Candid Chatter

Just Say It

What She Said December 23, 2008

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:09 am

So kids are really kinda funny.

Rich and I watched a movie Sunday night called “300”. It was a manly kind of movie about the Spartans fighting the Persian army under the reign of King Xerxes of Persia. If you’ve read the Bible, you will know that Xerxes was an evil king. A disgusting human being.

Not that the movie is Biblical. It’s not. But it is somewhat historically correct even mentioning that King Darius of Persia was King Xerxes’ father. Cool. I was into it big time. I don’t mind gore. I want to be a nurse afterall so fight scenes don’t upset me — even beheadings.

Anyway.

I put the kids to bed at 9:00 as usual. Brianna kept asking me about the movie we were about to watch and I told her “it’s not a kid’s movie honey so you can’t watch it”. She said “is it a bad movie Mom”. I said “it is a bad movie for kids — it’s an adult movie”. She was fine with that and off to bed she went without a hitch. I made her promise she wouldn’t get out of bed because we wanted to watch this movie alone and “since it has monsters in it I don’t want you to be afraid”.

She stayed in bed even though I know like I know like I know that she was very curious. The girl never stays put once tucked in. She always has about 2 or 3 excuses to come into the family room. Last night, though, she listened to me. I was impressed.

The movie was fantastic!! There are a few sex scenes that might knock someone for a loop if those kinds of things disturb you. We fast forwarded through one of them to get on with the movie, but that’s just us.

The photography and camera work was phenomenal. I truly liked the movie. Truly. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but I ended up thinking it was really super cool.

Brianna asked about it a few more times on the way to school and I told her it was really good, but still not appropriate for a child. She wanted to see the cover of it, which I was sort of hesitant about, but I ended up handing it over to her explaining that the “monster” on the back died in the movie and that he isn’t real. She was mature about it and handled the scariness quite well. After dropping her off at school I returned it to Blockbuster.

When I picked her up from school today she was in such a great mood. They had a pajama party and watched two movies — Veggie Tales and Charlie Brown. They ate cookies and played games. She had a blast. Tomorrow is their official Christmas party and she’s looking forward to that too. Two days of utter goofiness at school. I remember those days. I am happy she’s having so much fun.

Once in the car she perked up and said “guess what Mom”.
“What honey?”.
In drops the bomb. Ready? Set. Go!

“I told my whole class that you and Daddy watched a bad movie last night. I told them it was an adult movie.”

She said this with a smile from ear to ear.
I choked on my tongue.
I laughed harder than I’ve laughed in a loooong time.
I called Rich and gave him a hearty laugh too.

I wonder what her teachers think now?
Hysterical!!

Christmas at the Reed’s house. Interesting. So very interesting.

 

9 Responses to “What She Said”

  1. mommato3blessings Says:

    Oh NO she didn’t!! Oh goodness, I would be mortified! Oh the things a child will tattle about! 🙂

  2. Lorna Says:

    lol, That is hysterical!

  3. Let’s see…beheadings…sex scenes…language…

    Maybe Miss B. wasn’t too far off on her description and “telling on” you guys…

    After all, if she had done something “wrong” wouldn’t you have told all of us about it in your blog?

    Like daughter like mother?

  4. What is it they say? “out of the mouth of babes?” Or is it “Busted!” Oh man, Heidi, I think I would have busted a gut laughing with you. And then probably wondered “Okay Lord now what do I say/do?” 🙂

  5. candidchatter Says:

    It still makes me laugh even though I’ve now told the story and written about it at least 5 times. She has no idea how funny that was. You should have heard my Dad cracking up when I called and told him about it yesterday. Kids are great!!

    Heidi

  6. Tony York Says:

    I love what kids say… especially when the child belongs to someone else.

    This had me giggling.

  7. Will_nottheactor Says:

    Too funny!

    If you’re like me when that sort of foot-in-mouth catches up to me, you recall those exact words right after they tell you what they said. You play it back in your mind and, yep, that’s exactly what you said.

    DOH!

  8. Ivan Says:

    Hilarious story very well told.

  9. daphne Says:

    300 is one of my favorite movies ever! I have not seen such a powerful love story and the country loyality and patriotism was awesome!!


Leave a Reply

