Candid Chatter

Just Say It

A Lesson in Grammar March 30, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:38 am

grammar_crackers_large

Facebook is my new addiction. I’ve said that already, but wanted to remind you incase you forgot. I’m like that. Always reminding you. Ha!

Since becoming a Facebook junkie I have noticed a lot of grammatical errors that make me cringe. Ei Yi Yi! So here’s a short lesson in grammar.

Your and you’re are not the same thing.
Due, do, and dew are not the same thing.
Board and bored are also not the same thing.
Congratulations has a “t” in the middle, not a “d”.
There, their, and they’re are not the same thing.

I am amazed at the level of ignorance in this little community. The scary thing is… and it’s scary… some of these people who are grammatically challenged are homeschooling their kids.

Oh My Heck!

What annoys you?

 

8 Responses to “A Lesson in Grammar”

  1. Ivan Says:

    Dear Heidi

    The thing that gets me most is random apostrophes: the usual “it’s” for genitive, in number plural (eg “the 70’s”), etc. But I even don’t like split infinitives. I quite like noticing differences between US and British English grammar and word usage: I read a lot of “then” for “than” and I don’t know if it’s incorrect English or a correct Americanism.

    May I ask what do people do on Facebook, after you upload your details? Is it like a blog?

    Best wishes

    Ivan

  2. sjcall Says:

    Hi Heidi…saw this on MSN’s homepage today and thought you might get a chuckle out of it!!!
    http://encarta.msn.com/encnet/Features/Columns/Default.aspx?article=GrammarPrude&GT1=27004
    Hope you have a great day πŸ™‚
    Jen

  3. Lauren Says:

    Ok, so you know I just read this and thought about when I commented a few days ago on being bored even with my kids. I had to run back and double check myself πŸ™‚ because I would never-ever do such a thing as use improper grammar. lol! I think it’s funny too watch everyone’s crazy mixed up comments. I can’t tell if their un-edumacated (meant to do that) or if they just did not take the time to read what they wrote. Either way it makes me laugh.

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Ivan: I am gilty of randum apostrofeez. πŸ˜‰ Then and than improperly used annoys me as well. Americans DO know better, I hope. Right? Well, I know better anyway. Facebook starts out seeming a bit silly. Then it sucks you right in. Instant community with short conversations. If you play it right and keep it interesting it gets fun. Boring statements really get no responses. It’s most fun when there is controversy or comedy. Plus I have connected with people I went to high school and grade school with. Then there is my beautiful family. My mom just joined so we’re trying to get her to remain interested. That’s why I like it.

    Lauren: When I typed “board/bored” I didn’t mean you. I actually saw it on a response to someone else’s status update and I don’t know the person who typed it. πŸ˜‰ LOL that you checked to be sure it wasn’t you. Ha!!

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Jen: Your comment went to spam. Sorry. I can’t get the link to work. 😦 Bet it was funny.

  6. Ivan Says:

    The link works for me. Chuckleworthy article, linking through to the Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar (also with a chuckleworthy blog).

    Thanks for the Facebook explanation. I am slowly getting to understand these things.

  7. Lorna Says:

    Guilty. Although most of the time my poor grammar is due to typing my update from my cell phone that has no spell check, a tiny little keyboard and my big fingers. I usually try to fix any grammar and typos when I see them. It bothers me to that people don’t know the proper use of the English language. Myself included.

  8. daphne Says:

    yeah. i am the one on facebook that made all those errors. And a few others. I do NOT however, homeschool. I know my 5,7&9 year old daughters are all smarter than me. I am ok with it. I just put my big girl panties one and continue to update my status. ; )


Leave a Reply

