Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Challenge Me February 2, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:48 am

I’m a couple weeks away from getting the green light to exercise. I am chomping at the bit to get started. I gained more weight with Jaxon than I did with my other two. So here I go… coming clean in hopes of trimming down.

The goal by Jaxon’s first birthday:

  • To weigh 125 lbs. Remember, I am 5’2″ short — so this is attainable.
  • To wear a size 6 in Women’s clothing.
  • To have enough energy to not only keep up with my kids, but to also wear them out.

The steps to achieve this goal:

  • Start the South Beach diet once weight loss tapers off from breastfeeding. I’ll start on Phase 2 since Phase 1 might be too restrictive for a breastfeeding Mother.
  • Exercise 4 days a week for 20-40 minutes — starting slow by walking and doing Pilates and Yoga, then working my way up to advanced circuit training.
  • Jumping on the trampoline with the older 2 kids for fun.

My current stats:

  • 155 lbs (I was 182 lbs when I gave birth to Jaxon 3 weeks ago)
  • Women’s size 12 in pants, size Medium to Large in tops

I gained almost 50 lbs with Jaxon. I have lost almost 30 pounds since giving birth to him — mostly due to exclusively nursing him. I have been unable to exercise due to my physical restrictions from having a c-section and tubal ligation. I have 20 lbs to lose in order to get to my prepregnancy weight. I have 30 pounds to lose to reach my ultimate goal for the year.

I can do this. I know I can. I lost 50 pounds after I had Jeremy and kept it off. I went from wearing maternity clothes long after he was born (he was 4 months old when I switched to regular clothes), to a size 14, all the way down to a size 4 in 10 months. TEN! By the time he turned 1 year old I was in the best shape of my life. Right now I am in a size 12. No more maternity clothes since last week. I’m on my way.

Who wants to join me? You are more than welcome to. I will update my progress weekly. But remember, I cannot start until the doc says it’s ok. You have time to think about it. You also don’t have to do the plans I’ve chosen. Every person is different and your body will respond differently than mine will. Guys lose weight quicker than gals. It stinks, but it’s true. So if you’re a woman, don’t be discouraged if a man joins us in this challenge and seems to be kicking our fat arses. He might reach his goal first, but we’ll get there too.

I’m a good motivator so I’ll be cheering for you along the way.

Let’s get it on (or, rather, get it off)!!!!

 

9 Responses to “Challenge Me”

  1. I’m tired just reading all you plan to do!

    I’ll be praying for you…And watching with interest your progress…if anyone can make it, I know you will be the one!

    After my recent HA, I’ve lost 10 lbs…I would like to lose another 5 or so…that would put my weight at 165.

    Okay, not worry of even mentioning, losing 5 lbs, I understand. But it is a good goal, especially of just being healthy…

    You go girl!

  2. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    Ditto what Steve said. I need a nap!

    Actually, I’m right in the weight range I want to be, 200-210 (I’m 6′) and will be walking with my wife more regularly this year for “maintenance” and our hearts. However I’ll be adding you and the others who may join you to a prayer of encouragement every day…

  3. jimmy paravane Says:

    So what yer saying is that motherhood is the perfect diet. Dang, that lets me out. (grin)
    The better half and I are gearing up to start walking. With the weather, we’ll probably be join the legions of “age-challenged” mall-walkers. Hey, I even bought a mp3 player so I can listen to podcasts and music while I walk. I’m a committer. (grin)

  4. daphne Says:

    just saying, I did weight watchers while nursing and it was easy peesy because you got like 10-12 extra points for nursing. I want to loose 5-10 pounds but I do not want you yelling at me plus I just became a vegetarian so I need to settle into that depravation before depriving myself even more. Funny thing. It is the same 5-10 pounds I have been trying to loose for almost 4 years. I did it once after a 21 day fast but it came back. I am 5′ 2 1/2″ so I can weigh more than you (135).
    ; )

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Steve & Will: Thanks! Good luck to both of you on your quest for good health.

    Jimmy: It’s not motherhood. I think motherhood makes a woman fat, truthfully. It’s far too easy to neglect yourself when you have children. They are a mighty easy excuse to use too. Breastfeeding burns an amazing amount of calories. That’s what is doing it for me. Who knew that sitting on my duff 8 to 10 times a day would knock off 30 pounds in 3 weeks?

    Daphne: Vegetarian? I tried to do that a few times. Good luck!! You will lose the weight esp if you keep at it. True vegan??? Or just no meat??? Wow!!

    Heidi

  6. Tony York Says:

    So you need a man to join … ok… I am in. I would like to be down to 250 by July 1st.

  7. Kris Says:

    Wow, awesome!! 🙂 Wishing you lots of luck!

    I lost 65lbs during my youngest child’s 1st year… breastfeeding, eating healthy, and lots and lots of exercise (have you tried Spinning?).

    I’ve gained almost all of it back (thanks to Prozac and car accident injuries that keep me from walking well, let alone getting back on the treadmill), but since I’ve done it once before, I feel more confident I can do it again!!

    Kris
    krismom.com

  8. This winter has not been kind to me. First, surgery. Then bitter cold. now snow. For a cyclist that is a dangerous trio. My ideal weight is 200-202 (I’m 6’5″) I probably need to lose about 8 for that to happen. I would like to say it is muscle weight from lifting but I wouldn’t be telling the whole truth. 🙂 Hope you make m’lady.

  9. Lorna Says:

    I actually hate to exercise, but I need to because I like to eat! I also get into these slumps where I will go two or three months without exercise, then I feel so out of shape. My most effective way to lose weight is to count calories Monday through Friday and exercise 5 days a week. I give myself a break on counting calories on the weekend. Right now I’m slacking a bit in the exercise department, but doing good on the counting calories. I’ll commit to being more active. I only need to lose about 4 pounds to get to my preferred weight. That should be easy right? Wrong!


Leave a Reply

