Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Jaxon the Great February 13, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:41 am

Just a little update on the wee one. I took him to the doctor yesterday and all is well. He weighs 10 lbs 5 oz already. He gained almost 2 pounds in 2 weeks. He’s a champ! He’s in the upper percentiles for weight, length, and head circumference.

I am still exclusively breastfeeding him. Talk about a ton of diapers. Sheesh! I think for all the money we are saving in formula we’re spending it on diapers. LOL! But wow — that’s a lot of bowel and bladder activity for such a tiny little thing.

He’s spending more time alert these days giving us plenty of eyeball to eyeball time. He even cooed at me the other day when I held his attention for a one-sided conversation. That was awesome. Those little things make all the sleepless nights and dirty diapers totally worth every unpleasant minute.

The other two still adore him and sometimes I have to keep them from smothering him with their affection. They even argue over who gets to kiss and hug him next. He’s going to be soooo stinkin’ spoiled.

Brianna and Jeremy are doing awesome too.

Jeremy’s allergy meds are doing the trick. They were mighty expensive though, so I was glad the doc said to take him off end of March to see how he does. His third birthday (is he really turning three?) is at the end of March too and we’re trying to decide if we should do a big party or just a family thing. I need to really think this over. He wants a party and since he didn’t really get one last year I want to throw him one. However, it takes a lot of energy to throw a party — esp a child’s party.

Brianna got 4 shots yesterday to get all prepared for the next school year. I really need to get her to a dentist. I still haven’t done that. Just one more appointment to dread. Ack!! She’s doing her first Valentine’s school party today. She’s adorable. She’ll even get to pass out Valentine cards to all of her classmates. So cute! I will be enrolling her in Kindergarten in a couple weeks. Wow! My baby is going to Kindergarten. Just doesn’t seem possible.

Life is still good even though I am busier than I expected I’d be. It’s a good busy though. A very good way to live.

Have a great weekend everyone.

 

2 Responses to “Jaxon the Great”

  1. Lorna Says:

    I remember those days of cooing babies, valentines day cards and kiddie birthday parties. My kids are all grown out of those stages, but they are some of my fondest memories. I think you should throw the party for Jeremy. My parents never made a big deal out of birthdays, especially mine, because it was smack dab in the middle of summer vacation and too difficult to plan. The one time I begged for a birthday party they took us to the movies and only one boy showed up. But I was a happy camper because I had a real birthday party like all the other kids.

    And dang it, I so need to make a dentist appointment too. We are way overdue for our annual check up.

  2. Thinking of that one-sided conversation comment. Saw a funny commercial on TV last night that had a mom in a laundromat folding pants and talking about their lenght, etc and then she puts it on her head and says something like “Does it go over my head? NO!” The other people are staring at her but then they pan in on the baby in the carrier laughing. Cool commercial. Cool thing about the one way convo. just thought I would add that. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

