Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Chop It The Heck Off! January 31, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:48 am

So I go through this occassionally. I get sick of my hair. I had the cutest hair style in 2007/early 2008. Since I got pregnant with Jack, I’ve been letting it grow out.

With a new baby and no desire to wear my hair in the dreaded ponytail for the rest of the year, I have decided to butcher it. Yep. Go away. Bye.

But I have an issue. My hair is naturally wavy. The shorter it is the wavier/curlier it gets. Sometimes this can cause problems styling it because it truly, truly has a mind all its own. I don’t want to spend time straightening it. I literally want a 5 minute hair style that looks hip, cute, and fits my sparky personality to a “T”. I also want one cool a$$ dye job. A weave of different colors with some dark brown and auburn and such. Not trashy hooker hair, but grown up cool 35 year old Mom of three hair.

When I got my hair cut 2 years ago about 4 women I knew sort of copied my style. I was flattered. I want something funky and fun and daring and freakin’ Kate Gosslin cool (Jon & Kate Plus 8). But not her hairstyle. Just cool like hers.

Here are some ideas. Which ones do you like??
Maybe we can make this a contest? I don’t know.
But let’s have fun picking Heidi’s new hairstyle!!

short-1short-2short-3short-4short-5short-6short-7short-8

 

14 Responses to “Chop It The Heck Off!”

  1. candidchatter Says:

    I’ll tell you now that #5 and #8 are my favs b/c they are shown with curly hair.

    Vote!!

    Heidi

  2. FWIW: I like #3 & #5 and #8 will pass. Definitely, and I mean definitely not #7! I can Jaxon grabbing that little hanging piece or pieces and yanking and not letting go. šŸ™‚ However, I am willing to bet (and I am not a betting man) that since Rich is so in love with you he really doesn’t care. he will look beyond the hair (and that is all I am going to say).

  3. daphne Says:

    I like the 2nd to last but you have to do what will work for your hair. I dare say you may need to straighten the one I choose. I let my stylist do what she wants and you see what I have. Talk about easy though! Sometimes my hair looks better when I get out of bed than if I try and make it do something on my own!

  4. Mel Says:

    How FUN! I love #3 and #8! You would completely ROCK both of those! Can’t wait to see what you decide!!

  5. Cynthia Says:

    #5 is favorite.

  6. candidchatter Says:

    I am leaning heavily for #5 without the mullet in the back. Like cut off the entire back and make it shorter on the sides, but that is too cute. I hate bangs on me, so sideswept all forehead showing is a good thing. Hmmm…

    Bill: Rich loves long hair. Problem with that is he won’t do my hair for me so I gotta chop it to keep my sanity otherwise it ends up either in a ponytail or messy bun — both of which are too young for a woman closer to 40 than 30.

    Say it with me “no more scrunchies, no more scrunchies”. LOL!

    heidi

  7. Melissa Says:

    I like #1, 3 & 5. I do NOT like #2, too sort and flat – not a good idea for curly/wavy hair. I have the SAME problem… but don’t think I could pull off the curly hair. I’m pretty positive I’d end up with a ‘FRO!

  8. Joe Blackmon Says:

    I’m mad at you because you get to choose a hair style. I get to choose how much wax to put on my bald spot. My hair is staging a strategic retreat down the back of my head.

    Patricia said she likes the 2nd from the last, btw.

  9. Ivan Says:

    I go for #8, though your version of #5 sounds better.

    I shaved all mine off 20 years ago and kept it that way ever since. Excellent haircut. Keeps my brain very cool. I am a boy of course.

  10. sjcall Says:

    OMG, my sister and I do think completely alike! I vote #3 and #8 and see those were her choices as well! LOL Can’t wait to see your new do!!! Have a great time away getting it done too – nothing I like better than a trip to the salon šŸ™‚ You should completely spoil yourself after all you have gone though the past 9 months and get a massage or facial too! Heck, why not both šŸ™‚
    Have a great day!!!
    jen

  11. Debateur Says:

    I have number 2 and love it. But it probably wouldn’t work so well with your curly hair. My hair takes literally 5 minutes or less.

  12. Ginger Bliss Says:

    Are you sure you want to go that short???? I know. I know it will always grow back…and whatever you do is going to look good, you have such great hair. I just hope with the pregnancy hormones and sleep deprivation you don’t do something extreme and end up wishing you hadn’t . If you do it My vote is #7

  13. candidchatter Says:

    Ginger: Well, I am totally sure I want a style that doesn’t get pulled back in a ponytail day in and day out. I am sure I want something that requires little to no effort. I am sure I want it to take 5 minutes or less to dry and style every morning. I am sure I want to look hip and stylish. I am sure I don’t want it to hang in my eyes or over my shoulders. So, yeah, I’m needing change and the shorter styles seem to fit the bill. I trust my stylist immensely so she’ll help me come up with something I can handle. She picked my last style and boy was it ever a hit. Rich is nervous b/c he likes long hair. I just don’t have the time to deal with it. As it stands, it takes me about 30 minutes to get my hair to look good. It is so thick that it takes forever to blow dry — at least 10 to 15 minutes just drying it. By the time it’s dry I am so sick of dealing with it that I usually don’t have the patience to style it. Up into a ponytail it goes. If I do take the time to straighten it tack on another 10 to 15 minutes right there. ANNOYING!! Low maintenance, easy to do, and cute as cute gets. That’s what I’m after. Thanks for caring about my emotional state though. Your comment made me want to hug you cuz you’re a doll. I sure am glad we’re friends. šŸ˜‰

    Heidi

  14. Lauren Says:

    I like #7.

    Short hair makes me look scary šŸ™‚ I totally understand your reasons. My hair is really thick and I always get really hot when it’s down….it is usually in a ponytail. šŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!


Leave a Reply

