Candid Chatter

Just Say It

When I Say… February 9, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:46 am

…I will pray for you, I will

…I love you, I mean it

…I’m sorry, I mean it or I’m trying to mean it

…you’re my friend, you are

There are some people blogging honestly out there. Sometimes they are so honest they admit to things that sort of disappoint me. The #1 thing that makes my heart hurt is when they say “sometimes I don’t pray when I said I would”. Ouch! The last time I saw this admission on a blog my heart sank. Why? Because I had asked that person to pray for my unborn baby and if that person really didn’t pray when he/she said they would… well, that just doesn’t seem right to me.

Regardless — there were plenty of people praying for Jaxon and he’s doing awesome. So thank you to those of you who were sincere. I prayed over you as you prayed over us. I promise I did.

Friends of ours got some potentially bad news on Friday about one of their children. My heart is sore as I pray for them and wait for more test results. I’ve been on that cliff teetering on the edge of the abyss waiting for more test results. It’s a very scary and helpless place to be. Suddenly you must trust complete strangers with the most sensitive of issues and there are times when you feel you simply will not breathe until the phone rings. Family members of ours just went through a very trying time medically with their child. Thankfully, the little tyke has completely recovered. But what a rough, rough few days waiting to see what would happen.

I told all of these people that I would pray for them and their children. And I did. And I am.

When you say that you’ll pray for someone do it. Let that be the single most important thing you do each day. Go to God interceding for others in prayer. It doesn’t have to be long. It doesn’t have to be formal. Just pray.

Prayer is important. People count on prayer.

 

9 Responses to “When I Say…”

  1. Heidi: Good post. I am ashamed to admit that I used to be one of those who would say “I will pray for you” and then would forget. Worse, even lie when asked if I did. No more. When I tell someone I will pray for them I write it down in my Moleskine and use it daily to remind me. I have a page and a 1/2 of prayer requests that I take before God every day. I even offer folks a look to see their name or request is written down if they want. I got tired of pretending and hiding. When I said I prayed for you and Jaxon I did and still are. πŸ™‚ I am glad your friends got good news. And I am sure they appreciated knowing you were keeping your word when you said you would pray.

  2. Mel Says:

    I got in the habit that when I tell someone I will pray for them, right then and there I bring it to God (sometimes just quietly in my head and heart). It doesn’t need to be a long elaborate prayer…God will still hear it. That way even if I get busy and don’t get back to praying for that specific thing for a while, I have already prayed for it…and I find that God brings it to mind often once I have already said that initial prayer. I remember more often to keep praying.
    Oh, and I still pray for Jaxon all the time! πŸ™‚

  3. For those of us involved in the church, professionally I mean, it is so easy to give the prayer cliche…and mean it, but then be asked immediately by someone else to be prayed for.

    I think we are all guilty. We’ve all said we would pray and then didn’t or simply forgot…I like Mel’s idea…and that’s what I practice more times than not…

  4. Lorna Says:

    I would be too afraid of being struck by lightning if I said I would pray for someone and then didn’t. Usually when I see or read about people in need of prayer, I take a moment right then and pray. It’s what I did for you and your friends just before I wrote this comment. You can count on me and I know I can count on you!

    Blessings and ❀ to you Ms. Heidi

  5. Will_nottheactor Says:

    Bill – love that transparency, to use the “word of the year.”

    Seriously, I truly believe Ephesians 6:12, that we’re in a battle against the spiritual forces in the heavenly realms, and prayer is our only weapon.

    It’s also interesting that just after the “armor of God” passage, Paul asks for prayer ( in verses 19&20, so that whenever he opens his mouth, he will be given the words to speak and won’t be afraid. It’s hard to imagine Paul, not having the words and being afraid. But he knew when he opened his mouth, it was God speaking through him, and prayer from believers was the key ingredient to keep that happening.

    Great post, Heidi!

  6. candidchatter Says:

    One thing I’ll say in prayer sometimes is “and for those whom I have forgotten, Lord, please answer their prayers”. That pretty much covers it all.

    I also do on the spot, in my heart, silent prayers when I’m asked to pray about a situation — esp if I find the prayer request in e-mail or some other fashion online.

    I am glad so many of you pray. πŸ™‚

    Heidi

  7. Tausha Says:

    Heidi-
    Prayer is a very powerful thing. It is the one thing that all of us can do regardless of how much money we do or don’t have. What color we are, where we live or what language we speak. Heavenly Father always listens to all of us.
    I firmly belive in the power of prayer-always.

  8. Tausha Says:

    As for your 5 minute hair do-I can help you out. It’s all about the product. all about the product.

  9. candidchatter Says:

    Tausha: Spill it then girly. What product? I want it straight and not frizzy and tame and I want it to stay that way thru rain and humidity. Am I asking for a miracle? πŸ™‚

    Heidi


Leave a Reply

