Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Help Now, Pray Later May 24, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:14 pm

WARNING: language may be offensive to some — do NOT e-mail me about it. If you can’t handle it, don’t read any further. Thank you.

Recently, a friend of mine had a horrible virus run through her entire household. Another friend, the same thing. Still, another family is dealing with colds and sore throats. We just had an entire 6 week period of on again, off again colds with the full range of symptoms. Cold and flu season went out with a bang!

I am a Facebook junkie. I avoided it for a long time, but got sucked in by “testing” it out several months ago. It hooked me as soon as people from my school years starting popping up all over the joint. I am also friends with a few people from my local church.

When prayer has been asked for any reason, I immediately pray and sometimes type “prayer said…” and so on. I pray right then so I won’t forget later. I am very diligent to pray when I tell someone I will. I don’t give empty prayer promises… at least, I try not to.

I’ve noticed something that makes me crawl up inside myself though. Sometimes, when prayer requests or just simple comments are made a handful of people will offer to pray, but I have yet to see anyone offer to help. I even saw one asshole leave a “God won’t give you more than you can handle” response to a pregnant woman who was short on sleep and armpit deep in children puke for several days. Are you flippin’ kidding me?

Now, to give the benefit of the doubt, there could be people who offer to help behind the scenes. There could be people who e-mail help or make a phone call and offer that oasis of restoration through kindness and generosity. That, I would not know. But, in the public eye, there was a whole lot of bullshit going on.

My dearly beloved Christian family… WE ARE THE CHURCH!

I know, news flash, right? Well, it shouldn’t be. Freakin’ take off your spiritual blinders and get your damn hands dirty. For the love of all that is good and wholesome, DO your DUTY unto your BRETHREN.

Help now. Pray later. Or help and pray while you’re helping.
Love your neighbor AS YOURSELF. Remember that one?

How can we be Jesus to the world when we can’t even be Jesus to our church family members, local community, friends, or family?

I’m going to go run my head into a brick wall now. After that, I might just poke my eyes out. Gah!!!!!

brick_wall

 

3 Responses to “Help Now, Pray Later”

  1. First,I did NOT find your language offensive!.. Second, I”m on FB too.. I”ll have to look and see if we’re friends there yet. Third, AMEN sister! i will just say though that I am blessed in that i HAVE friends who HAVE read how overwhelmed I am and called up and said “What can I do? Can your kids come play here?” It doesn’t happen often, but it does Happen. And I’m grateful. I try and do the same but these days, I’m often so overwhelemd myself it doesn’t happen..

    thanks for the wake up call for those who need it. Hugs!

  2. Kyle Says:

    First…I twittered “kickass” today and then hurry up and deleted the message, afraid of people getting offended

    Second, and the most important…I’m so glad you pointed this out. Way too often, we’re the “faith with no works” Christians. We have faith that God can and will heal and solve and love, but yet when He wants to heal and solve and love, lots of the time He is wanted to do this through His people who are in the mean time just waiting for Him. So I second your words to everyone, Get off your ass guys and start putting in the work for Christ. I’m not sure where Christians forgot the whole serving aspect of living a life for Christ. The point of being a Christian has NOTHING to do with going to heaven. If it is, then get out. That is our reward. The point of being a Christian is because we love God and we want him exalted, and that happens through our love, and the last time I checked, love is first an action, second a feeling, and third a word.

    Thank you for being honest. Hope all is well and thanks for the book suggestion.

  3. Angie Says:

    I think you’ve been reading my mind! You spoke such truth in your post. The only other rant I have is the “checkbook Christian” mentality. Too many Christians absolve themselves of any need to get involved and get their hands dirty by writing a check. God said “go and make disciples” not write a big fat check. We’re supposed to be the hands and feet of Christ, not His wallet-openers.


Leave a Reply

