Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Blogger Fitness Challenge February 11, 2009

Filed under: fitness — candidchatter @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

aerobics

Ready. Begin!!

Wednesday will be the weekly check-in day for our online fitness challenge.

For today just state your goals. If you want to include your stats, by all means go right ahead. There are a few rules, but they are NOT rigid. The ultimate goal is for us to be healthier and happier. That’s it. Bottom line. This is not a competition. It is a motivator. That being said let’s get to the “rules”.

  • Check in once a week. You can tell how much weight you lost, how well you stuck to your diet plan, how much exercise you accomplished, what you’ve learned about yourself and your limits, how you pushed harder, how you quit diet soda and stepped up the water intake, how you feel, your victories, etc.
  • If your goal is to lose weight (like me), then please post how much you lost. Initially you might lose quite a chunk, but then it will taper off. Realistically, 2 to 3 pounds a week is awesome.
  • NO DIET PILLS. This is for our health. It’s not to end up in the ER with some sort of cardiac emergency because we were stupid and tried to lose like 40 pounds in 5 days. Be smart!!

Alright ladies and gentlemen — here’s to your health and mine. I’ll comment later on with my stats and goals. I’ll tell you this right now though — I am giving myself almost a full year. If I get there before Jaxon’s first birthday, awesome. But that’s my time frame. Good Luck!!

forwardbicepcurl

 

9 Responses to “Blogger Fitness Challenge”

  1. Lorna Says:

    Goals: I want biceps like the lady up there ^^^. Flatter tummy, less fat, more muscle. Maintain a healthy BMI. Keep the heart pumping.

    I lost a 1/2 pound since last week and that pace is just fine with me, cuz I’m in no hurry. I only need to lose about 3-4 pounds to be at my optimal weight and BMI.

    Let’s get healthy!

  2. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    As I mentioned before, I’m regularly praying for all of you participating in this endeavor.

  3. candidchatter Says:

    Alright. Been a busy, busy day so far. I can’t believe it’s almost 1:00. Shew!

    I want to lose about 30 pounds. I plan to start by exercising slowly to get my strength back — pilates, yoga, walking. After about 2-3 weeks I’ll incorporate light weights into the routine (5 lbs). My goal size is a 6.

    Diet: For now I am sticking with what I have going on because I am breastfeeding. If weight loss slows for any reason, I’ll go back on South Beach phase 2. I drink lots of water already since I have to in order to keep my milk supply up.

    Heidi

  4. Holly Says:

    I need to return to pre-election season shape. I haven’t ran a 5K since August!

    I need to get back to a 5K in under 30. With the heart murmer I won’t ever be a fast runner – but I know from previous races what I can comfortable do.

    I’m comfortable at 122. Today I weigh 129. But that extra 7 pounds is blubber pounds, nothing tight about it at all! I’d like 115-120 – but don’t think it’s realistic and would stress me out to maintain (Me & KT are built bigger than you other 3 girls – grrr!).

    So – my goal is to get back to running more and strength building in the gym.

    My diet is not bad – maybe too much beer (but baby steps – I have a brand new puppy at home – I need the beers right now). I do drink a ton of water already.

    So – basically I need to run and do more strength. I’d like to be working out with 3-5 miles 3 times a week and complete a 10 mile run by July.

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Holly: You have a heart murmur? I didn’t know that. Are you ok?

    Heidi

  6. jalack Says:

    Uh, I checked my weight at the gym on Monday and I am 232 lbs. I should be 190 ish. My goal is to not be 232 lbs by the end of the year. I am eating those nasty 300 calorie frozen healthy choice meals for lunch, but I found out they taste much better if you cover them in gravy. I also found out that those Special K bars taste better if you dip them in chocolate milk. Seriously I am cutting back on my fats watching my carb intake, I drink 5 bottles of water for 1 diet soda a day and I will eventually cut out all carbonated drinks, I am also on a regular exercise regiment so I would like to be back down to my tomcat weight by Dec of this year. I’ll keep you motivated if you keep me motivated.

  7. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    Jalack – I lost 10lbs when I cut out all soft drinks – just say no. πŸ˜‰

    To everyone, that High Fructose Corn Syrup – yeah, not so good for you. Also try and avoid the processed stuff – the enriched or enchanced-anything means stuff not naturally found in the ingredient (flour, sugar, etc) was added to it. THAT means your body naturally won’t process it as well. That’s why vitamins have like 1000% of the RDA – the body can’t absorb it as well, and it’ll only absorb 50-100% of the RDA and pass through the rest. Whereas if you ate more fruits and veggies, you’d boost your vitamin intake.

    My wife used to get NASTY throat and lung infections at least 3 times a year – knock her down for over a week. Once we switched to mostly organic, cut out the HFCS from our diet, as well as the processed stuff, and went with cane sugar, etc, she hasn’t been really sick – one slight cold in 3 years and she fought it off without anything.

    We had Chicken Fettucini w/Broccoli last night – home made – stupidly easy, and relatively low-fat (uses half-n-half instead of heavy cream, plus some milk to think it out, and 2 TBSP of butter). Tasty. I’ll post the recipie on my blog next week, but you can also try my tasty Chicken Spaghetti and some low fat home made puddings (recipies already up there – look at my Recipie Love page).

    Remember, eatting healthy does NOT mean eliminate taste.

  8. Confess is good for the soul…or so they say…

    This morning, I weighed in at 172 lbs. I’m 5 ft 10 1/2 in. I’d like to get down to about 162-165…that would be a good comfortable weight for me…

    Prayers for everyone of you!

  9. Holly Says:

    I’ve always had a murmur. It isn’t growing – but it keeps me from going very fast and over doing it – I wear the monitor to ensure that I haven’t gone to hard too early (like in a race, if I take off too fast due to excitement)

    I’ve been monitoring it since high school – but mom first knew of it when I was a child.

    Not a big deal. Just keeps me slow. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

