Candid Chatter

Just Say It

So How’s It Going? January 26, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:24 am

Well…

  • I am frequently tired and I yawn way more than normal.
  • I found out Jeremy has environmental allergies — just like me. It’s nice to finally get it diagnosed though. The kid sneezes at least a dozen times a day every single day.
  • I have found that being honest about how I feel goes a long way in helping others understand how/if they can help.
  • My mother-in-law still comes over about 4-5 times a week and does our laundry and straightens up my house. If not for her help these past several weeks I think life wouldn’t be so chipper.
  • I vacuumed today. That probably wasn’t the smartest thing, but I couldn’t take it anymore.
  • I cried the first night Rich left to get a breather with the men-folk. I’ll probably cry again today when he returns to work. This doesn’t mean I have the baby blues. It just means I get very attached to the love of my life and when he has to return to life as usual it chokes me up.
  • Jaxon is doing great. He has gas a lot and sometimes (like Saturday night) it prevents him from sleeping long stretches which exhausts me to the core, but all is good.
  • I am clueless on how breastfeeding should go from here. I know right now to feed Jaxon on demand. But since I have never been beyond 6 weeks, I’m not sure how things pan out. Like when will the nighttime feedings start to taper off? When will he sleep through the night? I am not a fan of CIO (cry it out) until my babies are much older (like 6 months). How in the world do you get a breastfed baby on a feeding schedule? How do you keep from getting engorged when the baby spaces feedings out more? Sometimes he wants to eat every 2 hours. Sometimes it’s every 3 hours. One night he went almost 4 hours and I thought my boob would explode. Then I was borderline engorged the next day. Formula fed babies are simple to get on schedule. There is no information on the web about these things. Everything I find is about newborns. What happens when the newborn is less than new? Ack!
  • I have trouble remembering even the simplest things. I tried to get a prescription filled for Jaxon that was actually for Jeremy and since I screwed it all up the pharmacist refused to fill it until later today when she can speak to his pediatrician. I walk into a room and then stand there like a moron because I completely forget what it was that compelled me to go there. I forget where I put things and what day of the week it is.

I guess it’s going pretty good.
I really can’t complain.
I am blessed. That’s for sure.
So, tell me, how’s it going for you?

 

9 Responses to “So How’s It Going?”

  1. mommato3blessings Says:

    I am not much help with breastfeeding advice- the longest I went was almost 4 months, but there was NO schedule going on and I was miserable. I am glad it’s working out for you this time, I know you wanted it to! So I will be praying you find a rhythm that works for you and Jaxon.
    As for how it’s going for me- pretty darn good! I am working on forming a schedule for myself for working out…I am getting back in the south beach life (lol) and I need to make time to get to the gym on a consistent basis. I am so good at pretending I am too busy to go! šŸ™‚ Kids are good, Hubs is good….

  2. Anne Says:

    Aahhh breastfeeding and schedule.

    I think with breastfeeding you have to just let go and let your kid set the schedule. I fed on demand with both girls until they were done Bfing — Claire about 10 months, Madeline about 13 — and that worked really well. Claire established a predictable sleep pattern at about 4 months (which is the norm) and Madeline, well, she took a little longer, but she had some reflux and allergy issues we weren’t aware of. She didn’t sleep through the night until 18 months.

    Anyway, don’t stress over it. Just let Jaxon lead you and you will figure out a pattern.

    Oh, and as for fighting engorgement, get a hand express pump. I have this one: http://www.target.com/Lansinoh-Laboratories-Manual-Breast-Pump/dp/B000LXZROK/sr=1-2/qid=1232975385/ref=sr_1_2/179-4691618-4930153?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Alansinoh%20pump&page=1

    It is cheap, easy to set up and use, and quite the relief when the girls would go for longer stretches. Plus, you can quickly pump a few ounces that you can stash away in the freezer for later!

  3. Anne Says:

    Oh and this is a great forum to talk about breastfeeding:

    http://www.mothering.com/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=27

    Some of the women are realllly crunchy, but a lot have great advice.

  4. Lorna Says:

    Ms Reed,

    Please stop by my blog to pick up the helping hand award:

    http://iwhispertogod.blogspot.com/2009/01/helping-hand-award.html

    Blessings,
    Lorna

  5. Lorna Says:

    I was gonna say get a breast pump and use it when you are engorged. I used to freeze what I pumped for times when I wasn’t around to breast feed every two hours or to let Daddy and brother bottle feed once in awhile. I think both of my children slept through the night at about 3-4 months. Brandon was bottle fed and Haley was breast fed.

    Hang in there Momma, lack of sleep in only temporary…unless one of your children develops asthma…then you might have another 5-8 years of sleepless nights. Maybe more, but both my children grew out of their severe asthma by about 8 years old. Thank God!

  6. daphne Says:

    I never really stopped feeding on demand. The baby just demands less often as older. My middle child born 2 years 3 months after my oldest, slept through the night before her older sister. I do not mean she slept through the night at an earlier age, I mean middle slept through the night a 4ish months and oldest was 2 and still not sleeping all night.

    When I would get too full if baby was not ready to eat I would pump just until I was comfortable. Different things work for different people. One of my friends just had to get into a hot shower. I learned just where to press and would lean over the sink since mine never took bottles. I tried using a pump and never could get much milk out when just pressing my breast by hand I could fill a cup. I say never let your breast become painful. Drain before you get to that point.

    I have tons of experience and once I was recommended to be a lactation consultant so email me anytime you have a question. When I was nursing, I called a loal lactation line so look into if you have one. Maybe you can use the one I used. I found the number at the hospital website which is http://www.womans.com.

    glad to read your updates. grace & peace, daphne

  7. candidchatter Says:

    Anne: Thank you so much! I have a Medela hand pump and they also gave me an extra one at the hospital.

    Daphne: I’m sure I’ll be e-mailing you in the future. Thanks for offering your expertise. What a relief!!

    I’ll check out the sites later on. Not much time on my hands as before.

    Heidi

  8. Julie Arnold Says:

    Hi Heidi šŸ™‚

    Well, good to hear that things are going pretty well for you, hope you manage to get a few minutes to yourself each day..I think it’s important..maybe even a bubble bath thrown in now and again šŸ™‚

    I nursed Mel for 7-1/2 months and loved every day of it…I was so much more relaxed with the second baby. Like Daphne was saying in her post, I found expressing the milk by hand MUCH faster and more comfortable than those goofy pumps.. I would just take out enough to relieve the pressure (into a cup), and then put that in a bottle that I kept in the freezer. In 4 or 5 days, you’ve got a nice sized bottle of milk in there to use when needed. Just thaw, and then be sure you shake it up well, warm it and you are good to go girl šŸ™‚

    Jaxon will set a schedule and it will get easier as the months go by…just be as relaxed as possible about it, and nature takes care of it!

    Hope your week goes well!

    “Mel’s Mom” but you can call me Jules lol.

  9. Mel Says:

    My Mommy is here! No way!
    Hi Mom!!!!
    šŸ™‚ (back to your regularly scheduled breastfeeding advice…)


Leave a Reply

