Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Valentine’s Day February 12, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:58 am

valentines-day

I’ve been married a long time. Rich and I met almost 11 years ago via the internet on a social networking site you all have heard of called AOL. It was an accident. A beautiful accident. Neither of us was trying to get hitched — or even hooked. But we did. Eleven years later, we have three gorgeous kids. We’ll celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary in November. Wedded bliss!

However…

Valentine’s Day is one of those Hallmark holidays that we rarely celebrate. I think we may have celebrated it more before we had kids than we have post-children. I really don’t remember.

But the funny thing is… I still secretly (not a secret anymore is it) hope he’ll surprise me with a 10 carat emerald cut flawless diamond set in platinum. Not that I’m setting the bar too high or anything.

Seriously though. I do secretly wish he’d do something fantastic and spontaneous and expensive.

I’m shallow.

PS: He won’t read this in time. He has a big corporate project he’s working on. He doesn’t check my blog when he’s over his eyeballs in programmer stuff.

How will you spend
Valentine’s Day?

 

5 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. Days like this are tough for me Heidi. My bride is a simple person with simple tastes. She wears no jewelry except for a wedding band I bought her at our 25th (the original had to be cut off when she had surgery). She struggles with her weight so I am “darned if I do and darned if I don’t” when/if I buy clothes. Also out are chocolates because of that and a “close to diabetes” issue. She will also work until 12:30. I surprised her for her birthday by bringing the grandson and daughter home. how can I top that? πŸ™‚ So what will we do? Probably go out to eat and then relax. Exciting isn’t it? Congrats on finding Rich. If you need me to email him personally about your dream diamond just send it to me. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Mel Says:

    Eric and I are going out to a nice dinner tonight with no kids (thank you mother in law!). We get eachother a small gift. I will get each of the kids something little too. I agree that it is a hallmark holiday….but we still like to have fun with it! πŸ™‚

  3. Cynthia Says:

    It’s never been a big deal at our house either, because Chris is really good about spontaneous gift giving. However, I also secretly think/wish, maybe this year he’ll do something really big for Valentine’s Day!

  4. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    Like Bill, my bride is not into the bling-bling, and we’re really more about usefulness when it comes to gifts. We’re going to share a special “fancy” desert at Whole Foods, then go for a walk and talk for a while. QT is the best gift I can give her.

    I did get her a book as a surprise, though. She’s a voracious reader, and she’s not expecting any gift whatsoever. That part’s gonna be fun.

  5. sjcall Says:

    ah, a girl after my own heart! ?y hubby recently got me a diamond and sapphire ring so I am not expecting anything for valentine’s day. I do hope he surprises me with flowers though! We celebrate our 10th anniv. this June and hope to celebrate with a side trip to a B&B in Napa when we go to Californiaa this summer to visit our BFFs! Hope you have a romantic valentine’s day once the kiddos are in bed!


Leave a Reply

