Candid Chatter

Just Say It

How Can it be? February 16, 2009

Filed under: Faith — candidchatter @ 5:39 am
Tags: , , ,

Here is an artist’s rendition of Hell.

hell

In the Bible, Hell is described as…

  • Eternal fire
  • Unquenchable fire
  • A place of torment and fire
  • Everlasting destruction
  • A lake of burning sulfur
  • Where the wicked are tormented day and night forever and ever

This is an artist’s rendition of a person meeting Jesus in Heaven.

jesus_heaven

In the Bible, Heaven is described as…

  • A place of eternal life
  • It possesses the Glory of God
  • A place where there is no more pain, no more sorrows, no more tears
  • Where death is conquered
  • Revelation describes in detail streets of gold, precious stones, gates of pearl, a throne, crowns, worship, music, angels, a rainbow of emerald

I believe what the Bible says.
Every word.

Even so, my question is this…
How can I be eternally filled with joy with no hint of sorrow
if someone I love is in Hell?

Am I alone in this thought?

 

14 Responses to “How Can it be?”

  1. […] Candid Chatter created an interesting post today on How Can it be?Here’s a short outlineHere is an artist’s rendition of Hell. In the Bible, Hell is described as… Eternal fire Unquenchable fire A place of torment and fire Everlasting destruction A lake of burning sulfur Where the wicked are tormented day and night forever and ever This is an artist’s rendition of a person meeting Jesus in Heaven. In the Bible, Heaven is described as… A place of eternal […] […]

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Nobody wants to tackle this one?

    Interesting.

    Heidi

  3. daphne Says:

    I am not going to answer your direct question mainly because I do not know but also, I have a more pressing question. I am doing SCL’s book club and the author, Chan, goes into heaven and focusing on doing nothing but worshiping Jesus 24/7. If you never hear from me on line it is because I have been struck by lightning but …
    that sounds boring to me. I assume it will not be because His ways are not my ways and His thoughts are not my thoughts and all but 24/7 saying Holy Holy Holy is the Lord Almighty does not sound fun. Funner than hell mind you! Also I think God DESERVES 24/7 worship. Just thinking it sounds..redundant. Maybe I CAN answer your question. We will be so into worshiping 24/7 and all our focus will be on Jesus and we will never have a thought about those in hell because alll we will think about is Jesus and worshiping Him (which sounds boring but whatever. I am still down). Not killed yet, daphne

  4. Heidi: You raise an interesting question. I have a weird idea in response to Daphne (first). I don’t think it will be 24/7 worship unless doing what we are doing is with love and gratitude is not worship. I may be wrong (won’t be the first time) but I tend to think that heaven will be more than eternally strumming a harp and singing love songs to God. That is not meant to be demeaning (although it sounds that way). I have to wonder if heaven will be us doing what we do here on earth only enjoying it and loving it because we are in the eternal presence of God. To your question: I too have wondered. The answer I heard is that we will not know (can I call it “eternal amnesia”?) who is not there. Maybe this is one of those “my finite mind cannot grasp this concept” things.

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Daphne: I think that would be dreadfully boring too. I don’t picture Jesus as some boring dude at all. I picture him like he was portrayed in The Passion of the Christ — fun, happy, and overflowing with love for His people. I think Heaven is where the party happens. I also don’t believe for a second that praise and worship is going to be Old School Hymnals either. Why would God gift so many musicians in so many different ways if He only wants dreadful granny music in Heaven? I think there will be all kinds of music — even stuff we’ve never heard — there. I cannot wait!!

    Heidi

  6. candidchatter Says:

    Bill: I don’t know. I can’t imagine God blessing us with families and friends only to not recognize any of them in Heaven. Believe me, I would notice if someone I loved on earth is not in Heaven (who wouldn’t!). I guess it is one of those mysteries — there are so many of them. We’ll know when we get there. I can imagine me begging God to pardon so-and-so because of my broken heart. I must remind myself that He loves so-and-so infinitely more than I do. But hell — it’s forever and ever and ever and ever…

    Dear God — please cancel hell for everyone except Hitler (and those like him) and people who do horrible things to children. Can’t you just create a lesser heaven? Like an eternal earth or something? Flawed, but not burning lakes of sulfur smelling fire where people suffer infinitely horrible things eternally? Please? Amen.

    Heidi

  7. Joe Blackmon Says:

    Heidi

    I’m an old 5-point Calvinist and I tell you what–when I became a daddy I really wrestled with the idea of election. It is a hard, hard doctrine to come to grips with. My answer to your question is that when we get to heaven we will have minds that are perfectly clear without a taint of anything sinful. As such, we will be able to rejoice in the will of God and the soverignty of God in ways that we cannot here on earth.

    Fat lot of good that does thinking about it here on earth. I have family that are not saved. I pray that God will do the work only He can do–draw them to repentance and faith in Jesus Christ.

  8. jimmy paravane Says:

    ya buncha jaded aliens!(grin) When I was growing up, I remember feeling desperate all the time. I didn’t know what depression, anxiety, loneliness or even rage really were because I lived in them 24/7. Imagine the small amount of relief I feel now not living in that hell 24/7 anymore. Now try to remember that no matter how good you feel now, it’s nothing compared to how you will feel when all this limitation on experiencing God is removed. The two moments that have always made me never give up on the light are the two brief moments I actually believe I felt the unconditional love of God. I doubt seriously that worship for all of eternity will be an action. Probably more a reaction. (grin)

  9. […] of CandidChatter.wordpress.com asks How Can it be?, asking that question that all aliens must ask themselves about loved ones that might be left on […]

  10. Will_nottheactor_Smith Says:

    Heidi,

    I was taking care of my bride, yesterday, so I’m still makeing the rounds.

    I agree with you in believing the Bible 100%, but after doing a little digging into your scripture reference, Rev 21:4, that is part of the description of New Jerusalem, which is after Jesus’ 1000 year reign on Earth and after the final battle when Satan is tossed into the Abyss forever. The pain, sorrow, etc were part of the old Earth, and once Satan is finally removed, those will be erased. Now I’m not saying there’s “wailing” up in Heaven now. I’m just pointing out “when” that particular scripture occurs in the context of the rest of scripture.

    In my puny earthly mind, I tend to think that because of the sin of the Earth, God is sorrowful at times. ClearIy, God can get angry – think Sodom and Gomorrah, as well as the flood for two good examples. I mainly feel than because Jesus was sad when Lazarus died (John 11:35), and I can’t imagine a loving Father not grieving the loss of his creations (those who fail to believe). But like Joe said, your perspective depends on what doctrine you believe.

    I hope that helps, somewhat. (From my puny mind to yours?) 😉

  11. daniel naranjo Says:

    i thought i was alone with that question too…but now i see im not. I too have always asked that question but when i do i never get an answer.

  12. acitizenusa Says:

    Boring? Hmmm, I don’t think so. For one we are a physical being trying to ‘imagine’ how it will be to exist as a spiritual being which according to God our (physical) minds can not comprehend.

    And as far as your question, God shall wipe away all tears!

    There is no sorrow in heaven which remembering those that went to hell would certainly bring so, are you sure you will remember them at all?

    What if, with the tears, memory of those in hell was wiped away?

  13. jomar Says:

    “The righteous perish,
    and no one ponders it in his heart;
    devout men are taken away,
    and no one understands
    that the righteous are taken away
    to be spared from evil.

    Those who walk uprightly
    enter into peace;
    they find rest as they lie in death.”
    Isaiah 57:1-2

    -the best way to find the answers in your life is Read the HOLY BIBLE, never say to worship Jesus everyday 24/7 is boring. no one ever knows whats running in the mind of our Lord Jesus Christ. Just trust Him, never doubt in His words because time will come and you will see His Glory.

  14. Marianne Says:

    Now we have joy and yet sorrow at the thought of unsaved loved one destiny but when we are with Jesus in Heaven we will see His perfect justice. All His attributes come to light to us and thus everything He does is perfect, just and true.
    In Him nothing is unjust, untrue, wrong. We will know this perfectly well and there will be no sorrow. Ive learned this as I studied the Bible with help from Grudems Systematic Theology which the audio is available for free from itunes.
    Also the most comprehensive, user friendly biblically accurate book on that place called Heaven that there is, “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn.
    With the knowledge gained from these, there is a great peace I have as a foundation. I am inspired to praise and pray heartfelt prayers for their salvation at the same time all whilst completely at rest in God is alone is perfect in all He does. Deuteronomy 32:3-4
    For I will proclaim the name of the Lord;
    ascribe greatness to our God!
    4 “The Rock, his work is perfect,
    for all his ways are justice.
    A God of faithfulness and without iniquity,
    just and upright is he.


Leave a Reply

