad you’re ok. I’m sorry you have a strict diet. It’s tough. If my baby’s life didn’t depend on me being a good girl I’m not sure I could hang. But, then again, my numbers could be a little more liberal and my insulin resistance wouldn’t be so bad due to hormones either so it might not be as rough as it is being in the last few weeks of pregnancy. I don’t know. Anyway, just glad you’re going to be fine and all you have to deal with is diet. Could be so much worse.

    Bill: Meanie meanie meanie!

    So doc said “no” and laughed at me about the insulin. He knew what I was up to. He told me splurging for 2 days on Christmas and Christmas Eve was fine, but the rest of the days I need to behave. Oh well. I tried. I even whined. He wasn’t having that. So, Joe, you were right. He also told me to take it a week at a time instead of looking at it as 4 more weeks. Ok, fine.

    Baby is fine. Non-stress test went great. All is well. Another appt next week.

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

